We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This small hotel is approached through an archway of orange and lemon trees and stands in a wonderful elevated position overlooking the Bay of Naples. The roof terrace and balconies afford far reaching views and all day sun culminating in the most beautiful sunsets. Maria and her staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful (particularly Elio) and the breakfasts of delicious freshly baked cakes and savouries were amazing. We walked everywhere but for those with limited mobility, some of the local restaurants provide a free taxi service arranged with the hotel. There is a regular bus service from the bottom of the hill - 5-10 minutes walk. This was an excellent base for visiting Capri, Pompeii and the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CirencesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Villa Oriana Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We chose Villa Oriana Relais for a three day break in early April as it was so highly recommended on trip advisor.From the moment we walked up the beautiful lemon tree lined avenue we knew we had made a great choice.We were given a lovely welcome and made to feel very much at home by every member of the family.The breakfasts were superb with wonderful home baking straight from oven to table. We would highly recommend Villa Oriana Relais to couples ,families or single travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We are a family of 4 and have just stayed 5 nights at Villa Oriana. We were given the apartment just outside the driveway of the actual Villas Oriana. It was very spacious and had a wonderfully sunny terrace (complete with affectionate cat) but a little dark inside (ground floor of a 3 floor building).
The location means it's a bit of trek into town - 20 mins walk (and back up a steep hill) - but it's lovely and peaceful away from the bustle of Sorrento and its constant traffic. Several restaurants offer a pick-up service - Da Fillipo was the one we enjoyed the most, packed with locals late on a Saturday night.
The biggest plus was the friendliness and service of the team at the Villa - Pasquale was particularly helpful....and his aunt even drove us to a restaurant herself when the pick-up was delayed. Breakfasts were great, if a little heavy on the cake for a muesli man like myself.
Lots of things to do nearby. Pompeii, Ercolano, Vesuvius and several lesser known Roman Villas (Oplontis, Stabia) as well as Sorrento itself. Kids (13 and 8 yrs) thoroughly enjoyed themselves....even with the overdose of antiquity.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My boyfriend planned the weekend away in Sorrento (planning to propose to me in Capri that weekend) and without knowing this, I was expecting a typical B&B or youth hostel- but I was in for an amazing surprise. We arrived and walked up this beautifully lit path through the lemon trees to the villa, where we were greeted like long-lost family by Maria who welcomed us with complementary home made lemonade and limoncello, before showing us to our gorgeous room with a balcony overlooking Sorrento and the ocean. It was a great place from which to go to Capri, Positano, Pompeii and Heraculanium.

Although a little way back up the hill, (which might make it difficult for people who can't walk well and haven't hired a car) we enjoyed the walking and were given a lift into town on occasion by the staff and the serenity of the place and the view made it preferable to the town centre. My fiance also made the right call taking me there, considering the home-made breakfast spread, including a wide selection of cakes, to start the day!

I would definitely go back and recommend it highly to others, especially couples looking for a special weekend. I've done my fair share of travelling, and the staff were the most welcoming I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kben7063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Although it is not in Sorrento proper, that may be a positive for some. True, it is farther away to get to sites of interest. However, parking is free, and the views of the Mediterranean are outstanding. The lemon and orange groves were lovely as well. Service was excellent, and the freshly baked cakes each morning were a nice treat. Rooms were large by European standards. Should we go back to Sorrento, we would definitely stay there again. We've been recommending it to friends and family already.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35,201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed at Villa Oriana for 4 nights end of March. We had no idea where to position ourselves, thought of larger hotel chains but gave this B & B a try. We are so relieved that we chose this place!!!!it is simply stunning amongst the lemon and orange groves on the hill. The view is just stunning over the sea. The breakfast was so delicious and Maria taught me how to cook her famous quiche aswell as chocolate cake. The freshly squeezed orange juice and proper real tomatoes on freshly made foccacia each day was a highlite. The rooms are lovely and airy and we had the best night sleep. The staff were more than helpful and the courtesy bus down to dinner each night saved alot of money. Sorrento is one of the nicest bays also and is only a short drive from Positano and all the other tourist destinations. I would not hesitate recommending this place to travellers from all walks of life - Jane and Ben Cleary , London

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank posse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Although the location of the Villa was a little difficult to find even with a GPS, the secluded area actually offered a very good view of the bay of Naples.

We were welcomed to the villa with a row thick lush of lemon trees, which is a refreshing start for our stay in Sorrento

We are staying in one of their quad rooms with private bath. The room is rather spacious for a quad.

But the most unforgettable thing about Villa Oriana was the breakfast. Throughout our 15 days trip, never have we come across a breakfast spread as amazing as the one Maria (the owner) has to offer. We were treated to different pastries and food everyday for the 2 days we stayed there. We were offered the romantic ocean view while we enjoyed our breakfast.

The experience in Villa Oriana is definitely worth every cent and we will recommend all to experience it yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starbucku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing