We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of La Tonnarella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Tonnarella
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a two-week trip to Italy and this was by far our favorite of the 5 hotels (all quite good) that we stayed at. It's about a 10 minute walk to town, which is a great trade-off for the beautiful views from the hotel, and some of the junior suites are spectacular. The view of the water and Mt Vesuvius were special, and the breakfast delicious and plentiful (included in the room rate, and they make you omelettes for free, unlike another hotel that charged 11 euros for breakfast--and wanted extra for an omelette). Although some have said that the service was not that helpful, we found the staff to be warm, friendly, and ever-willing to attend to our needs. I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was in La Tonnarella with my family, for a week-end. At the end of it I was very happy for the treatment in the hotel, including into the restaurant. There is a wonderful view, in front of the sea, food is excellent, typical of this south part of Italy: simply delicious is is pasta "Gnocchi alla sorrentina".
There is the possibility to park the car into the parking area of the restaurant, this, in Sorrento, is not trivial.
Then, by walk (all the time in front of the sea) it is possible to arrive in the center of Sorrento where shopping is ensured for all the pockets: For example it is possible to buytypical shops of cheap shoes, of elegant ones of famous brands.
It is not possible not to taste in Sorrento as sweets babà, or pastiera or caprese and drink a glass of limoncello.

Room Tip: In front of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Girls vacation, stayed 8 nights and we were amazed by the panoramic view from the large balcony-rm 3. Very clean and Antonio who served breakfast and dinner was exceptional.Rocky beach is private with lots of sea glass and sea pottery.Perfect location.

Room Tip: Choose doublle deluxe ,it has 2 lounge chairs,table and chairs,palm and lemon tree.Superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for five nights....FANTASTIC...balcony overlooked Sorrento. Staff lovely, breakfast lovely, everything lovely..private beach reached by cliff side lift. Ten minutes to Sorrento-perfect location!

Room Tip: Well worth having balcony xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robthereduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Outstanding hotel with stunning views of the bay. The restaurant was 2nd to none - waiters & front desk staff were all outstanding. The wine bar & wine selection was quite probably the most impressive we've had, all in a most romantic setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent three nights at the La Tonnarella and were overwhelmed by the views We highly recommend a room with a private terrace. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was yummy and the wait staff was attentive. Sorrento is a good central location for seeing the surrounding cities (Pompei, Capri, traveling the Amalfi Coast).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in July 2013 (a total of 13 of us...4 couples + 5 teenagers...4 rooms). We each had stunning views from our huge balcony overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Our room (#9) was simple and not huge, but it was just my husband & myself, and we were very comfortable. Plus, with the huge balcony and gorgeous views, any time spent relaxing back at our room was spent on the balcony.

The staff was absolutely wonderful and accommodating during our stay. They were always willing to help us anyway they could. Breakfast each morning was delicious, and the dining room also had great views of Sorrento. My husband and I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but others in our group did and were very pleased.

The hotel itself was a short walk (15 minutes) from downtown Sorrento, and while it was an uphill walk to get home at the end of the day, it was a great way to work off all of that delicious food we had for dinner each night in town! We enjoyed being a short distance from the downtown area, as the hotel was very quiet.

We also enjoyed one morning at the beach. As others have mentioned, it is rocky there, so water shoes are helpful! It's a very private setting, and the water was warm and calm.

La Tonnarella is a beautiful hotel, and I would highly recommend it. Any room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples is well worth the money as the views are stunning! The staff at La Tonnarella was so nice and helpful. If we ever have the chance to go back to Sorrento, we would most definitely stay at La Tonnarella (and we wouldn't even consider staying any place else!). What wonderful memories we have!!!

Room Tip: Any room with a large patio/balcony overlooking the bay/Sorrento
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CountryGirl813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Address: Via Capo 31, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing