We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff and a great place to chill out after a busy day.”
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff and a great place to chill out after a busy day.”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We spent 2 weeks here following a good deal of research via Trip Advisor. All the previous reviews are pretty accurate. The hotel is way out of Sorrento, nestled in the hills near St Agata. There is great hotel bus which mostly operates hourly except for siesta time when there is a big gap to get back to hotel between 12.30 and 17.30. The local bus drops you at the hotel and is a half hourly service. Time tables are available at the hotel and the Foreigners Club which is a good bar/restaurant with the best views over the bay and reasonable prices. The train and bus station are situated together in Sorrento and are easy to negotiate to get to Pompei etc. Don't do the Thomson trips unless you want to get ripped off. All the places that they sell trips for are EASILY obtainable yourself. The ferry over to Capri takes 20 minutes and they sail back and forth all day. Once over there go up the funicular line to the next level and then sit in a bar, settle down and do some serious people watching ! Designer people, designer shops, designer prices but gives you a taste of the good life and where you will go when you win the lottery! (if only). You can then get the bus to Anacapri and go on the chair lift. This is a must!. Fantastic views. The hotel itself is nice, the staff more than make up for any downfalls. The two waiters Bartolo and Domenico are truly magic and are like a comedy act. All the staff are great and nothing is any trouble. Our room was clean and basic, and air conditioning was working. Fan in bathroom wasn't and shower tray leaked a bit but just a minor moan. Ladies don't take a hairdryer because the hotel dryers are really powerful 1800 watts. Saves in baggage! The breakfasts were good, it is all continental and plenty of it. We were half board and dinners were mostly okay, it was a bit repetative if you are there for 2 weeks but they were fine. There is no entertainment or anything in the hotel in the evenings but we found that because it is a small hotel, people got chatting on the terrace and had a good laugh together, swapping ideas about where to go etc. The pool is fine and the area clean and well kept.
Initially when we were getting dropped off by the Thomson bus and I saw how far away from Sorrento the hotel was I thought we had made a mistake coming to it, but actually it is a great spot with wonderful views over the Bay of Naples and to Vesuvius and of course we saw some fantastic sunsets every night. So all in all I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice quiet place to return to after a busy day gallavanting around the area. The last hotel bus is at 11.30 but for any late night partygoers there are late night service buses. A taxi up from the town was approx 24 euros. Italy appeared to be much more expensive this year and we spent a lot on drinks etc. Beer between 5-7 euros and check out cover charges before you venture into any bars etc. Some places charge 4 euros a person and thats before you have even had a drink!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    320
    105
    18
    16
See reviews for
186
568
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

La Vue d'Or is a gem, in my opinion. We stayed there for two nights in May, 2009 and really enjoyed it. The views from our room were spectacular and the shuttle bus into Sorrento was convenient and easy and certainly saved us driving down the hill and trying to find parking. The staff could not have been more helpful and the service was great. The only two glitches (both minor) were that the shower in our bathroom seemed to spray water all over the floor when we used it and one of the meals I had (veal in a lemon cream sauce) wasn't very good. The other meals were fine though and I cannot wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We are a middle aged couple from Ireland and this hotel exceeded our expectations - the hotel foyer, the friendliness of the staff, view from the hotel, the hotel room, the pool area. The value for money was excellent. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet location but still able to get into Sorrento thanks to the complimentary bus.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My husband and I found this hotel at the last minute and we loved it. It is up on the side of a hill and the views were breathtaking. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skelley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Don't be scared off by the distance of the hotel. For the price, quality of service and friendliness of staff, the distance is definitely worth it. Plus, the hotel has a convenient, complimentary shuttle that takes you down the mountain to Sorrento and back home. The best part was the exquisite view from the rooms and pool deck.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNNY_TOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the Vue d'or to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. The hotel was immaculate and service excellent. Being 6km above Sorrento meant we had stunning views and peace at night. It was so easy to get into Sorrento by the hotel courtesy bus or local bus during their 'siesta'!
Our room was big and airy with a view to die for. The bed extremely comfortable and spotless. Shame the air conditioning couldn't have been put on according to weather (30+ degrees)rather than date (the week after we left!)
The only other gripe was that the food did not match the standard of accomodation ie. tinned fruit and instant coffee at breakfast (we were in Italy after all!)
We would certainly go back though, and reccommend walkig to Sant Agata (15mins) for gorgeous pizza at Buenes Aires) and much cheaper food and drink.
Overall a brilliant holiday with amazing scenery

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marg-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We visited Sorrento in Oct 2008 (The start of the low season) after booking through a travel Agent 6-8 weeks beforehand. Weather was excellent for the time of year. Included in our deal was a room with a balcony with the most STUNNING uninterrupted view of Mount Vesuvius ever across the bay of Naples only added to by the coming and going of various Cruise Ships in the Bay. These views are only available for about 4 small rooms over the entrance of the Hotel. But also viewable from other sections of the Hotel. The Hotel was very clean and we found the staff at all times friendly and helpful.

Meals where the biggest gripe of some of the guests and a bit bland every night the same Salad items where available -1st course usually a choice of soup+pasta + 1other. We found main courses repetative and not too inspiring.All food had to be ordered at Breakfast. Choice of three main courses-Veal seemed to feature largely on menu sometimes disguised in meatballs etc. some fish in menu. Sweets where ice cream/
fruit + 1 other item. Having said that the situation overlooking the Bay of Naples for the right customers (see later) made up for this shortcoming. If the food where better I would give the Hotel an excellent rating. Pool looked inviting although we did not take up the offer (Hotels towels where not to be used for the Pool and we didnt take our own.)

The Hotel is some 15 Min drive from Town with a convenient pick up and set down point. The Hotels free shuttle bus started at about 8.15 and ran hourly, leaving the hotel and then returning from Town about 15 mins later with the guest who wanted to return. The service stopped around 2.15 and recommenced at 5.15 from the Hotel (5.30 from the town) this did on one occasion lead to a very full bus with about 10 standing. Everyone tended to want to catch this bus after a day out to return to the Hotel in time for the evening meal. As we are not night hawks the 11.30 last bus (which needed to be booked as the week before we believe no one had used the service- maybe this is used more in high season) was not inconvienient for us and we did not have to empty our pockets to the local Taxi owners.

General Travel
The Tour company ran trips which generally could be purchased for far less money elsewhere without of course the convenience of door to door service or tour guide. The local bus was convenient (50 m downhill for the bus stop) cheap 2 euros for any journey including the town when the hotels bus was not running or 6euros for 24 hour tickets purchasable from the hotel/any Tabachhi. We had experience of a number of bus runs visiting such places as Amalfi (recommended) we had to stand quite often as well and presumably in the hight of summer this would be tiresome as Amalfi is 90 min away. A quick warning -being driven in this area is not for the faint hearted almost all the cars are small (to negotiate the twisty roads) and come with a number of dents and scrapes which do not seem to get mended! One day we tried to work out how many cars had scrapes along ONE side against those with none- we gave up counting after 30 in a row with scrapes/dents and none without. Motorists tend to overtake in what would be considered a suicide mission on most roads until you get your head around the fact that the car/bus/motorcycle being overtaken should give way and allow the overtaking car back in (there are signs explaining this). We did not see an accident despite the random nature of Italian driving we where told that signs etc where only a suggestion as to what should happen. Enough of driving/ busses. The Trains are a great way of getting around we visited Herculanuem /Vesuvious/Pompeii this way each trip was under 4 euros each plus of course the entry fee. The both H and P are walkable from the relative Station.

In summary we enjoyed our trip but disappointed with food. Would suggest that the Hotel is suitable for couples, Ok for infirm. Lack of entertainment a real problem unless you are prepared to leave the hotel and go in town. Families again little to do in evening/during the day unless in the small Pool all day Not suited to young people seeking nightlife as a Taxi ride is very expensive after the hotels free bus stops.

  • Liked — Views cleanliness
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank glassmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Property: Hotel La Vue D'Or
Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing