We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhere in between !”
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Somewhere in between !”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel on a Riviera tour. Whilst I agree that the hotel is spotless, the staff very helpful and friendly I can't quite agree with the previous reviewers glowing comments.

The rooms are clean but quite dated. Our original room had a view mainly of a concrete wall but the staff did soon find us a better room. Our only slight gripe was there was a heating oil pipe running over ground below the balcony so there was often a strong waft of diesel.The balcony dividing walls are very low so there is no privacy from your neighbours.

The pool and reception areas are excellent. The dining room decor is also very pleasing.
Can't agree that the breakfast selection was great. The cereals were not great. No hot choice. The continental option was just ham and cheese. Some wonderful fresh Italian tomatoes would make all the difference. Tinned fruit too. Overall quite poor.

Dinner varied. The pasta options were generally very good. The rest was very hit and miss. Overall only average.

The location is good because of the view but quite restrictive for access to Sorrento. The courtesy bus does not run between 12:30 and 5 which is a shame. We caught the local bus back once but apparently the next two did not turn up and some fellow guests were charged 40 euros for the journey so beware! We took the shuttle into Sorrento for our last night and ate at the Foreigners club on the terrace with a table overlooking the bay. Wonderful!

Overall the hotel is very good. A few small changes could make it even better. I think it probably suits the older customer who is content to stay in the hotel every evening and not sample the atmosphere in Sorrento.

Just to say I think the previous comment about the hotel dog were a bit harsh. "Pele" is a stray that adopted the hotel about 14 years ago. He is very arthritic but the hotel feed him every day and bath him when he allows. I think the tick is actually a wart on his nose. He is obviously very content because we saw him sunbathing on the terrace most of the time we were there!

Room Tip: Rooms starting with a 5 should give you a side bay view without the cost of upgrading to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NottinghamKingston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    313
    101
    18
    16
See reviews for
180
552
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks here at the beginning of June.

La Vue D'or (Golden View) is a family run hotel and this benefits each guest as the personalised touch is given to each and every traveller - whether it be sharing the local knowledge, advice on which trips to take and exactly how to get there - to driving guests down into town with their own cars when the courtesy bus was out of action for one day (yes, just one day, despite what you may have read further down!) Nino drives the courtesy bus and he's a really nice man. He bid us good morning, good day or good night each and every time we got on or off of his bus :)

ALL staff at La Vue D'or are extremely warm, pleasant, efficient, kind and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them and if you had a question they were unsure of, they'd disappear to find an answer and come back within minutes with the information requested. Really, what more could you ask for when holidaying overseas??

The hotel is beautifully kept from the bright and spotless reception/bar area through to the terrace and pool area. The gardens are tended to daily (by the big boss, I think, LOL) and also look bright and beautiful. So welcoming as you come up the hill :)

The terraces get a lot of sun - from early morning until at least 5.30pm so sun worshippers will be happy! The pool is great - so chilly when you first dip in but after swimming a length, it's fantastic and just what's needed after the hot, hot sun. There's also a big adults only sun terrace on the next level up. There's a shaded part of the terrace too for those who aren't happy to sit directly in the sun whilst out there. This is where lots of guests were happy to have a drink (hot, cold, soft or alcohol) and something to eat during the day (ordered from the bar).

The dining room just looks so lovely. It's all decorate in creams and blues. It's a pretty big restaurant too! On the whole I did enjoy the food there but on a couple of occasions it wasn't up to par, I thought. Couple of times the portions were very small and I heard a few rumbles from unhappy guests about that. Thursday nights are music nights (and also have a semi-set menu) and a local musician called Vincenzo comes in to play his instrument and sing around the dining room. What a lovely man who appeared to really enjoy himself and enjoy interacting with the guests (came over to our table and he and my mum had a good sing-a-long together!) The waiters, Tony, Bartolo and Dominco (I don't know if I've spelt the last two correctly!) were absolutely charming and lovely. Extremely attentive, fun and made mealtimes a really happy experience.

Breakfast was buffet style and included tea, coffee, various fresh fruit juice, cereal, yoghurts, croissants, cake, toast (various breads) jam, fresh fruit, eggs and meat platters - do people really state there's no breakfast choice? Hahahaha!! You have to laugh, right? They're so caring that they also remembered from a previous visit that my mum is diabetic and put special diabetic/low sugar jam on our table every single morning.

We stayed in a sea view room with a balcony (with furniture). The rooms are quite basic - don't drop the soap in the shower because you'll have to get out to pick it up again as the cubicle is so small! Really good, powerful shower though. Lovely big bed (two pushed together, I think?) A little dressing table, alcove with a curtain across for the wardrobe and a room safe. For me, by far the best room feature was the air conditioning. LOVELY!

We had beautiful views from our room of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius, down into Sorrento and the mountains - the views go a long, long way! Loved sitting out on the balcony with a drink just soaking up the sun and the gorgeous views. On many an evening we watched firework displays from our balcony that were taking place around the area.

The other benefit of staying at La Vue D'or is being able to stay in Sorrento but come away from the hustle and bustle at the end of the day. It's a ten minute ride away in the courtesy from downtown and that's really special after a long, hot, busy day being a tourist!

To sum up: Wonderful, spotless hotel run and maintained by a welcoming and friendly family. Superb location with stunning views. Lovely dining room with equally lovely food. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Sorrento.

Not sure what's going on with that negative review down there because we stayed at the same time as this negative reviewer and our opinions couldn't differ any more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SamLouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've recently returned from another stay at the hotel and had a fantastic stay. Yet again the service, cleanliness, view etc were top notch. Breakfast is lovely, now with fresh fruit available as well as pastries, breads cheese, ham, salami, yoghurt etc etc. Dinner ( which you choose at breakfast) is good but not great however if there's nothing that you fancy they will always make you a salad. Sorrento itself is lovely and the courtesy bus down to the town is great. I'll definitely return one day !

Room Tip: Any room with a view is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CambridgeGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed recently at the La Vue D’or Hotel half board in the hills above Sorrento I have to say that we thought the views from our balcony were stunning down towards Sorrento and across the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius. The views at night were magical. By the main road we were some distance from the centre of Sorrento but as the hotel has a courtesy bus getting there and back presented no problem for us. Although the main road would be too dangerous to walk down for any great distance there are charming country lanes near to the hotel and one of them provides a reasonably direct route into Sorrento. Most lanes are quite steep in places but ideal for dawdling. For the most part when we were there,they were lined with cherry, apricot, orange and lemons trees already heavy with fruit. Without too many stops along the way it took us reasonably fit 70 year olds about 45 minutes to walk the route into the centre of Sorrento. The reception staff at the hotel were brilliant in their helpfulness and in describing routes that we could walk round and about It made our stay at this hotel very special. Our room was kept very clean by the room staff and well supplied in the bathroom department. The restaurant staff were delightful so cheerful and with a ready sense of humour that made us look forward to meal times. My wife was unwell for a couple of days during our stay and the restaurant manager and his staff went out of their way to make life easier for her. We were very grateful. The meals were OK like the curate’s egg… good in parts, a bit heavy on the cheese for me. The wine was reasonably priced and as a regular wine drinker I enjoyed it. We were made to feel very comfortable during our stay and as a result we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon194z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the LA VUE D`OR 4 weeks ago. We have been to stay many times & always look forward to going back.
The staff are all VERY helpful in deed very friendly family run hotel.
The dining room staff cannot do enough to make your evening meal pleasant for you.
The hotel is spotless everywhere a joy to stay in such a lovely place.
Almost everyone you speak to has been there before & would be returning like us yet again.
We had a sea .view & balcony fantastic views day & night.
I saw a person made negative remarks they must have been to a different hotel to the rest of us just read previous reviews.

Room Tip: room 161 sea view & balcony great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loverofsorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We wanted a holiday in the Sorrento area, so first found this hotel and then found a travel co. who went there - Thomson offered the most convenient flights for us, but that was about all!

We had 7 terrific nights there - really couldn't fault it. Currently I am on a fairly restrictive diet, they were SO helpful at adapting the menu and no extra charge what service! Have stayed at many more expensive hotels which did not offer anything like this standard of helpfulness, nor cleanliness - the place is spotless!

We used local transport to get about and saved ourselves literally hundreds of euros compared to taking Thomson excursions - worth bearing in mind. We just took the shuttle bus down to town and went onwards from there to Capri, Naples, Amalfi, Potistano and Ravello as well as Ercolano..

We also booked one day's mini cruise through the hotel which again was great.

We can also recommend their house wine as being good value. Italy is expensive for coffees and ice creams etc., but the hotel was average pricing for the area. Have to admit to buying some water etc. at a supermarket though!

We certainly hope to return it was so good

Room Tip: We were glad not to have a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Have just returned from a 7-night stay at the La Vue D’Or. Booked on a half board basis with Thomas Cook.

The Hotel

Pros

• This is a fantastic hotel at which to stay if you want a quiet, relaxing, holiday, with beautiful views down to Sorrento and the Bay of Naples.
• Rooms are spacious and kept beautifully clean, with fresh towels every day and bedding changed twice during out stay. Cleanliness cannot be faulted, and beds were very comfortable.
• Breakfast was varied and plentiful, with lots of fresh fruit (tinned also available), along with the usual continental affair to set you up for the day.
• Evening meals were always tasty. Our favorite course was always the starter (the local pasta dishes, especially the lasagne, were fantastic).
• The staff, particularly the waiters, were helpful, charming and efficient.
• The free bus shuttle to Sorrento was very handy, and always punctual. The driver wasn’t particularly jolly, but nor would I be if I had to repeat the same journey multiple times a day, every day of the week.
• The pool area was lovely, with more than enough (rather posh) sunbeds. The pool itself was unheated, but was warm enough for a swim on hot days when it heated up in the sun.

Cons

• Being placed where it is, away from any local amenities such as a supermarket, restaurant or shop, your only choice, unless you are out and about for the day, is to eat and drink in the hotel, which adds up quickly - 5 euros for a plate of chips, and 2 euros 50 for a small beer being prime examples of the level of charges. This didn’t detract from our overall enjoyment, but something to consider when budgeting for your holiday. Italy is an expensive place!
• Wouldn’t recommend this hotel for families with children, especially teenagers, as apart from the pool, there is nothing for them to do. The vast majority of guests are mature couples (50 plus). If they like to relax though (as my 18 year old daughter did after her exams) this hotel is perfect.

Sorrento as a destination

• Sorrento is a busy little place, but the location of the hotel allows you to escape all the hustle and bustle.
• The trips with Thomas Cook are overpriced, and be arranged much cheaper independently. Public transport, particularly the trains to Pompeii and Herculaneum, are not as scary as you would perceive and excellent value. We did the Herculaneum trip for less than 40 euros between the three of us including admission, compared to a minimum of 120 euros for an equivalent coach trip with Thomas Cook.

All in all, a lovely holiday. I’m sure I’ll be returning to Italy in the not-so-distant future.

Room Tip: Our room, 655, had a lovely view of the valley, with the Bay of Naples in the distance. The better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muzzaEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Badia
Hotel La Badia
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Property: Hotel La Vue D'Or
Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing