We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 6 October 2008

In January 2008 we booked a 5 night stay here via the hotel website and also reconfirmed our arrival a week beforehand. Despite this when we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was not a room available that night as some previous guests had refused to vacate their room. We were taken to an apartment overlooking a busy road with no air conditioning and no hot water, despite an assurance to the contrary and the batroom was not clean.

We had to move our luggage back to the Hotel Mignon the next morning for the remaining 4 nights.

Breakfast at the hotel was very basic and on one occassion sour milk was served for my cereal.

The staff, with one exception, are very surly.

One bedside light was not working when we arrived and despite reporting it on the 2nd day was still not fixed when we left.

Please note if you are attending a wedding as we were, whilst the hotel is able to provide an iron there is no ironing board and you will have to use the bed!

In summary WE WILL NOT BE BACK!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food and staff attitude
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BevNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    182
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
90
244
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

The Hotel Mignon is situated within the center town of Sorrento, it is a 5 to 10 min. walk from the historic downtown, located off an alley way near the cathedral.

The rooms are basic contaning of a desk, small bathroom with shower, a small TV, and two simple beds. Rooms were clean, walls were very thin and our first night we got very little sleep given the noise from the outside as well as noise from neighbors. literally, you can hear your neighbors sneeze.

Breakfast is served however when we were there they had no place for us to sit down, no plates to be served. Breakfast is smiple, bread and fruit with some cereal.

Staff is friendly, rates are good compared to the rest of sorrento. This is no frills place and fits its star rating of a 2 star hotel in europe.

We would not likely stay again at this place. While we had been looking for a place close to the center, with all the distractions, it was not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This was a decent hotel room with which to base yourself for exploring Sorrento and the surrounding region. It was nothing spectacular, but was clean and the staff were helpful. It had internet facilities and the room was clean and liveable.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Hotel is a bit outdated
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Thanked our lucky stars to have found this hotel. Decor soothing and cool. Central but quiet. Could not have wished for better.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Just back from seven nights at the Hotel Mignon in Sorrento. This hotel is in a superb location and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay as they explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. Staff were pleasant and helpful, room was spotless and airy with a great balcony, breakfast was simple yet satisfying. All in all, we were delighted with our choice of hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My Mom ,daughter and I stayed at the hotel for the first time.It was a wonderful hotel.From the time we first arrived till we left it coouldn't have been better.I will defintly stay at this hotel again.The breakfast is wonderful,the hotel is decorated so nicely.it was a wonderful experience.A Quaint hotel in beautiful Sorrento.Thanks again to the beautiful staff at Hotel Mignon.Sorrento has a charm all its own and so does this hotel.Grazie!!

  • Liked — The Staff,The Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karenfilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We traveled with our two adult sons and rented two rooms. The hotel was recommended by Rick Steeves. This was the lowest cost hotel in our travels and just about the best in many respects. The rooms are bright, clean and pleasant and decent size by European standards. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good, too, although typical of hotels in this price range, does not offer much of a selection. We did not find the noise a problem.

As others mentioned, the location is great for access to the railway station and Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. We did not spend much time in Sorrento, but used the hotel as a base for exploring the surrounding area.

A word of advice, avoid taxis if possible, but if you must have one, for example to go to the docks with baggage, just walk to Tasso and get one at the taxi stand. If you order one to the hotel, the driver will charge a fee for the pickup, which is whatever he thinks he may be able to extort. We were charged 25 euro for the short ride to Marina Piccola with baggage, barely over a mile.

  • Liked — Great location, pleasant surroundings
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DeltaFlyer-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Property: Hotel Mignon
Address: Via Antonino Sersale 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Meuble Hotel
Mignon Meuble Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing