We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where they make you feel at home!”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sorrento, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place where they make you feel at home!”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Although the hotel is situated outside the busy centre, you will find a wonderful setting for your holiday. There is a reliable, free shuttle service to and back from Sorrento at the hotel so it's ideal if you want some peace and quiet. The staff at the hotel go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and are all friendly. Leila "Bella" at reception is a charismatic lady and makes a point of ensuring that you are 100% happy with the accomodation. If you have high expectations from a hotel, then go to the Aminta.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkalukwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    835
    212
    33
    7
See reviews for
685
1,729
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Great service. Good food. A real mediterranean atmosphere. Fantastic views but a long way up the hill from the town - the hotel bus service is reliable but not something you would always want to use & taxis are very expensive to/from the town. We had a car and managed to park at the hotel but in the summmer I guess there would be far from sufficient parking spaces to accommodate everyone who might have a car. We attended a wedding there and thought it was VERY well done. Our only "complaints" were that the bed was VERY hard and breakfast orange juice was "cheap & cheerful" - concentrate/pre-mix stuff - not in keeping with the quality of everything else. If you wanted a cooked breakfast it was also extra. Pool was unheated (VERY cold) and quite small for the size of hotel - probably very crowded in summer - off season there was enough space to ensure a deckchair. Sunbeds and towels were (surpisingly, given the cost of stay and what the competition provide) charged daily as an EXTRA!! We found the hotel to be quiet and service excellent - no regrets about staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wafKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We found the hotel on tripadvisor. With ten days to spend at the end of a trip to Sicily and weather bad in the north of Italy, we chose the Grand Hotel Aminta in Sorrento to end our holidays and we don't regret it. On the contrary, it was the highlight of our trip.
A great room (we were in room 315 which had a to-die-for view over the bay)... The dining room, bar and pool had a different view which we found equally as magical.
The food in the dining room was wonderful (we were not on half board so we ordered from the menu which was excellent). We had eaten at several gastronomic restaurants in Sorrento which were great ... (O Parrucchiano, (excellent) in particular), but once we ate in the hotel restaurant, we were won over..
In addition, breakfasts were copious, with eggs cooked to order and lots of fresh pastries and cakes. The dining room staff that was incredibly attentive to every request.
The front desk had loads of information on side trips (either guided or how do it on your own) and they our organized transfers to the airport, and confirmed and reconfirmed our reservations (with all three connecting flights home).
Would we go there again?
Absolutely... And the next time we'll take the short walk from the hotel down to town more often. We only took it on the last day, but it makes the hotel an easy and fun walk down to Sorrento through olive and orange groves and hillsides covered with flowers. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagerrParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewes
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I have just come back from Aminta having taken my wife out for our 20th wedding anniversary. I'll cut to the quick and tell you why you should visit.

Pro's

- Quality of location & views of Bay of Naples is par excellence & simply breathtaking.

- The hotel was easy to locate on the main road out of Sorrento.

- The staff were friendly and always on hand to be of assistance.

- Hotel is easily 4*+. I wouldn't make it a 5* because the food isn't quite there yet

- Our room was very well appointed, clean, and an excellent state. I particularly loved the marble floor and high ceilings and well appointed communal areas.

- Access to town via shuttle service was fine & the walk very pleasant.

- Breakfasts were basic and sufficient. We were told that hot food was extra and made to sign for it, however none appeared on our expenses. The coffee could have been fresher.

- We had 1 evening meal which was good but not outstanding. The wine was very expensive - 30EURO for a bottle of Asti Spumanti.

- Plenty of parking space. I never had a problem finding a spot but could imagine there may be pressure when the hotel is full.

- I signed for a lot of stuff but was pleasantly surprised at how low the final expenses bill was. I can see this facility could be dangerous in the wrong hands though!

- The swimming pool was lovely. At 2.7M it was very deep, full of mountain water and cool as a result (which we loved). I can see this would be an issue for some but i loved it.

- The swimming pool area and bar were lovely and waiter service was very convenient.

Con's:

- We had a very limited garden view. Make sure that you get the view you want because you may end up disappointed. Not a big thing but something to watch out for.

- The blue rinse brigade were out in force. It meant that the atmosphere was a bit more sedentary & stayed than perhaps might be desirable for younger folk. Easy to get your kicks in Sorrento though with a wide choice of restaurants, bars, shops, etc.



Recommendation:

- Don't get tied into half board. Sorrento is on the doorstep after all.

- Don't be afraid of renting a car. Its not as bad as people make out and offers you considerable flexibility.

- Sorrento old town is lovely at night, has bags of charisma and is a must to visit. Check out the gelato's at Primavero.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank1eb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibigawa-cho, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I chose Aminta,largely because there was a virtual tour of the room on some site.I never wanted a Hotel that would be so cut away,that travel to and fro from the city centre would be a pain.We could actually walk downhill to the centre.Neither did i want a hotel in the city centre,overrun with tourists.
Aminta was lovely,and the breakfasts and meals were very good!

The views of the city,the sea coast,and Vesuvius were stunning from the rooms-you must insist on a room with a view!The verandahs were kind of strange and connected,but the views were panoramic!The Bathrooms were very clean and nice.Not sure the pool is heated.

There weren't too many people when we were there,hence i cant give you a noise update-i reckon the walls are thin!


About Sorrento- it's small and cute,and a great base for the Amalfi coast,but not very cosmpolitan.Hence,i did struggle,since i am vegan(allergies).We did find an after hours Shwarma place though!(the only one of it's kind).Be on top of your hotel -city centre shuttle bus rides and the local transport and taxi services-service can be spotty and everything shuts early in a small town!

Capri was disappointing,in my opinion,but i got a great leg workout with the climbs!Be on top of the bus services!

Dont miss the waist high signals on the main roads in Sorrento!! :-)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed for one week half board. This hotel is a little out of the way of the centre of Sorrento which makes it a little less attractive if you wish to be near all that the town has to offer. If, however you wish to relax somewhere with wonderful views then this is the place for you.The Amalfi Coast is simply breathtaking.
The hotel is clean and airy. Our room was a little basic but spotlessly clean. We chose to upgrade on arrival to one of the rooms at the front with a balcony and sea view. Unfortunately the balconies are not private from your neighbours so we didn't spend much time making use of the additional facility..
The hotel facilities are fine with a nice swimming pool. Sunbeds are an extra cost which seems a bit of a cheek after paying a lot for the stay.
The half board option was fine. Not exactly fine dining but some of the basic pasta dishes were extremely good. The breakfast is a little repetive with additional costs if you wanted any cooked items. I can highly reccommend lunching on pitza and capri salad on the terrace. The staff are generally very helpful. Be prepared to be seated at the same table for the duration of your stay. The waiter was a bit non-plussed when we refused ro share a table on the first night with another couple. Just as well when we later discovered that we would have been expected to share with complete strangers every night.
Be prepared to put your hand in your pockets to keep yourself hydrated. Soft drinks are very expence.
All in all we had a good holiday but spent an awfull lot of money on food and drinks . But Italy is not cheap so is to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickinooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwood, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

(I went in 2006 actually, but the selector only went back to 2007) The best part of my two weeks in Italy was spent on the balcony of my room at the Grand Aminta. Pay for the waterfront view, buy a bottle of wine, and enjoy!

Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baddabing_pbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing