We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely break - well worth experiencing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“A lovely break - well worth experiencing”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed at Villa Oriana in March, and had a lovely time.

Sorrento itself is easily accessible from Naples airport, the bus costs just E10 and the coastal view en-route is just incredible. The hotel is actually nearer St Agnello station, which is where I got down, and took a cab to Villa for another E10 - which was a total rip-off given that it is just an 8 minute walk to the Villa. However, the side strreet leading to the villa can be easiy missed if you don't know what you're looking for - it is apparently marked out by a large tree, but as you can imagine, there are plenty of tall trees in Sorrento! The route to the villa is also very steep indeed so you would not want to climb up this with luggage.

Once you enter the grounds, it feels like you are in a different world, one where orange and lemon groves line your pathway! The villa itself is lovely, Elio and Maria are very welcoming indeed and settled me down with lemonade and chocolate cake before humouring my poor attempts at Italiano. My room was on the lowest floor, was simply but smatrly furnished, and had a lovely terrace area, which again was surrounded by orange trees...I enjoyed the splendid isolation! As well as the room and safe keys, you are provided with a key to the grounds and villa main door so you can come and go as you please, which was perfect for me.The room itself had a comapct bathroom with a hairdryer, and there was an empty fridge in the room.

I was limited in what I ciould have for breakfast, but Maria accomodated my needs on more than one occasion with her delicious home-made foccacia, there was also a wide range of cakes and quihes available very morning, along with freshly squeezed orange juice. It's not what you would usually have for breakfast, but the fruitbowl was overflowing with incredible local produce - including giant kiwis - and I was happy with this meal. Mreaia and Elio were very helpful indeed, there was a computer available for internet access, and nothing was too much trouble. I was ready to walk to the station on the way back, but Maria and Elio gently but firmly insisted they take me by car, which was a very kind gesture. Frpom what I could see, they often gave guests lifts into Sorrento (a 20-min walk away), and free trensport to and from the hotel had been pre-agreed with a list of recommended restaurants.

The only negatives about this place is the combination if not serving evening meals, along with the steep hill back to the villa. A steep climb is not what you want after a busy day of sightseeing, and it meant that I had to plan my day to have an early dinner before coming back to he villa, as I didn't want to walk back tioo late (the last 75m stretch of the hill is unlit and hence picth dark post-sunset, although very safe when compared with London!).I couldn't recommend this place to elderly or diabled travellers, unless they have a car (parking is free on site, unlike the rest of Sorrento!) in which case it is easy to access.

All in all I had a wonderful stay in Sorrento, and can see exactly why people are raving about this place, the combination of location, accomodation and hospitality is well worth experiencing. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, particularly if I were driving in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I-veritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    124
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
247
495
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We booked to stay here for a relaxing few days after a busy time sightseeing in Rome, and we were looking forward to celebrating our engagement. Like other reviewers, we were greeted with freshly made lemonade served on the terrace and were then informed that due to a "problem with the booking system" we didn't have a room here for the first night. We were moved to the Hotel Cristina down the road, the room was small, dark and located next to the restaurant and pool. As it was only for one night and we were promised a wonderful room at the Oriana, we put up with it.
When returning to the Oriana the next afternoon, we were shown to our room. It was located downstairs and was a lot smaller than we had expected. We queried this with the owner as we had booked a deluxe room but were informed that all of the rooms were 'deluxe'. After some discussion, he suggested moving us the next day to the separate villa which was located a few metres up the road. It was nice with a living room as well as large bedroom and bathroom.
Overall, we did enjoy our stay here as it was peaceful, had lovely views, great breakfasts, fab roof terrace with jacuzzi and friendly staff. However, the overbooking did spoil the start of the stay and although the staff did rectify the situation and were apologetic about it, we couldn't help but feel that this wasn't a genuine problem and was of their own doing after reading previous reviews that this has happened to other people staying here. It seems too much of a coincidence - they can't have had that many problems with the booking system!
If it hadn't been for this, we would have fully recommended this hotel. It is located on the border of Sorrento and St Agnello, 30 minutes walk from the main square in Sorrento -, there are buses into town from the bottom of the hill but they can be sporadic. Taxis are 15-20 euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Besides the good location, the perfect cleanliness, the wonderfull homemade breakfast, and the amazing homemade limoncello, Villa Oriana made us feel like home. The staff is absolutelly adorable and makes all efforts to please and help the guests. A fantastic place to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiogoFerraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Upon arrival, following the less than glamorous train from Naples we were driven (5 minutes from train station) to a gate and dropped off. We walked through a lemon grove and were greeted by Elio's warm, gracious personality and presented with fresh lemonade and delicious cake. The place is spectcular, up on a hill, peaceful, quiet. The room was great, fabulous internet (why cant five star hotels figure this out?), and a true feeling that you are guests in very familiar home. Marias cooking is phenomenal and my 10 year old daughter proclaimed the BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE ever - and if that wasnt enough Maria baked custom nutella biscotti for the next day. Worldwide, there might be an equal place in the hospitality field, but there surely is no better......only deficit is travelling to amalfi coast from sorrento is less than perfect...but more than offset by being here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefsackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed four nights at this hotel in June 2011. We like Italy, the place and the people and this hotel reflected all that we find great about Italy. The rooms were very clean and tidy, the view from the roof and breakfast terrace is excellent and the setting is very relaxing, which is a welcome feature in the busy town of Sorrento. Breakfast is very good with home cooked food of a high standard. Best of all, the owners and staff, it really is like staying with family or friends, a fantastic welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Elio made every effort to make our stay a good one and drove us to the local station when we left without being asked. Just one point we would make this hotel can be a bit tricky to find initially, so a taxi in may be a good idea although be knowledgeable about the cost, in the Hotel they say 14 euro’s from the main square in Sorrento plus bags at 1 euro each. We were asked for 25 Euro, but haggled down to 20 Euro! Be informed. Finally this hotel is well worth finding and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it or to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Good location, best view,lemon trees around you, fresh and delisous food,friendly people and handsome guy. All my best memories leave with this villa,I love it ,and would back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliviar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in Villa Oriana Relais for a week from 15 - 22 June and having read some of the great reviews before booking were hopeful that it would be a good choice. As it turned out, our expectations were exceeded and in the very lovely Maria we found a host who seems to genuinely love what she does in making your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. She is ably assited by Ellio and Camilla also, and nothing ever seemed too much bother. This is my first time to leave a review for anywhere, and it has all been said in the other reviews here, but we really can't recommend this place enough. Thanks for a great time and we genuinely hope to be back.
Young Irish Couple

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jarly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing