We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfect Friendly Oasis"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Oriana Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Perfect Friendly Oasis"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Villa Oriana Relais is located high above the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. From the moment you pass along the lemon tree lined driveway you enter a very scenic and peaceful oasis. The great views, excellent breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful staff made our four days here a highlight of our travels in Italy.

The staff were exceptional and even organised an appointment with a local medical specialist at short notice.

The 20 minute or so walk down into Sorrento (and of course the walk back up) might be a problem for some travellers but it didn't bother us even though we are now somewhat in the mature category. The walk can be considerably shortened by taking the steep path to the main road which commences a little way down the driveway immediately adjacent to Villa Oriana Relais.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTravellers03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    122
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
234
484
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Villa Oriana Relais is a little bit of paradise after a long steep climb. Like all properties in the Sorrento area accessing them requires a bit of a climb or a short taxi ride. Having said that, it is well worth whichever you choose. The staff are delightful and so helpful, no matter what time of day or night you arrive. The rooms are luxurious, so large and airy with balconies and a very large bathrrom. Maria, the owner, gets up early every morning and bakes scrumptious treats for breakfast. The lemon cake or cheesecake is to die for. The smells of cakes cooking waft through the building and call you to breakfast. Leaving after only three nights I felt as if we were leaving family. I must add that as you enterthe property from the road you pass through an avenue of lemon trees. It truely is paradise. One of the girls even drove us to the local train station when we were leaving, and walked us up to the platform. I'm sure you can't remember the last time you experienced something like that. You would be a fool to overlook this property. Yes it is a 20-30 minute walk into Sorrento, but it is an easy walk. Yes you need to be prepared to return by walking up steep roads or paying 15 euro for a taxi but honestly nothing in Sorrento is on flat ground. Do yourself a favor and book yourself in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the villa Oriana. It had beautiful views and the location was close to Sorrento. It was like staying in a small private estate and it was quiet at night.

The only thing we would recommend is a rental car as the hotel is a very far walk to the town of Sorrento along a small twisty road, all uphill on the way back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Sorrento where we spent 4 nights at villa Oriana Relais.
It rained for our entire stay but this didn't hide the natural and breath-taking beauty of the region.
We entered the villa through its garden ,covered in lemon trees with the smell of orange blossom in the air! We were warmly welcomed with home baked cake and lemonade. Our room was spacious and very clean/comfortable with an outdoor space to admire the views. Breakfast each morning was a culinary delight with Maria's freshly baked cakes and savoury tarts, Italian ham and mozzarella cheese, but the thing we will remember most was the warm hospitality of Maria and all of her staff, so friendly and helpful. It was close to the main town of Sorrento with its charming character, restaurants and shops. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights at Villa Oriana, and it was an absolutely gorgeous place to stay. The villa is on a ridge overlooking the towns of Sorrento and Sant Agnello, with sensational views of the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius! It is set in a lemon grove and is indescribably picturesque! The common/breakfast area is simply elegant, with the aforementioned views being the main decoration! The room was tasteful and well appointed, spacious with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was definitely the best we've had in Italy, if not ever. Maria makes fabulous cakes, quiches and slices, served as a buffet along with local buffalo mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, juices, homemade bread and locally produced preserves. It was a super start to our days! The villa's best assets though are the warm, welcoming staff. It is a fantastic place to stay, away from the tourist hoards - but that's no problem as many excellent nearby restaurants do a pick up and drop off service for villa guests, which the staff will arrange. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill on Sea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from a memorable stay in Sorrento with my young man & have been inspired to write my first review on trip advisor!
The hospitality at Villa Oriana Relais was amazing,combine this with the breathtaking location of the Villa, wonderful Italian continental breakfast with the added bonus of freshly baked scrumptious cakes every morning, to be enjoyed overlooking the awesome view of Vesuvius was just caketastic paradise-what a boon!
Our short break was still spectacular in spite of the wettest few days in Sorrento & Amalfi- a bit like staying home in England in April,hehe!
We travelled by bus from Naples to Sorrento,the villa is approx a 15min uphill walk,but you can get a taxi from the bus stop in St Agnello.
The Villa has an extensive library of guide books & kindly lent us one for Capri.They recommended a local restaurant Da Fillippo, which provided a courtesy pick up/drop off service-a boon in the deluge!Dining there was excellent too! We enjoyed being able to practise our Italian-our hosts were very patient, especially as they are multilingual!
Our room was pleasant with a large bathroom & terrace overlooking the bay of Naples.
Our only slight disappointment was the lack or tea/coffee making facilities in the room,however we have now purchased a mini travel kettle to take on our return!
We highly recommend you visit & sample the delights of Villa Oriana for yourselves, exciting exciting!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

+ Lovely set around lemon-trees and orange-trees
+ fantastic view of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius
+ the kindest staff I have ever seen
+ great breakfast with local products
+ rooms incredibly clean, decorated with taste

- location a little bit hard to find without a GPS
- acoustic isolation of the rooms is quite poor

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was beautiful, very spacious with shower cabinet and bathtub. Meanwhile I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pissalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing