We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Tonnarella
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I agree with the many raters of this hotel. We stayed only two nights and wish we could have stayed more. EXCELLENT views of Bay of Naples, Mt Visuvius, and the harbor of Sorrento.
We had a sea view room on the top floor that was spacious, had a large bathroom, and its own private terrace overlooking the bay. Loved it. (except lack of shower-had to tub-bathe). Though not near the city center, it was well "walkable".

Rick Steves book gave it a modest rating for service. But we had EXCELLENT service; they were extremely hospitable from check-in to check out. They even set us up with a car and driver to see the Amalfi coast for a day--highly recommended by the way.

Room Tip: Room 17 has an excellent private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 52jjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner for three nights. We were staying in a Deluxe Double Room with Sea View.
Pros
We arrived from Rome and there was parking outside the hotel for EUR 5 per day. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the views of the Gulf of Naples (Naples, Mt Vesuvius, harbor) are incredible. There is lift access to a beach shared with another hotel that has enough chairs and umbrellas. The food at dinner was also very tasty and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
Cons
The hotel is a 25 mins walk to Sorrento - ideally you need a car unless you are happy to pay taxi fares. The breakfast is average (the coffee is terrible). The reception could have given better advice regarding tours and trips to Capri/Mt Vesuvius/Pompeii.

Room Tip: Balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a superb hotel in an amazing location overlooking the bay of Naples. Easily the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in!!! There are wonderful old tile mosaic decorations throughout, amazing tiled bathrooms, superb views from the balconies, a great beach, delicious breakfasts and incredibly helpful staff - thank you - you made our visit such a lovely experience!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - lovely!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarmite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There aren't enough words to describe our magnificent room with huge balcony and splendid view overlooking the sea and Mount Vesuvius . The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and incredibly spacious. You can also enjoy the view from any corner of the dining area during breakfast. It was perfectly situated where we could drive to visit the ruins in Pompeii and to Positano for more shopping, eating and beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPFStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely hotel, we had probably one of the cheapest rooms but even this was comfortable and tasteful. The bathroom is spacious with lovely majolika glazed tiles, the staff we found really friendly, helpful and thoughtful. And the view! Well, it is a dream. From the balcony you can see the Vesuvio and the bay of Sorrento. It`s magic.
on top of the cake they have a little private beach which you can reach by the elevator. The bar on the bach serves lunch and drinks (and the cook is really good). We had a fantastic, relaxing holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This boutique hotel is full of character. The staff are all so very kind, helpful and genuine. The restaurant had a beautiful setting with amazing views of Sorrento and Vesuvius, perfect for a romantic get away! We particularly enjoyed having the ready access to the beach, even via a lift, which is not so easy in Sorrento. The beach setting was beautiful, set in a gorge outlet complete with stream and an abundance of vegetation. The hotel was a perfect base point for visiting Vesuvius highlights such as Pompeii, Herculaneum and for visiting Capri, Amalfi coast etc Easy to walk into town if you want the hustle and bustle of Sorrento, although we tended to be lazy and use a taxi (20 Euros) who are readily abundant night or day. Rooms are interesting, with aircon and amazing shower!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you can sunbathe/sit out on, avoid the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulGuyTourret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Difficult to know where to start as everything was so very good. The staff, especially Mariella and Luigi were all welcoming, helpful and friendly. The hotel was immaculately clean with many places to see the stunning panoramic views. A lift takes guests down to a beautiful well equipped interesting small private beach. Our room and terrace were beautifully furnished, clean, with wonderful views across Naples bay and Vesuvius. The whole hotel is full of character with incredibly colourful tiled floors. Breakfast is excellent with very wide choice including a hot option. Staff here polite and efficient. Great wi fi, on sight parking available and reception staff speak excellent English. When booking Mariella responded immediately and answered all questions. With a hotel like this so close to the interesting town of Sorrento we would not consider staying in places like Amalfi, Positano, Ravello etc which can be easily reached from here. We have stayed in many lovely hotels in places like Dubrovnik, Taormina but this is our favourite. We have had such a wonderful experience at Hotel La Tonnarella that we intend to return next year. Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with sea views as these are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertJoyce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Address: Via Capo 31, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing