We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most spectacular accomodation that everyone should experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This villa is situated about a 15 minute walk from the centre of sorrento which means it offers spectacular views of sorrento and mt. Vesuvius. The family and people that work here are friendly, helpful and warm. You can sit in the outdoor hot tub while looking out at sorrento. Everything is amazing in this villa and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epounch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

After visiting Naples what a dream it is to arrive in Sorrento and then on to Villa Oriana. It may be a little difficult getting there but what a reward once you're there. The drive through the lemon orchard to the front steps of the villa immediately sets the scene and then it just continues to get better. We were greeted at the steps with the warmest of welcomes and then proceeded inside to relax in the 'family room' where you have uninterrupted views of Mt Vesuvius over a chilled home made lemonade and cake! Our hosts were the nicest people we me in southern Italy and they would do anything to accommodate our needs. After a good nights sleep in a very comfortable and quiet room, we woke to the freshest buffet breakfast we had eaten on our trip so far - all freshly baked that morning from local produce! We enjoyed this place so much we extended our stay after travelling the Amalfi Coast. Again, hospitality comes naturally with our hosts and every effort is made to make you feel welcome. Whenever we go back to Sorrento we will definitely stay at the Oriana, its such a wonderful place to be and we made some wonderful friends along the way. John & Donna

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases, try and get a room on a higher level. Arrive at breakfast early to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent the best time in Italy at Villa Oriana.The second you park your car you are greeted with a warm smile and some very good lemon pie and lemonade before you even have to show your documents unlike any other hotel. And the room was very nice and clean and when you sleep there isn't any noise because the Villa is on a quiet little hill. The A.C kept the room nice and cool and it barely did any noise . The staff was very kind. In the evening at sunset, the view is breathtaking, especially the sea and Mt. Vesuvius.The garden of lemon trees was nice, quiet and apparently well kept. In the morning, the sight of the buffet style breakfast is simply marvelous! There was a different assortment of pies including the ones that we ate when we arrived. It was so good that we ate for a whole hour. Leaving was very difficult because we did not want to leave, but finally we had to. We hope that one day we might return. Yan Maximilian Groushvitsky, Carl David Diehl and Natalia Kharitonova.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned from 7 wonderful days at villa Oriana and I think that visits to this place should be on prescription. The hotel is has many others have written, on a hill overlooking the bay of Naples. Rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and rooms have excellent air conditioning. Some people have wrote about some of the furniture being dated but in our view this just adds to charm and when you learn that each peace has been carefully selected for it's meaning to the family you begin to understand what makes this place so special. The staff are all very pleasant, kind and genuine people who treats each guest as an individual. The environment is one of relaxation, you could stay at the villa all day just sitting on the roof taking in the view. Guest are able to walk a short distance and have free use of a lovely clean swimming pool. Breakfasts are seriously bad for your diet! every day involves a wide selection of fresh homemade cakes, tomatoes, fruit and cheese. Every thing you eat is either produced at the villa or from nearby farms. The location is it's strength and weakness. Away from the busy centre sat within the lemon groves it offers peace and quiet. However, it is quite a walk to the centre and taxis are not cheap. The difficulties of the location is mediated by the very efficient evening restaurant transfer system that is in place. Tips, one visit this place if you need a period of relaxation, two seek the staffs advice via emails about transfers before you visit, three if you re like us liking a drink of tea after 10.00 at night take a small travel kettle. We had detailed instructions about travel before we visited and this helped. On our return to the airport the staff arranged a reasonably priced transfer for us. We feel now that we have an italian family! Many many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Tell the staff in advance about your needs, there is a room for people with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Trying to escape the heat of Rome in August, we booked a last minute trip to Villa Oriana in Sorrento. What a wonderful experience.

The hotel is very CLEAN, smoke free and lovely. You will walk through a lemon grove to reach the front door and be greeted with homemade lemonade and cake while you check in.
Our room had a king bed and two twin beds – perfect for our family. It was good sized with a very large bathroom and private patio with views of the sea. We used the swimming pool (about a 5 minute walk) and hot tub daily.

The breakfast was AMAZING – every morning was a slightly different menu – always homemade, warm from the oven and delicious.

When we were booking I considered staying closer to the shore – SO GLAD we didn’t. The town of Sorrento is crowded and loud – we were much happier up the hill where it was quite, calm and beautiful.

The staff at Villa Oriana are top-notch. They made dinner reservations, froze bottles of water for us to take to Pompeii and were helpful when the kids wanted a snack.

We arrived by train and walked up the hill to the hotel - you can grab a cab for somewhere between 10-15 euros. Its pretty steep up the hill so I would recommend getting a cab when you have luggage. Get off at San't Agnello train station, it is closer than Sorrento.

Overall we loved our visit and will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Pool, kid friendly, great food, amazing views - way better to be up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

From the moment you pull into the drive of Villa Oriana, you know your experience is going to be special. Not only are you greeted with a warm smile, but also a slice of cake and freshly squeezed lemonade. Maria, her family and the staff welcome you with open arms and you immediately feel as if you are a part of their family. Though the rooms are sparsely decorated, they are clean with very large bathrooms. The entire staff is delightful and extraordinarily helpful in providing restaurant recommendations, directions and pleasant conversation. The views are breathtaking and we found ourselves watching the sunset from Villa Oriana's balcony on multiple occasions. And last, but certainly not least - the breakfast is incredible and home-cooked by Maria, the owner, each morning based on what's fresh in her garden. Even 5-star hotels could learn a thing or two about providing exceptional customer service to their guests from Villa Oriana. An overall magnificent experience - our family knows exactly where we will be staying on our next visit to Sorrento!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I would highly recommend Villa Oriana to anyone planning a trip to Sorrento. The beautiful views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius are only rivaled by the exemplary service and welcoming atmosphere of the staff. Maddalena was an amazing source of helpful information and travel tips, always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to provide an amazing stay! And of course Maria, the matriarch of the family, has a well deserved reputation for providing the most amazing breakfast of freshly baked pastries and quiches made from ingredients grown on the property which is actually a lemon grove. The relaxing atmosphere was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of Rome, and provided and outstanding launching point for explorations to Capri, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, and Herculaneum. Marvelous place staffed by marvelous people!

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the walk out patio into the lemon grove on the east side for extra relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £101 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing