We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Bleach, a lot of dusting, and better customer service would go along way here!””
Review of La Tonnarella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Tonnarella
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Bleach, a lot of dusting, and better customer service would go along way here!””
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have mixed feelings about our stay at LA Tonnarella. I would give it a 10+ breathtaking stars for location, beautiful private beach with lift, sheer wonderful real Italian ambiance, and those amazing views!!!!! This hotel/villa gives you what u seek of a true, wonderful Italian holiday. The rooms and bathrooms are large, floors are beautiful Italian tile from the surrounding area, and the bathrooms are also large and done in all Itailan tile, as well. Not a stay at a hotel, if moved... Would fit anywhere! You know you are in Italy and the Amalfi Coast!

Breakfast was good and got us going.

SADLY, the hotel itself is extremely dusty... furniture, floors, to the beautiful Italian dinner ware on display. They even had cobwebs on them. It was a shame, because it devalued them. Especially, knowing their price tag. Floors were extremely dusty and on the wood stairs you could see not only the dust, but everyones hair, etc.The dust in this hotel looked as if it had accumulated from the ancient Roman days. Also, table cloths were kept for all meals for the day, it would seem.

Upon arrival to our room, I noticed the large cobweb over the bathroom sink (I asked to have it removed immediately. It was.). Also, I could not help but notice the grout in between the tiles had black mold. The shower did not drain while you were actually showering. I asked if they could clean the the mold and fix the drainage problem in the shower before we left in the am to tour. When we returned, mold was still there and after showering... drainage problem still existed! When we inquired with the front desk personel, she said the chamber maid said it was fine and the drainage was JUST slow! She also stated, her chamber maid was one of best on the property.

I would definitely stay here again, but next time I would change rooms immediately. Not wait to see if they fix a problem. I would not change where we stayed in Sorrento at all. The views, location, views, views, location, true Italian ambiance, private beach with lift, beauty on way to beach... So worth it! That part is a strong 10+, but the hotel itself... a strong 3!!! A strong 4, if a little bleach, lots of dusting, and customer service were used better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aprilf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    124
    55
    30
    18
See reviews for
61
254
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Please read my review that was accidentally posted to the hotel's restaurant, by the same name.

You should read and be aware before you stay here. If, you know what to expect... it won't come as a shock.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The view was absolutely amazing. DEFINITELY get a room with a sea view. Our balcony was bigger than the room itself. The room was very small, but clean. The balcony had views of the sea, sorrento, naples and vesuvius- absolutely beautiful. Avoid Room #9 - it was SO loud throughout the entire night. It was the room right next to the front door/parking lot. We were up all night long both nights because it was so loud. We didn't try the restaurant there, the menu was very limited especially if you don't eat seafood. The main streets of Sorrento is a very short walk away. Not at all as steep as people are saying. The private beach was really great because there was barely anyone on it. We got there when it opened and were the only people there for a couple of hours. The one thing they don't tell you is that you have to pay to use the beach, which we were under the impression that the hotel's private beach was included in the price of the hotel room. It wasn't significant, but it may have been around $20 for the day to use their chairs/umbrella. The man that carried our luggage to our room was very nice, however the front end workers (both women that we had interaction with) were not friendly at all. We had questions about leaving our luggage for a tour the last day and some other things and they were rude/short with their responses. Honestly, I'm still very up in the air about staying there again. The views are probably worth it alone compared to the other hotels if we were in a different room away from the door. I did shop around for a hotel with a beach and this was definitely the best value for the money.

Room Tip: Avoid room #9!! Noise level and location is right next to front door (even before the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggtravels18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel which is at a beautiful location overlooking the ocean in Sorrento. A bit far out of town, but the views make up for the distance. When we got to the room, there was a dirty towel in the shower. The staff act like they don't want to be bothered. The bed was horrible, like sleeping on box springs. Stay closer to town for a more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a charming hotel high on a cliff above the sea. There was an elevator and then stairs with a waterfall cascading beside them to a private gravel beach area.My favorite part of this hotel was the view, and it was worth getting an ocean view room. It is a pretty long and steep walk into Sorrento, but not too bad for us. We had the hotel call us a cab on the last day so we could try to catch the boat to Naples. The traffic was so bad we had to wait two hours for the next boat Even worse, were overcharged by the taxi driver! Make sure to agree on a price before getting into a cab, and be aware that it may be faster to walk.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I agree with the many raters of this hotel. We stayed only two nights and wish we could have stayed more. EXCELLENT views of Bay of Naples, Mt Visuvius, and the harbor of Sorrento.
We had a sea view room on the top floor that was spacious, had a large bathroom, and its own private terrace overlooking the bay. Loved it. (except lack of shower-had to tub-bathe). Though not near the city center, it was well "walkable".

Rick Steves book gave it a modest rating for service. But we had EXCELLENT service; they were extremely hospitable from check-in to check out. They even set us up with a car and driver to see the Amalfi coast for a day--highly recommended by the way.

Room Tip: Room 17 has an excellent private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52jjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner for three nights. We were staying in a Deluxe Double Room with Sea View.
Pros
We arrived from Rome and there was parking outside the hotel for EUR 5 per day. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the views of the Gulf of Naples (Naples, Mt Vesuvius, harbor) are incredible. There is lift access to a beach shared with another hotel that has enough chairs and umbrellas. The food at dinner was also very tasty and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
Cons
The hotel is a 25 mins walk to Sorrento - ideally you need a car unless you are happy to pay taxi fares. The breakfast is average (the coffee is terrible). The reception could have given better advice regarding tours and trips to Capri/Mt Vesuvius/Pompeii.

Room Tip: Balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Property: La Tonnarella
Address: Via Capo 31, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing