We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big bathroom and great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big bathroom and great breakfast”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Found this hotel through Rick Steve's' guidebook. Great value for this hotel. In an alley off the Main Street in Sorrento, so very convenient to everything. Loved the nice big bathroom and shower! Only negative about the room was we had quite a few ants in our room. Friendly staff and great (free) breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the alley -can get a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful and very kind review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that make it a memorable holydays!

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Hotel Mignon on TripAdvisor.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hotel Mignon soon a near future!
Sincerely

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    182
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
88
242
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Mignon for three nights last month on my first trip to Sorrento. I don't know why it's billed as a 2-star hotel: it was far more than that to me. It is spotless, nicely designed and decorated, and welcoming. The handpainted blue-and-white tiles in the entrance carry through to the small foyer space and the first floor rooms, and they made our room (room 3) feel fresh and clean. I've just scrolled through the photos of the hotel in Tripadvisor and feel they don't do it justice, at least from my experience.

Our room had a small balcony and fronted onto the alleyway that is used as a thoroughfare to the main street of Sorrento. It got full sunlight but there was an electronic blind to shut out the light, which was great. Room 3 doesn't have as good a view as the rooms upstairs however: a tip for those who like to look at something other than a concrete wall. Another downside of our room is that it was close to the breakfast area so were were awakened on the first morning by early breakfast-goers (I mean who has breakfast at 7am on holiday??!!). The hotel graciously offered us a room upstairs but I opted to stay on the 1st floor as I loved the room (the tiles!) and also our bathroom with its spacious shower that felt a bit hammam-like. I would have loved some nicer toiletries but I know that that always ratchets the price up so it wasn't a big deal. I also would have loved a mini fridge in the room (we love buying local produce rather than always eating out) but again I can see why there isn't one.

The breakfast is plentiful (breads/pastries/fruit/cold cuts/cheese; nothing hot) and we ate in the grassy courtyard beneath a lemon tree adjacent to a lemon grove. It appears to be a family-run hotel and the family members were always present: very smiling, happy, friendly and endlessly helpful with my many queries. There is no restaurant, but there are numerous restaurants nearby.

I absolutely loved Mignon and hope to visit Sorrento again and stay there.

Room Tip: The first floor gets noise from the breakfast room but front rooms have balconies. Upper rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful and very kind review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that make it a memorable holydays!

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Hotel Mignon on TripAdvisor.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hotel Mignon soon a near future!
Sincerely

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a great hotel. Clean and well located at a reasonable price. Good breakfast. Only two drawbacks as far as I could tell: 1) No elevator - this wasn't a problem for us at all. In some ways, if stairs/walking are difficult for you, Italy might not be the best place to travel. 2) Noise from the bar down the street. This was only apparent in our room on one night but for some in our group (we had 8 rooms in total) it was more bothersome. Perhaps if you are a very light sleeper, Friday and Saturday nights might be a problem. To offset this, the management and staff were absolutely terrific.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful and very kind review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that make it a memorable holydays!

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Hotel Mignon on TripAdvisor.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hotel Mignon soon a near future!
Sincerely

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at Hotel Mignon was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

Located in a quiet side street just off the main strip of Sorrento, the hotel is an easy walk to everything you want to visit in town, whether it’s the beach, restaurants or shops.

Our room was a good size with a firm and comfortable bed, and very quiet despite the central location – the double windows and shutters keep out any stray noise and light and make for a very good night's sleep. (The only downside was our room’s proximity to the breakfast area meant we were woken at 7am by some rather loud and less-than-considerate fellow guests, but I can’t fault the hotel for that.) Special mention goes to the great shower in our bathroom – having a bench to rest on was a bonus after walking around town all day.

The included breakfast was a generous spread of pastries, fruits and meats. Try to grab a table in the gorgeous garden, where you can have your morning espresso sitting under the lemon tree. Speaking of outdoor spaces, there's also a large roof terrace with great views across town.

But the thing that really made our stay there special was the staff, who were absolutely fantastic. Whether it was making bookings for us, offering advice on where to eat or what to see, or even just offering to keep our wine in the fridge, there was nothing they wouldn't do for us, and all of it with a huge smile.

If I’m ever lucky enough to find myself in Sorrento again, I’d stay at the Hotel Mignon in a minute – I can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful word on my staff,and on our service.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the blue decor. Great breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet street but close to shops. Nice common areas and courtyard with a lemon tree. Let us keep our wine and limoncello in their refrigerator.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Friendly staff, a clean, attractive interior and an excellent breakfast. I had a small comfortable single with a balcony. Pluses with this hotel are the double glazed windows and air conditioning which afford you a quiet night's sleep. The location is excellent - it is a few minutes walk to the shopping and restaurant area, and a 10 minute
walk to the train station and the Sita bus departure point. A local EAV bus to the port area can be boarded at Tasso square 5 minutes away. For anyone visiting Pompeii or Herculaneum, admittance is free for anyone over 65; our Canadian passports were accepted for free entry. A point of caution, this hotel is not suitable for people who would have problems with steps, as there is no elevator available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Loved the blue and white tile/décor of our comfortable room, as well as the outside garden patio surrounded by lemon trees.
Paolo at the front desk was our "go to" person, very helpful with directions, good restaurant tips, and sights to see. There also was a very friendly and helpful girl that worked the front desk but unfortunately didn't get her name. The two of them helped make our stay very enjoyable.
The hotel is well located - a short walk out the front door to shops and restaurants, and not too long a walk to the bus/train station as well as the ferry landing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were with another couple on different floors and different locations and neither of us had a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMignon, Direttore at Hotel Mignon, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the beautiful words that you spend for us.
Our philosophy is to make our guests feel at home,and it is a pleasure when we get.
The name of the girl is Enza.

Best regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Property: Hotel Mignon
Address: Via Antonino Sersale 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Meuble Hotel
Mignon Meuble Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing