We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In a nice part of Sorrento with an easy walk to the town centre. the rooms were clean and the linen was changed daily. The restaurant was also clean and a good variety at the buffet breakfast.
Unfortunately the hot selection, eggs and bacon, although in a heated container, was often luke- warm because the lids were left off. The evening dinners were mediocre to say the least, with strange combinations. Four choice of starters (soup was best, always hot!). Four main courses but no choice of side dishes. Consequently we were served with e.g. meat balls on a lettuce leaf ,no sauce, allegedly roast potatoes,and soggy greens! The mashed potatoes were like water, fish about 4 inches by 2 inches, allegedly sea bass but it didn't taste like it. Often these dishes were served up cold and had to be sent back. Serving them on warmed plates would have helped. The waiters were O.K. at first but as soon as you asked for the food to be warmed up they couldn't be bothered with us.
The day staff were helpful but the night staff was hopeless.

Room Tip: A word of warning, if you do go to this hotel DO NOT go in rooms 519, 520 or 521. These rooms have a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GingernutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a group, so did not book it ourselves. We liked the room which was spacious , and had a small balcony with shutters which kept the room dark at night but meant we could have daylight on waking instead of turning on a bright light when only half awake.
There was only one problem - the bedside shelves either side of the double bed were about 18 inches from the bed which made reaching for a glass of water or a clock in the night involved a big stretch! Also they charged 10 euros for wifi in the room so we didnt bother, and free wifi in the lobby and lounge but we couldnt get connected. These are minor points as the room, lounge and roof terrace were all nice. Breakfast was cold, but there was a large selection of bread and pastries, cereals and fresh fruit and the coffee and hot chocolate very good, though the tea was just Liptons tea bags.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babarandceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The location of this hotel is good, as it is off of the main street yet within an easy walk of most of the important parts of the city. The staff is very helpful and always exceptionally friendly.

The lobby and dining room are quite pleasant. The breakfast offerings are not extensive, but what is there is tasty. The waiter is very attentive, conscientious and friendly.

The room is good size, but it is very tired-looking and due for a much-needed facelift. The mattress is fairly soft and needs to be replaced. The bedspread has a hole in it - not terribly large, but it doesn't give a good first impression. There is good closet space, but with a mishmash of plastic hangers that appear to have all been left by previous guests. The bathroom is of decent size, but again in need of an update. The shower is the tiniest we've had on our trip.

We are not mini-bar people, but when we peeked at it there was a sad collection of one Coke, one water, a juice and a small bottle of Brut champagne. Most of what was on the price list was nowhere to be found.

Our stay has not been bad, but this is a hotel that has much more potential than it currently displays. Unless it is updated, I would likely stay someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea! There will be rooftops to contend with, but the view will be nice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Southernredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

loved the fact that hotel was within walkin distance of town an shops but all rooms are in big need of update, rooms all very clean but so old fashioned, bar area large but very little choice of drinks also needs to be updated decor is so outdated, meals in resturant were very basic, breakfast buffet well ok if you love sweet pastries whenever we got down there the other people also complained of the very small amounts there was on offer, dineing room to small for the amount people staying there, we always had to share our table with other people, would be happpy to pay more to stay here if it upgradded, cant fault any staff alll very friendly an hard working, most of them were there from EARLY mornin till LATE evening 11/1130 most nights

Room Tip: ask for room that over looks the road as all these have sea views all other rooms face a block of te...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lovely hotel, comfortable and conveniently situated for a short walk into the main town. The pool area was nice and close, easy to get changed and come and go from our room, lots of sunshades and sun beds, and a bar beside the pool. We went on trips every day to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, etc and the coach picked us up from the front of the hotel. I would stay at this hotel again if we decide to return to Sorrento one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went with Riveria company to this hotel and what a lovely little hotel it was for the holiday that we had. Its for the more mature traveller, and has no evening entertainment which on this particular trip, suited us, as we were so busy thoughout the day we just had our meal and chiled for the evening. We found all the staff very polite and pleasing. The rooms were smallish but very clean, it had everything one could need. The breakfast was OK, not lots of variety but adequete. The evening meal was served to us my waiters and again was OK. Outsdie the Hotel there was plenty of other restaurants that served wonderful Italian food and wine Mmmmm at 'fair prices.
I liked this hotel for for this particular break as it was so centralised with the town a few minutes walk away and the train statipn also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gillian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recently spent a week here on an excellent package with Riviera Tours. As it was a package, can’t comment on value for money, but extrapolating from the tour price it must be good value for a 3 star hotel. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. We picked it because it is at the west end of the main drag (Corso Italia) and thus you can get into the town centre in 5 minutes on a dead flat road. (For variety, steep steps take you straight down to the old fishing village, which is secluded and beautiful.)

We paid extra for a balcony, which (as we were on the 5th floor) was worth it for the view of the Bay of Naples and the mountains (including Vesuvius). However, if you have a balcony on a lower floor the view is partially obstructed by the flats opposite, so this is worth bearing in mind.

I would give this five stars, except for one feature – the vegetarian options (or lack of them). Although my wife isn’t a full vegetarian, she prefers veggie if available. You may expect less scope for this in Italy, but for the last four nights each of the dishes on offer was based on mozzarella. This really isn’t trying very hard.

Room Tip: For best view (especially if paying the extra for a balcony), get the 5th floor!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsherunkle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £74 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing