We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First taste of Italy, definitely not the last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Oriana Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First taste of Italy, definitely not the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with Sorrento, especially Villa Oriana. The Villa is beautiful and the staff so welcoming. The holiday was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and Maria and her staff made it very special for us both. We travelled with our two friends, who had been before, they had told us how lovely Villa Oriana is and they were so right. Even on our last morning when we were leaving at 07:30, Maria freshly made her speciality lemon cake and a delicious strawberry flan. We will most definitely return, hopefully in the near future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mancunianmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear members of the Villa Oriana family,

Thank you very much for your stay and for having chosen Villa Oriana as the ideal setting to celebrate your silver wedding anniversary.

We hope you’ll come back and, as your friends did, you’ll tell other friends about your stay and bring them with you.

Please use the following codes when you want to book for the next stay: BEST-FRIENDS, TRIP25.

ARRIVEDERCI asap!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    122
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
234
483
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were looking for a smaller place to stay as we weren't keen on some of the larger, less personal hotels in Sorrento. Villa Oriana was exactly what we were looking for.
We were made very welcome from the start and the staff couldn't do enough to help. They helped us plan every detail of our visit - particularly in giving us advice on transport and in finding the Path of the Gods, a must visit for anyone who likes walking.
The breakfasts really were as good as everybody says. The savoury cake and the lemon and ricotta tart were amazing.
The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean and we had some of the best sleeps we have ever had while staying here.
The setting amongst the lemon groves is lovely, the panoramic views really are stunning and the overall feel of the place is very relaxed.
Villa Oriana is a fair walk from the centre but this didn't trouble us, it's just worth being aware of for people who are less mobile.
Highly recommended and we plan to come back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room by reception or below the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen Villa Oriana for your honeymoon.

It’s a pleasure we managed to satisfy your expectations and you found in our structure and working all you were looking for.

We wait for your return.

Please insert the following code on our website when you decide to come back: BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25.

Ciao

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Other comments all describe the lemon groves, the wonderful views and the amazing hospitality. It is true, and all done without any annoying schmaltz: these people are genuinely delightful and helpful. The room was a bit small, the distance from the centre of town just a bit more than you really want, but all made up for by the glorious views and the welcome. This was a wonderful start to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay and your review.

We are happy you have appreciated our Villa, our work and our authenticity. We hope you come back soon.

I send you our promo codes. They could be useful for you and for your friends when you decide to come to Sorrento and stay in our structure.
Please insert TRIP25 OR BEST-FRIENDS on our website to chose the best rate for you.

See you soon,

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our stay was short (only one night) but sweet. The hotel is well located just above the town with lovely views towards Vesuvius and Naples, but within easy walking distance. (We were on a driving trip, so the secure parking was a great benefit.) The room and amenities were just fine, and the breakfast was superb - and laden with homemade specialties prepared by the owner herself. What makes this Villa Oriana so special is the warm, helpful and personal service of the management and staff. We recommend it whoieheartedly to anyone visiting Sorrento.
Max & Kathleen.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to get the best of the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxandKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Max and Kathleen,

reading your words is not only a pleasure for us but also a motivation to continue to do our best. Of course we are happy you had a wonderful time even if it was short.

We hope to see you soon for a longer period.

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The location and view was amazing. Our stay was made fantastic due the fabulous service from all the staff. The breakfast room view was spectacular as was the breakfast itself. If you are thinking about a stay in Sorrento I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoweA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Howe family,

thanks a lot for your comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Oriana and you recommend our structure. We hope to see you again.

If you decide to come back or to suggest Villa Oriana to your friends you can use the following promo codes. Please, insert TRIP26 or BEST-FRIENDS on our website to have a special rate.

Ciao!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our family will never forget the genuine warmth and generosity of Maria and her wonderful staff. Yes, the location, rooms and breakfast were absolutely fantastic, but the people here impressed us most of all. The owner, Maria, after baking local breakfast specialties from scratch early every morning, then dresses and greets her guests personally at every table. She even made a special Nutella cake for my son's twelfth birthday and surprised him with it while her lovely young staff sang and gave him kisses! Maria taught us Italian songs and we adults crooned with other guests over ice-cold shots of home-made limoncello in the evenings! The delicious food and air of laughter brought back fond memories of my own large, southern Italian family from my childhood. We hope to be among the many families who return to this gem of a spot and visit with our new friends over and over again.

Room Tip: No problem staying four to a room with children. The added beds were more comfortable than we'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingingMaria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Costa family,

thank you for your stay and kindness. It was a pleasure for us to celebrate your son's birthday with you.

Maria sang a lot of Italian and Neapolitan song but above all "Torna a Surriento" wich is our invitation to come back. It will be a new occasion to remind you your Italian childhood thanks to the smells and tastes of Villa Oriana and above all a great possibility for us to host again such a lovely family.

We' ll send you two promotional codes. You can decide wich is the best for you and insert it on our website when you decide to come back. They are TRIP26 and BEST-FRIENDS.

Arrivederci!!!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

From the moment we arrived and walked through the glorious lemon groves and entered the villa, we were made to feel at home. After a steep walk up the hill from the main road (get a taxi if you have big bags!) we were welcomed with a refreshing glass of lemon drink, fresh from the groves, and a slice of homemade cake. In fact, homemade cake features very heavily as one of the Villa Oriana Relais' delicacies!

Our room was lovely and clean and we even had our own private balcony which overlooked the groves, with a view over the Bay of Naples. Even though our bedroom was right by the front door, we weren't really bothered with noise. The staff truly go out of their way to help you, they have an excellent knowledge of the local area and can advise you on transport and even book excursions for you - we had a semi private boat day trip to the Island of Capri and it was one of the most memorable days of the holiday! A couple of the nights we were too exhausted to walk down into main Sorrento (about a 15 minute amble) to go out to dinner, so they would arrange transport from the restaurants to collect you and drop you off after the meal. This is a service that the restaurants offer, totally free!

Every review I read on here before we went mentioned the breakfast, and it honestly is probably THE best breakfast I have ever had! Sat on a table overlooking the sea you are treated to fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, crusty bread, marmalade and jams from the grove, prosciutto ham and at least 5 homemade cakes!! As well as yogurts, fresh fruit and boiled eggs, all served with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. It was heavenly! The owner is a lovely lady who is extremely welcoming and always seems genuinely happy to see you. And how she finds the time to do all of that baking, I shall never know!

A wonderful place and if we return to Sorrento, we wouldn't hesitate to return here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear guests,

We will never discover Maria’s secret! She wants to thank you very much for your kindness.

We have been happy to do our best to help you visit Sorrento and organise your tours.

Of course we wait for you again with our “heavenly” breakfast and freshly baked cakes.

When you are ready to come back you can insert the promo code BEST FRIENDS on our website and to have a special price.

Ciao!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing