We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School parties!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“School parties!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is a value for money 3star, good location but the road outside is noisy. Be aware that you could be sharing your holiday with school parties, in term time. 2 groups, both British, were very noisy until all hours! It is not an experience I or my fellow travellers would care to repeat.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    232
    155
    64
    47
See reviews for
104
269
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 from July 30- Aug 6 2012.
Staff are very friendly, accommodating, and helpful.
Rooms while comfortable need to be updated. Make sure you have a family room at the back of hotel on 1st floor, there is a patio area as opposed to balcony.
Would Definately stay here again!
Wifi available in reception area, needs to have in rooms.
Staff helped us book beach space at Leonelli's beach, do visit the ice cream parlor with the chef statue out front.
Hotel great value for money
Thnx VM!
Rob

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and it cost us around £100 per night including breakfast which we feel did not provide good vaue for money.

The hotel is situated towards the edge of Sorrento off the main road on a quiet side street. Sorrento is fairly small place so only around a 10-15 minute walk to all the major attractions so it suited us well.

However, the original part of the hotel (there is a new section at the front) is very very dated- strange burnt orange velour-esque wall covering in the corridors, and tired furnishings in the breakfast area and the lounge. The room and bathroom were equally tired in decor though the walls seemed to have been freshly painted and was very clean. We paid extra for a balcony and sea view, but the balcony we had was tiny though the sea view made up for it.

The pool is nice and there is a really nice large roof terrace which was mostly empty so was perfect for some quiet reading away from the children in the pool! There was also a jacuzzi though this didn't seem to be working when we stayed recently.

Breakfast was a very strange affair- I have never seen so much cake on offer for breakfast. Cereal was museli based and the milk was always warm (and I suspect UHT). The fruit salad was definitely tinned and complete with glace cherries- a pity considering the massive amount of lovely fresh fruit produce in Sorrento- I just can't understand why they provided tinned fruit!

The worst feature of the running of this hotel is their unscrupulous efforts to get more and more money out of you during the stay. Drinks were at least 5 euros each at the pool side bar. There was a notice syaing that you could not bring your room towels down to the pool and instead had to pay 2 euros to hire each day! There is a TV in your room but in order to have SKY you have to pay an extra 5 euros to have it activated! Becareful as when we booked, it said 'includes SKY TV', but it did not.

When we checked out we had to pay the tax (which we knew about) but they would only accept cash and we didn't have enough. The reception guy said they would take other currencies though beware: for a 12 euro charge they wanted to charge us 22 dollars (as we had some dollars with us)! There is no doubt that they were making money on this, which as it is a local tax of a set amount, was a total disappointment and quite wrong.

I would really not recommend this hotel as it does not provide good value for money; having said that Sorrento is notoriously expensive so you will pay dearly for a decent standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to stay in the newer part of the hotel? I didn't see the rooms on that side but Im sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is like so many others in southern Italy who spend their nights planning how to get a few more dollars out of tourists. The pool is decent, but you cannot bring your own drinks or snacks; instead you must pay 3-6 euro for their beverages. All payments HAD to be in cash when checking out which was incredibly inconvenient, breakfast consisted of watermelon and 8 different types of bread, service was slow and almost non existent at times. Also, the people reviewing this who claim the head waiter was even the slightest bit competent are nuts. That guy was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asm11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 9 - 15 July 2012. The bed and shower were excellent, The air-condition was also good. Room was big with a high ceiling, Location is very central with restaurants, shops a walking distance. The beach could be reached by walking down the steps in about 10 mins.

The breakfast was sumptous. They could have included plain croisants as most of the croisants were oversweet.

The staff was friendly english speaking and ready to help. There was a piano in the lounge and was available for anyone to play. My sister played on it but found it a bit out of tune. When she played on it later the piano had been tuned. Bravo to the Hotel!

I would recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Select the room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreddyDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Went July 2012. The Hotel is nicely situated for all amenities,staff pleasant and meals good. But we were located in room 112 in the annexe never again. The room badly needs updating and the noise from the traffic goes on all night as the window is practically on the road. Advice if going to this hotel make sure you get a room in the main part of the hotel, otherwise you will not sleep at night.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Annexe, rooms 111,112,113,114
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

I have read these reviews of hotels around town and this one. This hotel is ok...it is close to some things but not to others...just as central hotel is close to some but not others. The people were not overly friendly. The room the air worked ok. A couple of lights and a couple of outlets worked. The lock wasn't too great, and we stayed in what they called the annex. A building of a few rooms next to the hotel. The pool was nice but doesn't get a whole lot of sun since surrounded by Other buildings..at the snack bar you must charge to your room unless you have checked out. The room was pretty clean. So having been to sorrento many times it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamagirl0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Badia
Hotel La Badia
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#64 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#65 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing