We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We didn't want to leave! The staff are all so friendly and helpful. The food is out of this world, views are stunning, rooms are light and airy as well as being very clean and the jacuzzi on the terrace topped it off! The only problem is the fact the hotel is up a hill, however it is worth it for the view and warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Few words for a great description and wonderful review.

Thank you very much.

Come back soon.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
249
498
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Beautiful view of the Bay of Naples from the balcony. Superb home-made gourmet breakfasts with balcony seating available. Free transportation to and from 6~8 restaurants in town. Priced far below what one might expect. Very clean and comfortable. Outstanding staff. Private villa full of orange and lemon trees. Free parking. We stayed four nights and were sad to leave.

Some visitors might find the location, above the town on a hill, to be a drawback. Steep narrow roads lead to the villa, a mile or more from the center of town. Nothing is really accessible on foot, and there is virtually no parking to be found in town, so taxis are the only viable option (free if going to one of the partner restaurants). Not directly on the water, but Sorrento has no beaches anyway.

Room Tip: Top floor balcony has the best view of the Bay of Naples, although it connects with the balcony of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Lawrence,

We were sad too in saying you goodbye. Thank you for your words and for your stay.
We wait for your return. Please use our special codes BEST-FRIENDS and TRIP25 when you decide to come back.

A presto

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Italien hospitality and lovely relaxation at its best. The lounge faces the bay of Naples to the front, Mt. Vesuvius to the right and the Isle of Capri to the left.

Our room for three was lovely with a patio that overlooked lemon groves.
Maria and her staff were outgoing and helpful. Her recommendations of pizza in Naples
and pastries in Santa Agata were spot on.

The walk into town was easy although the climb back up the hill was challenging.

After a busy day touring to return to the scent of lemon blossems and the quiet of the citrus grove was perfect.

And the breakfast, as many others have written was delicious. Maria, I have made the lemon ricotta cake and it was a big success.

thanks for everything

the Merchants

Room Tip: all rooms seem fine, although we only saw 2. Also, there are really no kids activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wermwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Merchant family,

Thank you for your kindness. Maria is very happy her receipes are going around the world and are having a big success. In this way Villa Oriana will be known everywhere thanks to Maria's cakes and our guests opinions.
Your quietness and relaxation is always a must for the staff of Villa Oriana so we are very happy. Thank you for everything: for having chosen Villa Oriana, for you stay and for your nice words about us and our structure.

Don’t forget to use the following codes when you come to visit us again: BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25.

CIAO.

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our stay a Villa Oriana was simply delightful! From the moment we arrived we were genuinely made to feel at home - welcomed with fresh lemonade and exquisite home made cake we happily settled in as if visiting family.
Our room the "Suite degli Aranci" could not possibly have been more comfortable!
It was spacious, charming and featured a lovely view of the Gulf of Naples from a private balcony. Without a doubt it boasted the very best bathroom of our entire trip - a beautiful tile soaking tub, shower and double sink vanity (super clean too)! The beautiful iron bed was not only a work of art in itself, but most comfortable, allowing us to get a goodnights rest!
The secure private parking was a plus, as we had a car, but we enjoyed the 15 minute walk down the hill to Sorrento's center.
Each morning we were treated to, as they say on their website,"a breakfast to remember" - which it truly is!
Signora Maria is a pastry chef extraordinaire - sweet cakes, savory tarts, yummy biscuits and more! Only her kind and genuine hospitality exceed her talents in the kitchen - so gracious of her to give us a lesson on how to make her nutella biscuits - delizioso!

Carmela and Maria Lugia offered us great advice to make the most of our stay in the Sorrento area. And when I came down with a fever, Maddalena was so sweet, she kindly helped my husband to find a pharmacy open late on a Sunday. As I said before - like staying with family - it was difficult to say goodbye. The memory of our time shared with them will be a treasured souvenir of Sorrento.

So if you are looking a place to stay on the Sorrento peninsula look no further, Villa Oriana is the perfect place to call home while visiting the area. You are sure to find comfort, hospitality and cakes that you will never forget!
I know we won't - so thank you Maria, Carmela, Maria Lugia, and Maddalena for your delightful hospitality!
We send you our aloha, John & Elizabeth

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaniMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear John and Elizabeth,

Wow!!! It’s everything we can say for such a marvellous review. You had described all the facilities and services Villa Oriana offers to its guests and all the attention we try to give them when they enter our gate.

It was difficult for us too to say goodbye when you left but we hope it was just an ARRIVEDERCI, and so we’ll manage to see you again. Of course we'll wait for you with a wonderful flower lei from Sorrento.
We send you a little temptation to encourage you to come back. Use the following promo codes. They are useful to have a special offer for the next stay : BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25.

Come back soon.

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The views from the lounge/breakfast room were amazing. Our room which was for 2 adults, and 2 children was very small. Bathrooms are all large, and lovely. Other than a quiche, rolls and a boiled egg for breakfast, expect 3 different types of cake. I did not feel comfortable or at ease like you would in a hotel as I felt we were always watched when out of our room. If you do not hire a car. Make sure you have a lot of cash as a 5 minute taxi ride to the town will cost you €15.00 For this time of year it was still cold in the rooms as the heating was switched off.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 609leeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear guest,

Our structure as you said has a wonderful view on the bay of Naples because it is situated on a small hill. We are sorry if the taxi was too expensive but we certainly said also to you that you could take a bus to reach the centre. The bus stop is on the main street and it’s few minutes walking from the Villa. It’s roughly two euros per person.
All the staff of Villa Oriana is very attentive and ready to fulfill all your requests and we apologize if it could bother you in any way.
Spring evolved strangely this year and at the end of May we had sunny and hot days together with cloudy days. Our greatest desire is our guests enjoy all the comfort, even concerning the environment, so on request we could provide to heat your room. The central heating system at the end of May and with the arrival of summer is converted to supply cold air conditioning.
If despite our good will, we didn’t manage to satisfy all your desires, we want to apologize again because we have a good memory of you and your beautiful family.

Best regards,

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed for a full week at Villa Oriana, with our two young boys, 4 & 7. The first morning, having breakfast on the terrace in the sun, viewing the cruise ships in the bay, our eldest announced that this is where he wants to live. The serene and gentle atmosphere, the warmth and empathy of the owner and her staff, the beautiful location and views... Just wonderful.
Our experience of best hospitality ever: our youngest son found an egg in the rosemary bush in the garden. He proudly brought it to the kitchen, and got it boiled the next morning for breakfast. The next day, our sons found 3 real eggs plus a few chocolate ones (the staff found out about our Easter tradition of searching for Easter eggs in the garden) and we were invited to visit the farm with the hens above. The morning of our departure, our sons discovered 2 huge chocolate kinder eggs in the garden, as a present from the team... Their pleasure at seeing the excitement and joy on our sons' faces was simply fantastic. And everything is done with love, care and attention.

Room Tip: The two rooms we stayed in, as a family were great, with private balcony, huge bathroom, spotless cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Inez,

thank you very much to you and your husband but above all thank you to your wonderful boys. Thanks to their happiness and surprise in discovering the chocolate and real eggs in our garden and visiting the farm, we understood how much you had appreciated your stay and our work.

For us it was a pleasure to make your holiday so memorable.

We hope to have soon the opportunity to host you again. For this reason we send you two special codes. You can insert BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25 ON our website to have a great price when you want to come back and visit your Italian family.

A presto!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with Sorrento, especially Villa Oriana. The Villa is beautiful and the staff so welcoming. The holiday was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and Maria and her staff made it very special for us both. We travelled with our two friends, who had been before, they had told us how lovely Villa Oriana is and they were so right. Even on our last morning when we were leaving at 07:30, Maria freshly made her speciality lemon cake and a delicious strawberry flan. We will most definitely return, hopefully in the near future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mancunianmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear members of the Villa Oriana family,

Thank you very much for your stay and for having chosen Villa Oriana as the ideal setting to celebrate your silver wedding anniversary.

We hope you’ll come back and, as your friends did, you’ll tell other friends about your stay and bring them with you.

Please use the following codes when you want to book for the next stay: BEST-FRIENDS, TRIP25.

ARRIVEDERCI asap!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing