We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!”
Review of La Tonnarella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Tonnarella
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed four nights, and didn't want to leave. The most breathtaking views, every member of the staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant, helped me with tours, and every type of information I needed.
Got a courtesy upgrade to a wonderful room with a view to the sea, and had the best meals at their restaurant. It was not expensive, and I will go back to Sorrento just to stay at this place.
The only thing I would change is the beach, it was a bit dirty, but I went in the off- season.
It was my highlight to my trip to Italy, this place was beautiful, peaceful, elegant and romantic.

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view,
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for La Tonnarella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as 2 couples in slightly different rooms, both with balconies and magnificent views across the Bay of Naples and down into Sorrento. the slightly larger deluxe room cost over 700 euro for the. 4 nights while the other double room cost just over 500 euro and really there was not that much difference. Our room 16( and 17) were located outside of the main hotel area but unless it is raining really heavily this should not be a concern as they were only 20 metres from the entrance if that
I had been told about the place by a friend who had stayed there some years ago.
Firstly the location perched on the corner at the top of the hill provided some of the best views I could have hoped for. Sitting on our small balcony on the evenings when it was not pouring down were purely a treat I will treasure.
Our room was a double(#16)with bay and town view and was clean and tidy and serviced correctly each day.
We had breakfast there each day as it was included in our package and was a great selection.
I agree with some others that the hotel is becoming a little dated but it also adds to the character if you look past the rough bits. Unfortunately the beds were a bit hard and the pillows a bit soft but this seems to be a general thing in most of the Hotels we stayed in on this trip.
We were there in early October and the water temperature of the Sea was still acceptable, so I was extremely disappointed to see the rundown state of the private beach area, strewn with empty bottles and worse still, broken glass. It really looked as though it had been derelict for some time.
We had been told that after summer the beach was no longer serviced but they should have in fact closed the access completely as it certainly detracted from the overall experience.
Accessibility to the town is easy with a 10-15 minute walk getting you down into the heart of Sorrento and you get some lovely views along the way. We made the mistake of catching a taxi from the heart of Sorrento to the hotel on day one and paid 15 euro for the privilege and this was only topped by the 23 euros we paid for 4 of us with 4 big bags to get to the train to move on to Naples. The hotel is not cheap, nor is the food we were served on the one night we stayed for dinner but overall this Hotel still offers a relaxed and rewarding environment. Staff were friendly and helpful even though I felt they were doing it a little tough at this transitional period between peak and off season.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the bay and the town, otherwise you will miss out on a great...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Room 23 (Junior suite with sea view terrace) which was extra large with a sofa, table and chairs, desk, 2 sitting room chairs and a king sized bed. The bathroom shower was my favorite: u-shaped jacuzzi tub with a shower on each side and the greatest Rain Shower. Beautiful italian tiled floor, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and the most beautiful balcony overlooking Bay of Sorrento and Mt. Vesuvius. The balcony had a nook with a built in bed and your own wine grapes growing overhead (sweet) and a table and chairs to enjoy the scenery. Hotel and restaurant staff were so polite and attentive and the food was delicious. If you wanted to walk to town it was a little scary but there is a sidewalk all the way - its just that the traffic is busy and fast as you're facing it. We drove into town (5 minutes) and parking was not difficult. This hotel's beach was an elevator ride/then 3 flights of stairs after but was not open when we were there. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. Very italian villa feel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank off2bingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was recommend to me by a friend, and they did a great job! Views were superb as well as the food and wine. Service and hotel staff were very professional and friendly. I would highly recommend this place, especially with the balcony!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are a must!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband & I stayed at La Tonnarella 11 years ago & have looked at our photos from that time over & over through the years. We decided to come here again with our grown children, their spouses, & our 5 grandchildren to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Our 3 night stay at this beautiful bed & breakfast will now be a wonderful memory for our entire family. They want to return here, just like we felt 11 years ago. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant & helpful. Our rooms were beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious, with many choices - meats, eggs, fruit, cereals, pastries, rolls, juices, coffee, etc. A great way to start the day. Being high on a hill allowed for breath-taking views. Each of our rooms had terraces where we experienced these great views as soon as we woke up in the morning, whenever we returned from our walks to town, to the marina for the hydrofoil to Capri, our day trips to Pompei & the Amalfi Drive, & in the evening before going to bed. The walk & elevator to the beach allowed us to enjoy a swim. Since the beach is rocky (all of the beaches we went to were rocky) water shoes, etc. make it easier to walk in the water. We had dinner here one evening, too. (The only reason we didn't eat here every night was so we could get as many different experiences as we could.) The dinner was excellent! We could see fireworks from town as we sat on the beautiful terrace where dinner is served. A great place to stay 11 years ago! A wonderful place to stay again this time!

Room Tip: All of our 4 rooms had terraces, overlooking the Bay of Naples & Mt. Vesuvius. You can't go...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room with Sea View with a balcony and a terrace - both with really amazing views.

Luigi the parking attendant was on hand when we arrived late afternoon so no issues there, he also took our luggage to reception and the room - was also keen to show us TV internet. Reception efficient and helpful on check in and out.

Breakfast was included and there was a good choice.

A bit of a walk into town but also no worries as we ate so well that we needed to walk it off.

Slight door banging from the cleaning lady in the morning but not early - she should be trained to close doors quietly.

Room Tip: Deluxe double room with sea view was at the end of a corridor and seemed to have a better view than...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoolianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent location. Not in the center but within walking distance. Our room had a huge balcony with lovely view of the sea and the bay. Everything was quiet and peaceful - like a vacation should be. Breakfast was good and the staff o.k.
We didn't go to the beach so I can't comment on that.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lilushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Address: Via Capo 31, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £113 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing