We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and quiet”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I and our 14 year-old daughter stayed here for 1 week in August 2014 and opted for the half-board option via Thomas Cook. We were originally given a room on the 3rd floor, which seemed a bit small for the three of us and it faced a noisy swimming pool in an adjoining hotel.We asked the reception staff if there were any other rooms available and were shown a bigger room on the fifth floor facing private apartments and a small mountain which was a vast improvement. Being an older building, any noise from surrounding rooms was kept to a minimum and generally we found the hotel to be quiet after 11pm. The buffet breakfast was good if you like eggs, toast, cold meats and cheese and plenty of different pastries and melon. The evening meal was waiter service and included four different choices of starter and main with a couple of choices of pudding, and was very enjoyable. Any drinks were extra. We found all of the staff to be helpful and answered questions/requests immediately. The pool isn't big by any means but ok if you want cool off after a day of visiting the various attractions in the area. There is also a fair size sun-bathing area on the 6th floor which is a good sun-trap and has great views of the area and bay.

Room Tip: If you are unsure about the room given, immediately ask to be shown others.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We first stayed at the Villa Maria back in 2000 when we were in Sorrento to get married. We recently returned and I am delighted to say the hotel is still the same. The same family are running the hotel and it is such a friendly place to stay. The pool area is ideal for small kids to enjoy the sunshine in and the sunbeds are ideal.
The pool bar is a little expensive but not anymore than other hotels in the area. We stayed in a quad room on the 5th floor and had fantastic views of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. We also got a good overview of Sorrento and beyond.
All in all a wonderful hotel and we will be returning soon, hopefully

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_d_brown57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My friend and I stayed 8 nights at Hotell villa Maria and left very satisfied with out stay. Excellent price, clean rooms and what I appriciated most were the very friendly and helpful staff. We had wify-internet at out room the whole week for just 10 euros extra cost which was great too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

On piece of advise when choosing this hotel DO NOT go by the pictures on their website as the rooms are nothing like the photos, we got our room as it was nothing like what we expected, the bed spread was dirty and the room smelled of smoke, don't bother asking for a non smoking room as people smoke in their rooms and it comes through the air conditioning system which is not refreshing at all, pretty ordinary
Now everything is an extra, 1 euro per night if you want to use the in room safe, 2 euro per person if you want to use a pool towel, 10 euro if you want internet in your room, And we made the fatal mistake of asking the very unhelpful desk staff to confirm a tour booking for us which cost another 2.50 euro, talk about a rip off for a local call!!
The desk staff were the most arrogant and unhelpful people we have ever met, their attitude was appalling when asking simple questions.
The breakfast was ordinary, however there were 5 guys on duty dressed with bow tie and white suits, what impression they were trying to make we don't know as it certainly didn't match the rest of the hotel.
The only good thing we can say about this hotel is its location, if that all you are after by all, means stay here, however there are better hotels close by, so we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Dated hotel, but kept clean , take plenty of euros as the evening meals were terrible, and we had to eat out most nights, breakfast was ok, but not a great selection unless you like eggs and coissants, restaraunt manager was very friendly, but the younger ones need to smile , best thing about hotel is the location , apart from that we wont be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back (early Aug '14) from a weeks stay here. What we really wanted was a hotel with all the basics - nothing flash - just a place to rest our heads and maybe hang out by the pool. What we found was exactly that. It's a 3 star hotel and that is about right. As mentioned in other reviews, it is essentially at the top end of the town (which is beautiful) and not the quietest location, (surrounded as it is by other hotels) but as we had no young children this was not an issue. Perhaps if I divide the review up into negatives and positives: So.....
Negatives: Struggling here....no tea/coffee making facilities, the in house food/drinks were not cheap and the balcony furniture had seen better days but apart from that...um...no, can't think of any.
Positives: Handy for the town, plenty of cheap places to buy food and wine nearby. The breakfast is mainly ham, cheese, bread and pastries as one would expect, sometimes with fried eggs sometimes with scrambled (especially good) - it's a buffet so it can be tempting to overdo it! Plenty of waiters (most of whom have good basic English), fast service. Having read some reviews we weren't expecting much from the evening meals but they were in fact fine - basic but fine with again good service (all the staff were efficient and courteous).The pool area was never crowded - plenty of loungers (same goes for the roof area with it's fab view). The room was not huge but big enough - the shower was great. Yes, the decor is not modern but it was clean. All in all, I'd say it wasn't great but we weren't paying for great, we were paying for reasonable and that's what we got and we wouldn't hesitate to go again. As for Sorrento itself - watch out when crossing the main road but as the for the rest of it - fabulous. Just one more thing - don't be put off by people saying the food is expensive. Some restaurants are, some aren't so study the menu first. If money is tight though there are plenty of shops selling excellent food and drinks at prices comparable to England if not cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is literally at one end of the main shopping and restaurant area. We easily walked to where we wanted to go and felt close to everything. The breakfast offered a good choice every morning and you could even request a serving of bacon which is not found on the buffet table. The hotel was clean and the pool served its purpose. The hot tub on the roof has an additional charge of 20 Euros per hour. (so don't jump into the tub if it is occupied). We travelled with our adult children and found the "quad" room sufficient for our needs keeping in mind that it was a budget hotel..(One double bed and 2 cots). We did not really use the balcony as it only comfortably sat 2 and we had a choice of the pool deck or the sun roof.The WiFi is free in the lobby so we used it during breakfast or at the end of the day as the lobby is spacious. We did not need to pay the surcharge for WiFi in the room. We loved the shopping and the choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for balcony as you can use sunroof or pool deck with more comfort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing