We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
manchester uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Felt i had to write about this hotel because of some of the negative comments i have read. we have just come back from the Aminta, when we arrived we were met by the hotel porter who took our cases up to our room. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful as were all the staff. the meals were exellent, breakfast was buffet style, but if you wanted a cooked breakfast you had to pay extra, but the buffet was very good.
The evening meal was multi choice exept on the two theme nights when it was a set menu, but was four courses. waiting staff were exellent a credit to signor michelle.
although the hotel is on top of a hill the hotel bus is frequent and droped you right at the town centre, the only criticism is that they should put a bus on at 8pm.
the air con was on constantley, we did not hear any dogs barking or car horns etc. overall a good quality hotel and a fantastic holiday, we would certainly recomend both hotel and resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavertree00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    770
    198
    31
    8
See reviews for
605
1,571
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We returned last night from a week's stay at the Aminta and had a fabulous time. The hotel is located on the hill looking down across Sorrento and the bay. This is a huge plus point and I can't believe that people have complained about the location of this hotel - surely you research these things before you book?? It was a lovely 15 min walk into Sorrento along a pathway of lemon groves which offered spectacular views and we even managed to walk back up it a few times. There was also a very regular free shuttle bus service into and back from town that started at 9.00am. We had a double room with a seaview and balcony at the front of the hotel. I had taken earplugs due to previous posts complaining about the noise from the road - we heard no noise whatsoever and did not need to use the earplugs at all. We didn't need to open the balcony door at night as the room was quite cool and the beds were very firm and comfy. The bathroom was spotless and we not only had a hand-held shower but a fixed wall shower also. There was also a hairdryer which I wish I had known about so I wouldn't have taken my own.

The food was fab, we ate lunch out several times and found the hotel food to be of an equal (sometimes better) standard and there was actually more variety of food available in the hotel. There is a Gala evening once a week and gentlemen need to be aware that they will be required to wear full length trousers for the evening meals. There was plenty of choice at breakfast - cold meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, yoghurts, prunes, peaches, breads, pastries, croissants, cakes, cereals, toast, jams, fruit juices, tea, coffee etc etc. You could pay extra for a cooked breakfast but I thought that there was plenty to choose from. Evening entertainment is very low key however, there is entertainment in the evenings 3 times a week with a singer/piano player and a Neopolitan evening once a week with traditional Italian dancers and singing.

The staff were excellent and very professional and the hotel was spotless throughout. There are 2 PCs available with free internet access in the lobby area by reception. My husband took his laptop which although the wifi wouldn't work in our room it did work in the hotel lounge area.

And finally, one more plus point - THE VIEWS!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Three friends and I spent seven days at the Aminta and wished we had chosen a hotel on the outskirts of Sorrento as opposed to being way up in the hills. The food at dinner time was ok with a good choice, except for the Neopolitan and Gala evenings when there was no choice. Breakfast was very disappointing iin that it just "continental" unlike other 4 star hotels I have stayed at before in Sorrento when the choice was vast. No fruit at breakfast time and scrambled eggs on toast cost $6. I shared a room with a friend and it was very, very small with minimal wardrobe space. My two other friends, however, had a single room each and I have to say that all three rooms were virtually identical in size. The staff at reception were very helpful and some friendly but the dining room lacked atmosphere and the bar area lacked warmth and ambience which was a pity because being so far away from the town it was where we spent most of our evenings after dinner. After using the courtesy bus to take us to Sorrento one evening, a taxi back from the Piazzo Tasso cost us $28 so we did not venture out much after dinner. Perhaps the Aminta is graded a 4* due to the view but in my opinion for little else.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This hotel is remarkable for its views, every day, evening, and morning they just take your breath away. We have only returned this morning but felt the need to balance some of the negative comments on trip advisor. The rooms are spotlessly clean with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. no charge for safety deposit. box in room. Flat screen TV with plenty of english channels ( if you need them). Full mini bar and great bed. The view from the balcony is better than any thing on TV. What makes this hotel extra special is the management and staff. Attention to detail is commonplace. In particular the reception staff are extremely helpfull, friendly and very informative.
Breakfast is freshly cooked and delivered to the table. There is plentifull Tea and coffee again served by a waiter.
Courtesy bus reliable and convenient, although we walked down into town (15mins) and back up (20mins) regularly. We are good walkers and many people would not enjoy the walk up.
We were not on Half board but the snacks we had were reasonably priced and of good quality.
Remember to bring your own towel's and be aware that a charge is made for use of poolside sunbeds, although comfortable deckchairs are free.
So many of the guests return year after year which is recommendation in itself. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending to anyone and will most certainly return. Thanks for a fantastic holiday.
Stuart and Alison Barrett

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaderoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We spent one week in this hotel in mid May. We picked up a bargain price on expedia.com. The hotel staff were friendly and our room was both spotless and spacious. The hotel enjoys fantastic views across the bay and its location means the rooms are bright and airy. We would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sligowavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Just got back from 7 nights in Sorrento, staying at the Grand Hotel Aminta. A few things to bear in mind when booking.

1) Adequate, 3-star, accommodation. Don't expect plush. I was disappointed as I was expecting a bit more due to it's 4 stars. So much choice in Sorrento. Rooms were basic - for example, hand-held shower in the bathroom, very small tv - 15 inch - in the bedroom and no tea/coffee making facilities. Pay extra for a balcony and sea view.
2) Breakfast is continental - choice of 4 cereals, toast and lots of cakes/pastries. Juices and tea/coffee available. Eggs are available but you have to pay extra.
3) Charges to use the room fridge and room safe. Charges to use the sun loungers by the pool. Towels are not provided at the pool so bring a beach towel to use at the pool.
4) There is a rural path into Sorrento from the hotel. This path is very steep - don't expect a gentle stroll into town. Bring your trainers and/or hiking boots. However, there is a hotel shuttle bus going to/from the hotel several times a day.
5) We booked half board - remember that drinks are not included - even coffee after the meal is charged at 3 euros per cup.
6) No air conditioning in the bedrooms until mid June. We slept with the balcony door open due to the heat. However, the hotel is located on a major road so if you are a light sleeper you will be disturbed by the traffic noise and constant car horns.

In conclusion - hotel is fine, just not special, and I unfortunately cannot recommend it. If I came back to Sorrento I would not stay at this hotel.

Excursions recommended - Capri, Amalfi, Positano, Pompei, Mt Vesuvius & Ercolona, Sorrento.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RhosonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

1st let me start off by saying how beautiful the view from the Aminta is, as well as the hotel itself. It is about 10 minutes away from downtown Sorrento, but it is worth it. We visited in November, so the pool was closed, but i can only imagine how great it is in the summertime. We ate at the hotel 1 night, and it was just as good, if not better than finding a local restaurant. Be sure to visit Capri while staying in Sorrento!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacaporale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
2,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing