We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional yes, outdated no....”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #73 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional yes, outdated no....”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back (early Aug '14) from a weeks stay here. What we really wanted was a hotel with all the basics - nothing flash - just a place to rest our heads and maybe hang out by the pool. What we found was exactly that. It's a 3 star hotel and that is about right. As mentioned in other reviews, it is essentially at the top end of the town (which is beautiful) and not the quietest location, (surrounded as it is by other hotels) but as we had no young children this was not an issue. Perhaps if I divide the review up into negatives and positives: So.....
Negatives: Struggling here....no tea/coffee making facilities, the in house food/drinks were not cheap and the balcony furniture had seen better days but apart from that...um...no, can't think of any.
Positives: Handy for the town, plenty of cheap places to buy food and wine nearby. The breakfast is mainly ham, cheese, bread and pastries as one would expect, sometimes with fried eggs sometimes with scrambled (especially good) - it's a buffet so it can be tempting to overdo it! Plenty of waiters (most of whom have good basic English), fast service. Having read some reviews we weren't expecting much from the evening meals but they were in fact fine - basic but fine with again good service (all the staff were efficient and courteous).The pool area was never crowded - plenty of loungers (same goes for the roof area with it's fab view). The room was not huge but big enough - the shower was great. Yes, the decor is not modern but it was clean. All in all, I'd say it wasn't great but we weren't paying for great, we were paying for reasonable and that's what we got and we wouldn't hesitate to go again. As for Sorrento itself - watch out when crossing the main road but as the for the rest of it - fabulous. Just one more thing - don't be put off by people saying the food is expensive. Some restaurants are, some aren't so study the menu first. If money is tight though there are plenty of shops selling excellent food and drinks at prices comparable to England if not cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    238
    158
    65
    47
See reviews for
107
275
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is literally at one end of the main shopping and restaurant area. We easily walked to where we wanted to go and felt close to everything. The breakfast offered a good choice every morning and you could even request a serving of bacon which is not found on the buffet table. The hotel was clean and the pool served its purpose. The hot tub on the roof has an additional charge of 20 Euros per hour. (so don't jump into the tub if it is occupied). We travelled with our adult children and found the "quad" room sufficient for our needs keeping in mind that it was a budget hotel..(One double bed and 2 cots). We did not really use the balcony as it only comfortably sat 2 and we had a choice of the pool deck or the sun roof.The WiFi is free in the lobby so we used it during breakfast or at the end of the day as the lobby is spacious. We did not need to pay the surcharge for WiFi in the room. We loved the shopping and the choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for balcony as you can use sunroof or pool deck with more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Me, my mum and brother stayed at hotel villa maria for 1 week. We visited Italy for my uncles wedding so needed somewhere to stay that was 'reasonably priced' pfft
We arrived at the hotel to be put into a room for 3.. One single bed and one double (not ideal unless you like sharing a bed with your mum or 16 yr old brother for a week at the age of 19) .Very small space to walk around. Very outdated. Paid extra for a 'balcony' which had a lovely view of dirty washing and scruffy plants from the opposite appartments. Balcony was never used as no sun reached it. So it's not worth paying extra for that. Save your money for the €10 wifi for the duration of your stay as it isn't a place of entertainment. The hotel is half board, we soon discovered drinks are not included into the half board (even water) at dinner time and at €3.50 a can of coke it soon got pricey. The food was ok, got the choice between 4 starters and 4 mains.
Overall it was average. And I won't be in a rush to visit Italy (sorrento) any time soon as people were unhelpful, rude, crazy drivers and after your money. There is nothing for kids so it isn't a place to take children!! As a family of 30 with quite a few kids it was not ideal! Over priced everywhere you went. Only day we enjoyed was the wedding :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccaalliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It is the first time we have been there for a holiday and found it a wonderful place nice and friendly . Lots to see around the hotel was nice and friendly and clean with good food.that is my opinion. But it is you who have to decide on that. The only downer was the airport on arrival having to drag your luggage to coach car park 6 along way away. We will be going back again.this was June.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilly964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Perhaps they may have been overwhelmed with the height of tourist season. Air conditioning was not refreshing in rooms, and when you are a July traveler this is most important! Rooms were a bit disappointing, we reserved a triple and the extra bed was pushed up against the large door window that you couldn't open unless you moved the bed. Little things of comfort such as the blow dryer not operating unless you hold your finger, only waste basket in bathroom, things like that.....nothing tragic, but non the less annoying. They charge 10 Euro for Wifi access. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, always out of food by the time we arrived 8:30/9am. Pool area was very nice and the food and drinks were delicious by the pool area!

Room Tip: They charge 10 Euro for Wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waves2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a week with Riviera Travel - the hotel is a good 3 star hotel - no more. Our room was 214 at the front of the hotel with a sea view for which we paid extra. The food was quite good, the pool area small but OK, however there were not enough sun beds. The hotel will not allow you to pay for drinks as you have them - you have to sign for them and pay at the end of your stay, you only get a print out if you ask for it which I did as I thought the total was a bit high, however it was right - just expensive - so beware. The staff are friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel in my view was its location, just minutes from the centre of town, we went for a walk every evening, they close one of the main roads to cars - be careful though mopeds and buses can still drive through.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linandmike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great, however the staff that were at the reception were incredibly rude and sarcastic. The rooms were huge which was good, however we stayed for four nights and our sheets were not changed. The reason I know this is because the sheets we had on the bed had what looked like sauce stains on them. The breakfast was good and there is a pool but it is small but good bar area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniyelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Badia
Hotel La Badia
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing