We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Best Hotel Ever!!! Very impressed with the hotel, beautiful location. Food was excellent some of the best meals my whole trip where in that hotel. Staff was very friendly they really make you feel welcome there. The hotel was super clean. I highly recommend staying at this Hotel you wont regret it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    763
    197
    31
    8
See reviews for
598
1,555
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

I have just returned on 26th June from a week's holiday at the Aminta and I have nothing but praise for this hotel. The rooms are clean and air conditioned; the lounges are beautiful; and the terraces and swimming pool are great - you can't beat the views. But as most reviewers say, it is the efficiency and friendliness of the staff which makes this such a good place to stay. Whether you need advice on trips or directions, they are always accommodating and all the staff speak good English. The restaurant staff are very professional and efficient and will try to find alternatives if you don't like the choice (vegetarians are catered for even on the set menu nights). The hotel courtesy bus is a godsend, especially in the June heat! We walked down the path into Sorrento a few times (careful of the scooters!) but only walked back up once! Remember there is a gap in the bus timetable in the middle of the day between 12.30 and 3.30. On checkout day, you can leave your luggage in the TV lounge and they will even weigh your luggage before departure, if you're worried about excess charges. Sorrento is beautiful anyway, but staying at this hotel made the holiday special.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanjoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

The staff was great. The Hotel view is beyond words. Our balcony view was fantastic. The breakfast was included and was excellent! Dinner is very good but expensive with a limited menu. We ate dinner twice there because we were exhausted but there is not a "pizza and beer option". It is upscale dining or nothing.

My biggest complaint is that there is no sandwiches/pizza's except between 12-2PM and no room service.

Otherwise, this is a great hotel.

Biggest tip. Learn to use the bus system and avoid taxi's.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
principessa2222
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Staff at Aminta were so friendly! The front desk was eager to provide us with toothpaste and razors after our luggage was lost by the airline. Morning breakfast was delicious - we had the warm breakfast (made to order eggs and breakfast meat) included in our room rate. The view was amazing! It was pleasant just sitting on the patio.

I agree with other reviewers - the rooms were sparse with 3* furnishing. I also think there should be additional shuttle times. Twice we had to pay 25 euro to get back to the hotel when the bus shuttle to Sorrento was at inconvenient times. There is a long gap from 8:30 pm until 11:30pm. A 9:30 or 10pm shuttle time would have been perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank principessa2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Spent a week at the Grand Aminta. The location is great - perched high up on a hill overlooking the bay of Naples. It is about a 20 minute walk out of the town via a footpath - easy on the way down, but not so great coming back. There is a regular timetabled bus to and from the centre, so used that a few times.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - they made us exceptionally welcome. The hotel itself is very good - clean and tidy and the rooms were spacious and clean too. The pool area was good - apart from the fact the water wasn't heated, so at the beginning of June it was a little cold.

We chose the half board option via Expedia, which was an absolute bargain. The food was superb - a great choice at breakfast - including cooked. The evening meal was lovely too - a really good choice and very good. They also have a great wine list, and not too expensive. The staff were all friendly and efficient. There were a couple of bars around the hotel too which were great to relax.

I would highly recommend this hotel - a great choice as long as you don't mind being out of the town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We went the last week in April when the season hadn't really started and the hotel was only half full. That is why we got such a good deal. It is not central but because we had researched this beforehand , we knew exactly the hotel's location. Infact we prefered this. It was not as noisy as some have found in May but we couldn't sleep with the door open anyway as it was not very warm at the time!
The service was excellent from the reception to the bar staff , cleaners and restaurant staff.The room and bathroom overlooking the bay were clean but in need of updating. Our original room, before we decided to upgrade, was on the ground floor had had been recently decorated so perhaps they are gradually redecorating the rooms.
There was a large buffet breakfast , something for everyone I would have though and cooked breakfast was extra which was fair enough. I 'm no going to Italy for bacon and eggs!
The meal at night was ok , plenty of choice but not what I would call as typically Italian where you would have antipasto , pasta , main/salad , fruit/desert . All the antipasto , soup , pasta was lumped together as a choice for starter then there was a main course with potatoes and then a desert which was often covered in cream. It was not, in my view , an Italian meal [ and we have visited some part of Italy every year now for 20 years] but rather an "anglised" version. There was a very good wine list which unfortunately we couldn't get through! However we didn't go hungry and overall , the holiday was a great success.
Yes I would return but again not in high season .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purdey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in a room with a balcony facing the main road, very noisy at night with cars racing up and down the windy roads. Staff very friendly. Free bus to Sorrento and back. OMG Taxi's are so expensive 25 euro's from train station to hotel for 10 min ride. Pool is nice, beer is expensive. Would I go out of my way to stay here again - No

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthEastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing