We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!”
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel!”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week in Sorrento. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel in my opinion. We arrived, shattered after a not so nice flight. The hotel had left us a complementary plate of food each, meats, breads, cheese etc. We found all the other guests to be friendly and it was nice and quiet for sunbathing.

The free shuttle bus was brilliant (they had just invested in a brand spanking new bus towards the end of our week) it ran every hour and took us to the centre of Sorrento - although we did forget about the break for siesta from 12:30 - 5:30pm but as long as you remember this you should be okay, I think the last bus picked up at 11:30 in Sorrento but this was fine for us as we we're always shattered from long sunny days sight-seeing.

The hotel was extremely clean, we had a good size room and the hotel itself was very cosy and nicely decorated. The pool area was also very nice.

There was really nothing I could fault this hotel for I would definitely recommend it - although not to anybody wanting a wild time! But then you wouldn't go to Sorrento for that!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — a bit far out at mid-day without the shuttle bus
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballerina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    329
    106
    18
    17
See reviews for
204
587
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We only stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed much longer! The room, staff and view were exceptional. A free shuttle bus takes you into the main town of Sorrento, so getting to and from is so easy. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Liked — Great pool and view.
  • Disliked — the taxi ride we had to take there...we didn't know about the free shuttle so we paid a lot for a taxi ride as the hotel is a bit of a distance uphill from the train station.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shards02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Staff were VERY helpful and hard working. Food good. Room clean and well cared for tho air conditioning was sometimes inadequate. Fabulous view of the bay and Vesuvius (worth paying a supplement) nice pool area and restaurant. Would be better if free shuttle service ran pm but service bus stopped at the hotel too.

  • Liked — View and staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Misticaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I stayed 3 days with my wife in this hotel, and my only regret was not spending more days there. The rooms are very clean, beautifull and confortable, the view from the hotel (Located in a hill) in one of the most beautiful of the entire region, the atendents are very kind and helpfull.Its quite far from city town what is not a problem if you are by car, if you aren´t, there is a free shuttle service that works very well, every hour until 11:00 PM . Although it´s classified as 3 stars, for sure its level is 4 stars hotel, they need only to put minibars in the rooms .

  • Liked — View, rooms
  • Disliked — no minibar in room (Not a big problem as the bar still open all night)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HumbertoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We spent two wonderful weeks in Sorrento, Italy. Our stay at the Hotel Vue D'Or helped to make this holiday so enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thankfully it isn't a great big Hotel and even the guests were friendly and chatted at meal times.

The Hotel provides a shuttle bus into Sorrento - this was our only complaint as it finished at 12.30 noon and didn't run again until 5.30 pm. The local buses (SITA) run past the Hotel though and only cost 2 euros pp - these run throughout the day. You can walk from the Hotel down into Sorrento (30 minutes) - walking shoes recommended - not suitable for those with any mobility problems and maybe small children. Coming back up this walk in the heat is a killer and we preferred to get the bus.

You can also walk into St Agata (20 minutes) which is a small but very Italian little town.

Would advise anyone not to book any of the tours with Travel Company as getting around Sorrento and tourists spots is very easy. Boats to Capri etc. leave from Sorrento harbour on a regular basis and cost between 20 to 29 euros each. The SITA bus also goes to most of the tourist areas - Amalfi, Ravello. We used the open top (red) sightseeing bus to do the Amalfi drive - stopping at Amalfi, Minori and Miaro (10 euros pp) then from Amalfi to Ravello (a must see) - 6 euros pp. Journey from Sorrento to Amalfi takes about an hour but we spent the whole day going between each town.

The train is also cheap to use - 3 euros pp and as long as you take note of your station you can get to Pompei easily and cheaply. Travel company charged 44 euros pp for this tour and we still have to pay to get into Pompei - rip off.

Sorrento is bustling and very friendly. Most Italians speak very good English. Beer was quite expensive in bars etc. - 6 - 7 euros a pint. Can eat very reasonably though and food was lovely.

Food at the Hotel, although maybe not fancy or 5* was very good and we always had plenty to eat. Continental breakfast was always enjoyable and again plenty to eat. Was dissapointed there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room though.

Pool was clean and good size - it never got too busy. They also have sun terrace for true sun worshippers. Unlike many large Hotels in Italy, Hotel Vue D'Or did not charge for sun loungers.

Rooms were comfy and spotless - maids came in every day and towels were changed every day.

Would go back to this area and to this Hotel - the views were amazing. We didn't want to go home.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Evy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Whe staye in this hotl from 15-06 till 20-06.
Absolutely fabelous view this hotel have !!!!!!
The rooms are very clean en proper.
whe have had only breakfast, because there are a lot of very very good reataurants in and aroud Sorrento.
The staff is very friendly, they give us a very advice about the travelingtime to the airport to Naples.
But I can give you one advice !!!!, rent a car, because this hotel is above Sorrento ( great view) ,and you will see a lot more of the Amalficoast.
Hotel la Vue d'Or is a very nice hotel on a fantastic location.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Staff
  • Disliked — It's a none smokinghotel, but that is my problem !!! and not the hotel's problem
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank t_vos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Just returned from a weeks stay at La Vue D'Or Hotel in Sorrento, Italy, and we had a really great holiday.
The hotel is in a beautiful location about 15 minutes outside of Sorrento up the mountain side and it has fabulous views over the bay - with mount vesuvius straight in front of you.
The hotel itself is very clean and bright, we had a large room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and beyond that mountains - it was truly beautiful.
We had half board and we got to choose our table (which you keep for the whole week) - our table looked out on to a great mountain view.
There is a hotel mini bus that takes you back and forwards in to Sorrento every day, great service - but could do with more pick-ups in the afternoon ( one at 12.30, next one is not until 5.30), you can get a local bus up to hotel though.
All in all this is a really great hotel, very clean and tidy, staff are very very friendly and helpful, and it has fabulous views, this is a 3 star hotel with a 5 star feel.
This holiday was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — great hotel with fabulous views
  • Disliked — could do with more bus pick-ups in the afternoon
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Property: Hotel La Vue D'Or
Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing