We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not a 4 Star”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 Star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

Just got back from 8 days at the Aminta - every hotel in Sorrento seems to have the title 'Grand'! Having read reviews of the hotel, we were expecting a hotel with four star accommodation. The bedroom - King size with balcony overlooking the Bay - was basic, but it was clean. The bed was very hard, as were the pillows. The bathroom was VERY uninspiring. There was nowhere to put anything, just a very small shelf above the washbasin. Small bottles of shampoo and just sachets of body wash + some facial cleansing cloth. The shower was not a power shower and was removable from the wall fitting to use as a hand shower. Having a shower was a challenge, especially when the shower curtain 'attacks' you whilst you are trying to avoid the taps. The bedroom and bathroom issues did not make for a relaxing time.

We also had problems with the air conditioning - it was on later in the day, but went off around 12.30pm; so you either had to open the patio door before then, which switches off the air conditioning, or get up in the night to open the door. It was lovely weather when we were there and in the morning, with the sun on the balcony, it was very warm in the room. Noise was a problem from the road, especially as we had to have the door open.

The best thing about the hotel were the staff on Reception- they were very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant staff were not as friendly and breakfast was pretty ordinary - the cooked breakfast was fine, but cereals were very hit and miss and the bread for the toaster was about the worst I have had. The staff didn't seem to keep their eye on filling up supplies. There were a lot of pastries, but they looked better than they tasted.

The pool area was very clean and the bar waiters were pleasant. There is an area overlooking the Bay, which is very neglected - weeds and dirt everywhere and the tables and chairs were old and cracked. It was a real shame, as it could have been a lovely place to sit and look at the view.

Re the shuttle bus - we only used it a few times, as we had a hire car and the driver was very efficient and helpful - but the times are very strange. If you get the 7.30pm bus down to Sorrento and have a meal, etc - you have to wait until 11.15 as the 9pm bus is too early.

We were very disappointed with this hotel - it was not cheap, and did not live up to expectations. We travel a lot around the world and were looking forward to a nice relaxing week in Sorrento. The area is lovely and the view is great - but there again, most of the hotels in Sorrento have a great view.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    772
    198
    31
    8
See reviews for
609
1,572
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

I had heard from locals that the Grand Aminta was beautiful but I did not find that the case. This is an older hotel, albeit well-kept; yet despite its grand views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, that's about all this hotel has to offer. It is too far from Sorrento's Piazza Tasso to be convenient to anything and the hotel's shuttle bus is not that frequent. A taxi to and from the main square is ridiculously over-priced at 25 euros on the meter for a 10 minute ride - truly highway robbery!

The room offered a great view of the Bay but the small balcony had absolutely no privacy and I could easily hear what my neighbors were doing. Also, since it is up in the cliffs above Sorrento, there is a main road directly outside the hotel and you can hear the traffic noise ALL night long, as well as the local dogs which also seem to bark all night long. The noise factor did not make for a peaceful stay.

As for the food, the Aminta, as with other hotel's in Sorrento, has the worst food imaginable. My room rate included breakfast and that was such a waste. I ate a fruit cup only one morning and the cappuccino was bad as well.

As to the other guests, it is mainly an older crowd sprinkled with a few honeymoon couples who obviously didn't know better to book a more romantic location.

The staff here was pleasant and spoke English fluently but there was never a porter around and the front desk clerk actually had to help me with luggage upon check-out. All in all there are much better hotels centrally located in Sorrento and this hotel is not worthy of a four-star rating except for its views.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We had a week HB booked through LastMinute.com. We booked the flights seperately as we got a good deal. I had looked for hours through TA at the vast array of hotels in Sorrento and struggled to choose as each offered different pluses. In the end we were very pleased we choose the Aminta as it suited our needs perfectly. Upon arrival i was impressed with the welcome the receptionists gave us, very friendly yet efficient. I was even more impressed when i found we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony with stunning views of the town and the Bay of Naples. The room was clean, not a bad size, had plenty of hangers, a large bathroom with a tub and shower, a fridge/minibar and all the usual ammenities. The bed was hard, but we found it very comfortable and slept very well. We slept with the balcony door shut as during the week there was some early morning traffic noise (mainly the odd 'toot' rather than revving engines) and i think that in the summer you would def need air con to do this. It was hot when we were there but our room got the morning sun and we found that by having the balcony open for a short period in the evening (usually whilst having our sundowner) it cooled down enough to sleep easily at night. The room noise from other rooms bothered me (i'm a light sleeper) but not my OH. This was solved with my trusty earplugs :)
The resturant and bar were run by a great team of staff. The dining room was lovely and also enjoyed great views. The panoramic windows in the bar were stunning. The breakfast was above average against others in europe with a changing array of cakes, tarts, biscuits and pastries. There was always around six types of bread in addition to this that were fresh and tasty. There was cereals and fruit juices (i didn't try them) still and sparkling water and tinned fruit. Included in our deal were hot options and fresh fruit, made to order. It was all very nice although the coffee at breakfast was poor. I did see people with freshly made proper coffee but i didn't bother as we usually headed to a cafe before starting our days out. The food in the evening was plentyful which as we were walking and sightseeing all day was good and we never went away hungry. It wasn't the best i have ever tasted but nothing was ever bad and there was always plenty of choice to suit most tastes/nationalities. The staff also went out of their way to adjust things if you wanted something done slightly differently which added to the experience. It would have been a little effort to eat out at night staying here so i feel that booking the HB option in advance represented the best value for money. The bar wasn't expensive and the main bar tender fixed really good drinks. There was a big choice of cocktails and local/Italian wines and the terrace was beautiful with views to die for.
The pool area was kept clean and there was always plenty of loungers when we wanted them. The pool was very deep and suited confident swimmers although there was a splash pool for the kiddies.
The location was good for us. If you were with small children or a bit elderly then you would need to rely on local buses and the hotel shuttle. We never used the shuttle so i couldn't comment on the service but many did and it seemed fine. The local buses were cheap and frequent and the stop for Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento are right by the hotel. We mainly walked to and from town and the thing that sets this hotel apart from others up the hill is that you don't need to go on the main road at all. We passed on the bus tourists up the main road and it looked horrendous and dangerous walking. The alleyway that runs through the lemon groves to town aviods all traffic (except for the odd scooter) and was easy walking. It is a hill but the only time i struggled was in the midday sun. I am young(ish) lol but not paticulary fit. I would not try it with luggage tho. At the bottom of the hill was a little store which sold some good Prosecco and local wines - perfect for the balcony. It took around 10 mins to reach the town road (start of shops/cafes/resturants) and then maybe another 10-15 to get to the station or port on foot. The local bus took around 10 minutes (round the houses). I have stayed in Sant'Angello before and this location for me was better. Although you don't have shops and wine bars on you door step there is much less traffic/social noise and the views are really romantic.
In summary (hooray i hear you say!) we had a great time. The walking in the area is great and the transport connections are such that it is simple to get about yourself to Ravello/Amalfi/Pompei/Herculanium/Capri/Positano/Naples etc without expensive tour operator trips. Pick up all the time tables from the hotel or tourist office in town. The hotel is a good 3.5* by UK standards and the public areas in particular are beautiful. There is internet use for free and i believe wi-fi. The staff are a great asset to the hotel and made our holiday even more enjoyable. Above all the views are stunning.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

> We stayed here three nights, based on TripAdvisor reviews, in a sea-view
with balcony room. Basically we were disappointed in the hotel, one of
the few times I feel I didn't get a balanced idea of a hotel from TA
reviewers.
> The taxi was 25 Euros from the train station. The hotel is up a
mountainside in a residential district (read: no restaurants or shopping
nearby). Used the hotel shuttle from then on to get back and forth to
town, but found that inconvenient to have to be on their
schedule. There is a paved path going downhill from the hotel to town;
only takes about fifteen minutes...wouldn't want to walk back up it
though. Next trip we would want to be closer to town and shops.
> The hotel is well run with a very professional, English speaking staff.
> It is clean, with lovely views of the Bay and Sorrento. But it is less
elegant than I'd expected. The rooms are rather hospital-like, sparse and
plain with tile floors and thin, cheap bedcovers. You can hear noise from
guests in the adjoining rooms. The view from the balcony is lovely, but
the balconies of all the rooms are connected with just a rail between
them, so not private. Plus, there is a very noisy road running
uphill directly beneath the balcony...great views spoiled by constant
motorcycles and cars straining to get up that hill.
We had read that the restaurant was very good and were looking forward to
our dinners there, so paid the 30 Euros/each to eat there the first
night. Lovely dining room, with linen tablecloths and very professional
waiters. But the food was very, very disappointing. Ordered from the
fixed menu, which had unappealing choices; the osso bucco was tough and tasteless. We knew we would not eat there again. To be fair, we heard other guests compliment the food; they said they had ordered a la carte. But we weren't going to take a 60+
Euro chance on that place again. The breakfasts were served in that same
dining room and they were just ok. A cold buffet area and then you order from
a fixed menu for eggs, which were, again, institutional tasting.
> The pool area is large and pretty. There was no food or drink service
at the pool while we were there. The large bar inside the hotel has a
huge glass wall overlooking the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, so we had wine
and delicious local olives there and watched the sun set over the water.
Had a very pleasant bartender/waiter.
> The hotel provides free internet in two little telephone booth-like
compartments off the lobby. We were able to use them with no waiting.
> The air conditioning was not turned on for the entire building, which
was a problem to us because it was hot. They told us it was "against the law" to have the ac on; ouldn't figure that out because other hotels on our trip did have the a/c on. We requested a room fan, which was very kindly provided, so that helped somewhat
afterward. But no ac when it's needed is a problem to us.
> The bottom line is we would not stay here again. Too inconvenient,
noisy, no a/c, and tasteless food. There just wasn't any "specialness"
here.
(Tip: there is a great restaurant, Ristorante Delfino, on the ocean, in the Marina Grande)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

I've just returned from 7 nights at th Aminta and am already looking at when I can return. We went on a package holiday with Thomson and arrived quite late on the Monday (4th May) the restaurant closes at 9pm but we were greated with a plate of cold meats and cheeses and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had upgraded our room to a balcony poolside and the view was amazing I miss it so much, waking up to the Sorrento Peninsula and Mount Vesuvius is breathtaking.
There was noise from the corridors/you could hear people talking outside your room was only slightly annoying and was probably the only thing that marred our stay. Though it is of no great trouble really. We also lost WiFi connection in our room and so my husband had to take his laptop to the communal areas for his internet needs which was abit inconvenient and hopefully wouldn't be the case again.
Breakfast was the usual, toast/cereal/pastry selection, there was hot breakfast on offer but it was extra (you would have had to charge it to your room, not sure what deal others who got it for free were on?) so we didn't indulge.
The staff throughout the hotel were very accomodating and helpful which contributed to a relaxing stay.
The free shutle bus is a godsend especially for returning, the walk into town isn't so bad but walking back is abit of a struggle if you're not very fit.
We loved the whole holiday and can't wait to return, after being on the rounds picking up other guests from the other hotels I'm glad I choose Grand Hotel Aminta.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashmir28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

My two friends and I have just returned from a fabulous week’s holiday in Sorrento at this hotel. We had a wonderful time and for the most part enjoyed our stay there, however there are a few things that did have an impact on us enjoying the holiday. The main thing was the noise! It was horrendous! We booked this hotel purposely thinking that out of the town would be quieter, but oh how wrong we were! Unfortunately, the noise was not from the hotel or anything that they could really do stop it, as it was all due to outside influences. However, what made it a million times worse was that the hotel do not turn on the air conditioning until 15th June and so if you wanted any air at all you had to have a window open. It was like sleeping on the M4 in the middle of the Amazon Rain Forest! It was constant...ALL NIGHT....infact noisier in the night than the day! From the car/bus horns, motor scooters racing to the peacocks screaming, cockerels crowing and dogs barking. There was nothing you could do to stop it but shut the window and then be too hot! On speaking to other residents most had the same complaint and were told there was nothing the hotel could do as it was policy. Whilst not turning the aircon on until mid June appears to be the norm in a lot of European hotels we will never stay in one again that follows this ridiculous rule. We were shattered by the end of the week and it obviously did have an impact on our enjoyment of the holiday. The other thing to mention was that one of our party booked a single room and half way through the first night had to go to reception because of the noise of the lift. All the cables to the lift were right above the room, so every time it was used it sounded like it was going to come through the ceiling! After an hour and a half discussion with the reception staff and three other single rooms offered he was finally offered a suitable one away from the lifts. It appears that it was policy that all single rooms offered are in the same position in the hotel......right by the lift and cables! This is disgraceful as you are charged more for a single room than a double so at least have the right to the same rooms if not better than everyone else.
In saying all that though overall the hotel staff were very polite and courteous especially in the restaurant and bar areas and nothing was too much trouble. The food was a little hit and miss as some days it was gorgeous and others it was adequate but to be fair this may have been just down to personal taste. It was very clean, well maintained and had a few nice little touches e.g a weeks weather forecast and specific free newsletters for various countries on reception to keep in touch with events.
The view from the hotel is spectacular and to sit out on the patio at night watching the sun go down was a delight. There are a few overgrown shrubs and trees that are just starting to hinder parts of the view but if these are pruned wisely they will keep this beautiful panorama. Whilst the hotel is out of town and up a very steep long hill, the free Hotel Shuttle Bus service was very efficient and a God send. It should be used at all times instead of taxi's, (if not walking and should only be undertaken by the fittest of you!), They are extortionate and a complete 'rip off' . A taxi taken from the Lucky Store on the outskirts of Sorrento town to the hotel was 21 Euros without a tip!
I would recommend this hotel to others but hesitantly and as long as they were aware of the ‘pitfalls’. Obviously everyone wants different things out of a holiday and whilst we did have some problems, these issues may not been seen that way by some. Overall we did have a lovely time and thought Italy, especially the Amalfi Coast drive and the boat trip, which is a must and was spectacular…… it was worth it just for that alone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

We fell in love with this Hotel the moment we stepped in. My hubby made a quick tour of the hotel and returned to the reception with his thumbs up. Upon seeing that, Leila, who was in charge of checking us into the hotel, told us that we'd not seen the best yet. And, sure enough, we were led to a lovely room with fantastic views over the Gulf of Naples, Sorrento and Vesuvius in the distance. Absolutely breathtaking! Leila also arranged for a bottle of champagne to be sent to our room upon hearing that we were in Sorrento for our anniversary. A nice touch!

Our room was large, clean and comfortable, and we didn't have any problems with the noise from other rooms or even from the bar downstairs. If, of course, you decide to leave the door to the balcony open (which we did) you might have some occasional noise from traffic (very minimal) outside the hotel. But the best part of leaving the balcony door open? The sound of birds chirping in the morning and fresh spring air!

The restaurant and the bar also have the same breathtaking views. Breakfast was nice, with a good selection of bread, pastries, cold options and juices. One also has the option of ordering a cooked breakfast (at no additional charge) in addition to the breakfast buffet spread. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located, just far enough from Sorrento's city center away from the crowds and traffic. We relied on the hotel shuttle to get to town and back. Public buses plying the 'Via Nastro Verde' route can also be used to get to/fro the hotel. Once, the SITA bus we boarded from Amalfi dropped us at the Hotel's doorstep. Yes, the buses to the Amalfi Coast do past by the hotel, but one should get to the main bus stop at the railway station for tickets and the seats on the right side of the bus for the best views.

We did go around looking at the other hotels we'd considered for our trip (those in Tripadvisor's top 20 Sorrento hotel list), and the Grand Hotel Aminta was still the best choice for us. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we come back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulubelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing