We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Days in Sorrento”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

You are paying for the view here bed was very uncomfortable, definitely old on an old wooden frame. Cupboard in the room must have come from grandma very old, night tables again from grandma. Shower in the bathroom was small and lot of mold in the grout of the tiles.
House is very noisy being built of brick you hear every foot step above you and if your room is next to the stairwell or people come in late at night.
We were there four nights and did not sleep well as the mattress is of very poor quality.

Definitely overpriced at Euro 260.-- per night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisscdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasqualedesposito, Owner at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Good day, Sir!
Thanks for Your review! We appreciate You stayed with us in Villa Oriana!
The furnishing in Villa Oriana is antique-the beginning of 19th century. We checked on the matrasses of the beds and substituded them to the new ones.
As You can see from the other reviews evrybody underlines the cleaness of the rooms and the other facilities. We are really sorry you found something not very clean in your bathroom-we will definitely check on it and make sure it is always in the best condition.
Talking about the price- we offer the best service of breakfast, reception service, jacuzzi and solarium functioning on the roof, piecefull environment, loads of special services and 6 person working for 6 rooms to make sure all needs of our guest are fully met.
On behalf of all Villa Oriana family and stuff, we kindly ask You to come back again and we will make sure to do our best to make your stay more pleasant and enjoyable! Benvenuto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
249
498
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The service and food here was absolutely amazing. One of the friendlist staffs I have ever had. The rooms and the grounds overall were very clean and views are stunning. The only aspect that was not perfect for us was the location. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood that is a 30+ minute walk or a 10 minute cab ride from Sorento. This might be exactly what you are looking for, but we had come to explore Sorento via train and the back and forth was inconvenient for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Beautiful hillside location with view over the bay of Naples, lovely owners, best homemade fresh breakfast we had in Italy (home-squeezed juice, homebaked cakes and quiche, local cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt) served on the terrace looking out to sea. Room was clean spacious and airy in the typical southern Italian style with a wide comfortable bed. Car parking is free, secure and on-site (in the gorgeous lemon-tree lined drive). A great find!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frederique l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The place was really magical and the views of the sea are breathtaking, specially the sunset .The breakfast with the homemade pies , cakes and marmalades were amazing . And let's not forget Giuseppe's freshly squeezed orange juice .Everything was just like a dream .We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to come back next summer . Thank you for everything !!! Florina & Gianni

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After an intensive conference day we really looked forward to get back to the hotel and feel the silent, look at the beautiful view and meet the friendly staff. And the breakfast was fantastic, the opening time was to badly a little bit to late for business people due.

Room Tip: The rooms att the bottom was not with a view, but a nice place out doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Villa Oriana is a beautiful place to stay. We were welcomed on the balcony with fresh juice and home made cake and gazed out at the amazing view of the Bay of Naples, excited to begin 5 magical days staying here. Wonderful large room with balcony and another glimpse of the bay. Elio, Maria, Carmela and Pepe made us feel like family staying. So much to love here, great location, great service, stunning view and Maria's wonderful home prepared breakfasts. Pleasant walk into Sorrento but we also took advantage of the great restaurants that picked us up and dropped us home again, (Vela Bianca & Da Filippo..went there twice!). Highly recommend Villa Oriana and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I travel a great deal and most hotels fall somewhere in the middle range when it comes to overall quality. So I rarely bother to write reviews. For me, it’s always about service! Most hotels nowadays have ratings based on measurable. So if it says ‘four-star’ for example, then you pretty much know what you’re going to get. What differentiates hotels for me is service and at Villa Oriana Relais, that’s what you get; people who care about the client.
Set in a lemon grove in the hills overlooking coast with spectacular views, Villa Oriana Relais is a perfect location for a family holiday. The ‘five minute walk’ to the heart of the town they claim on their website is stretching it a bit. It may be five minutes going down the hill (and this is a hill) it is much more coming back. We had a car (recommended) so this was not an issue for us and the hotel offer a collection and delivery service to local restaurants and tours. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned, with good wi-fi and very well appointed and spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. The breakfasts are amazing with a generous selection of homemade cakes which made my children (17 and 15) very happy. The freshly squeezed orange juice, fruits, real coffee and homemade marmalades and jams, hams and quiches kept us happy too.
When we arrived we expected the room (a quadruple room) to be exactly the size it was on the page displayed on the website when booking. It was not! It was a double room (albeit a big double room) with two extra beds put in. My wife was unhappy with this and complained. Our dissatisfaction clearly upset the staff and they set about rectifying the situation. They immediately moved us to a larger room which was still not the one on the website but bigger as that particular room was taken. When my wife said she was still unhappy they offered to move us the minute the room was free which was on the fourth night of seven that we were staying. In the meantime, they love bombed us with complimentary coffees and minerals and worked very hard to make up for our disappointment at the size of the room.
I don’t mind mistakes as they happen. For me, when people work that hard to rectify them, I can forgive almost anything. I would recommend the Villa Oriana Relais because the owners and staff demonstrate old fashioned customer care. It’s not phoney, it’s real. It’s not cheap but then nowhere in Sorrento is. It is, in my opinion, worth the money!

Room Tip: If you are booking a quadruple room - specify that you want the one displayed on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benmeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,062 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing