We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and friendly owner and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning views and friendly owner and staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stunning views,great location cause Sorrento is just short drive,the bus is just outside the hotel.Friendly owner,gave us a lift to Sorrento.You can buy wine at the hotel(good value)and enjoy the view or relax at the swimming pool.Staff knew what they are doing,would come back:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsmitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    147
    57
    15
    19
See reviews for
126
211
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Whilst this may not be the most palatial hotel you'll ever visit I guarantee that you will never enjoy better views from the generous terraces that are the feature of all of the rooms that in fact are more like mini appartments than hotel rooms.
They come complete with self catering facilities so if you want a change from dining out you can knock up a quick meze open a bottle of chilled plonk from you're fridge and marvel at the views of the whole of the bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvius as the backdrop.
The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the ever cheerful houskeeping staff who also provide clean towelling daily and even wash the pots if you've used them!
Dining isn't available on site but there are loads of good restaurants locally especially once you find the hidden pathways that mean you can walk into the centre of nearby St Agata just 15mins away. Breakfast is provided on a buffet basis and is typical of the continent and always plentiful.
Although the Hotel is about 7km from the centre of Sorrento there is bus stop directly outside the reception and a decent amount of parking if you've hired a car.
The owner is Antonio an ever present and always on hand to advise and assist without coming across as one of those pushy salesman types you often encounter at big resort hotels. This is a small premises with only 25 units so won't particularly suit the party crowd but if you want a great value base from which to explore the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast or relax by the pool in tranquil but spectacular suroundings then Le Terrazze is the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 22 has amassive terrace and opens directly onto the pool. Only rooms 9 and 11 have small terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The view is the major selling point of Le Terrazze. It's definitely an out of the way location (about a 20 minute drive into Sorrento) if you don't have a car. The bus does stop right out front of the hotel, but it's not very reliable (several times we couldn't get on because it was full and it was rarely on time). Taxi prices are outrageous.

The breakfast had great selection, but unfortunately the coffee was terrible. Le Terrazze recommends a couple of restaurants that will come and pick you up for dinner at no charge. Both had decent food. You can also get a snack like bruschetta or chips from the pool bar, but not a lot of other meal options nearby.

Our room was plain and a little outdated, but fairly clean and comfortable with a nice patio and a small kitchenette. Couple complaints: the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor everytime we used it, so we had to get a bunch of fresh towels everyday. The wifi didn't work in our room (maybe because we were on the bottom floor, farthest away?), but it worked okay on the patio.

The terrace and breakfast area are great because there is plenty of space to lounge around to eat, have a glass of wine, or enjoy the view. :)

Overall, it was a decent place to stay with the best view, we'd just get a car next time.

I should also mention Giusy at the front desk was very helpful! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in an 'apartment' type room with two double bedrooms with a/c, separated by a bathroom and kitchen area with kettle, fridge, hotplates and basic kitchen stuff. I completely agree with other reviewers about the view, the service and the breakfast - all excellent.. The area is quite quiet at night although the local cockerels start up early, closely followed by some annoying dogs.
It's quite easy to find - as long as you take the left fork to Sant Agata as you leave Sorrento - I didn't and spent about an hour doing a circuit of the peninsula!
It was early September and the weather changed a bit during the week so that it became pretty chilly in the evening - the sun disappears from the terraces and pool about 4pm. We needed long sleeves on to sit outside.
The question is - do you need a car? Well, there is no restaurant onsite and there is nothing within practical walking distance, especially at night - the roads are unlit and no walkways. You can arrange to get picked up by one or two local restaurants, but the nearest shops are a couple of miles away. There are bus stops right outside the hotel but as previously mentioned, the timetables are more aspirational than factual. At peak times the bus didn't stop at all as it was full (both directions)
If you can cope with the buses, a car is not essential. We did have a car and for 3 people it was cheaper and more convenient to drive into Sorrento. There's a big car park on the right as you come into the town by the old city walls and an easy walk from there into town.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I was glad that we elected to stay here, rather than in Sorrento itself.

Room Tip: Our apartment style room was on a lower level so the view was slightly obscured by the trees. Not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We liked just about everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing with all kinds pastries, juice, coffee, hard-boiled eggs, fruit. What a spread. The view was the most spectacular of all the places we stayed on the Amalfi Coast. The swimming pool was sparkling clean and a nice touch for a hot day. The room was of adequate size, but you spend most of your time out on the balcony anyway.
This is not the property's fault, but the bus service in Sorrento, coming and going to the property, was abysmal. Don't worry about reading the time schedules as they are meaningless. We spent way too much time looking for on-time bus transportation and most times the Sita busses had standing room only if they showed up at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I will again say that the view from this hotel is AMAZING! Breathtaking and worth the trip once your here!
The rooms, though old fashioned and limited with facilities (no kettle/fridge) are clean and do come equipped with a flat screen tv and A/C.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful! And they offer a free driving service to a partner restaurant a few km's up the road! However other than that it's driving around and or busses to get around the moutain or back into sorrento for food/shopping. (us, having no car found it a bit out of the way) so if you are driving don't let anything stop you from staying amongst the sights of sorrento at Le Terrazze! Just have a way to get around!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tengohambre_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like most people say the view from Le Terrazze is magnificent with an almost aerial view of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Antonio and his staff are friendly and helpful, the pool is lovely and very welcome in the constant 90+ heat and the breakfast is plentiful (terrible tea and coffee though!).
However I have had to take off 1 star because the room we had was a standard with no facilities to make tea/coffee and no fridge, a tiny balcony overlooking scrubland and when you are paying around £87 per night you do expect a higher standard than this.
I have to say though that everything else was above average.

Room Tip: pay a little more for an apartment and you will love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Terrazze

Property: Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Address: Via Nastro Verde 98, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Terrazze 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Terrazze Sorrento
Residence Le Terrazze Hotel
Le Terrazze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing