We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

No need to describe rooms or facilities: everything is high standard, clean and cozy. Beautiful view from the balcony. Super delicious fresh oranges for breakfast which grow right in the same area around the building.
But what really makes this place special is hospitality of people who work there.
Maria, the owner, is very kind and attentive to her guests. Obviously she cares for what she is doing. Milena will gladly help you with all sorts of different questions.
I certainly recommend this place and wish Villa Oriana's family a prosperous growth!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruslan_Yamaltdinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ruslan,

What a nice review. Thank you for your wishes and recommendation. Your words make us happy and help us in doing always the best for our guests.

If you decide to come back use the code BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25 into our promocode box and you will have a special discount.

A presto,

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
249
498
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Maria and staff make this hotel a family affair. Maria is so amazing and will help you with anything. She drove my family of 4 to the train station early one morning for our trip to Pompeii. She also made reservations at a family restaurant - L'Antiqua Tratorria and drove us there because the taxi ride would have cost us 28 Euros one way. She is an amazing baker and makes the most delicious cakes using her lemons! The rooms were nice and bathroom was large. The hair dryer was not good and needs to be stronger. My daughter has long hair and it would have taken 30 min to dry with the hair dryer. The hotel is set up like a house, so when she and staff starting baking at 5:30 am, and our room was right under kitchen, we could hear lots of noise. If you like cake for breakfast, you will love their breakfast. Maria makes delicious homemade biscotti with nutella, lemon cake, and others. Personally I can't eat cake for breakfast, so they will make you a hard boiled egg if you ask. Fresh squeezed juice too.
The location of this hotel is a little tricky. It's up on a hill overlooking the beautiful blue ocean, but if you want to go into Sorrento for dinner, it is a 25-30 Euro one way expense. So it's $50 just for the taxi rides. There are only a few restaurants that will shuttle you back for free. So it's very expensive. There is really no other option for a good dinner.
One day we asked if there is a beach nearby and 1 staff member told us it was a 10 min walk there. She gave us a map and showed us where to go. Well we walked for over 20 min, finally found the beach area, and had to pay 4 Euros to take the elevator down to the beach. Then we had to pay 20 Euros (for 4) to use the private beach. So we opted for the cement public beach. I just wish they would have told us. It's not a nice beach. The best beach in the area is at Positano which is a car ride away. But definitely worth it.
Overall a nice place to stay, but Maria makes it special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Judy and family,

we are so happy in reading your beautiful words and compliments.

We thank you also for your suggestions.

If you are coming back we will do everything is possible to make your stay better than it was.

A big hug from Maria and the staff.

Arrivederci!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located above Sorrento on a hill with beautiful views surrounded by lemon and orange trees.After spending the day sightseeing in Sorrento we always looked forward to the tranquility of Villa Oriana.The staff was excellant,very attentive,yet respectful.Enjoyed the fantastic breakfast,especially the breakfast quiche, and espresso coffee! We stayed a total of six nights,on a couple of evenings, I brought take-out back to the Villa and we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings over supper.Excellant Wine cellar,featuring local wines from the region.We especially enjoyed talking with and getting to know the staff,a very personal touch,Villa Oriana was the highlight of our Italian vacation....Tad and Susan...

Room Tip: We had a very nice suite downstairs,quiet with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301Tad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Tad and Susan,

what a beautiful title and wonderful review.

We are so proud of our job when we read your words.

We hope to have soon the opportunity to host you here again.

A presto from the Sorrento sanctuary.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancora
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and if i ever go back to sorrento i wouldn't be able to stay anywhere else now that i have found this Gem! It was absolutely wonderful, everything about it. I loved the location and view, the food was spectacular, and the hospitality was one in a million. The owner Maria and her family are perfectionists and strive to make everything absolutely perfect for you. I have never known any hotel to take such pride and put in so much dedication to make their guests happy.

I also think that it was much nicer staying slighty out of the main town, it's only a 10 minute walk in and was totally worth having the view.

I hope i get to go back one day,

Thank you all so much

Room Tip: I stayed in the Deluxe with sea view, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guests,

It is true we always try to do our best and put in dedication to make our guests’ stay even more special and for us it is a pleasure you appreciated it.

Maria and her staff wait for you in their Sorrentine Gem.

A presto!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A truely amazing hotel run by amazing people. Nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed for 3 days and have since booked to go back for another 7 days.
The hospitality is the best we have ever experienced anywhere in the world and as other reviews say the breakfast is second to none.
The girls booked restaurants and trips for us and gave great advice on places to visit.
Maria is so welcoming and her passion is echoed by her staff
The hotel has fantastic views and the sunset is best watched from the balcony with a beer and Limoncello!!
Andy nad Clare - England

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Andy and Clare,

it was “truely amazing” reading your words and host you at Villa Oriana Relais.

We thank you very much for your stay and for your comment.

Of course it is a pleasure you could see how passionate we are about what we do.

A big hug from Maria and the staff.

We hope to see you again.

Maddalena D'urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked this property for my parents based on their private yet convenient location and their reputation for service. Of course it was my parents so I was still a bit nervous and was hopeful things would run smoothly from check-in to check-out.

Indeed, my parents truly enjoyed their stay. They had no problems with check-in and the owners even left a card in the room for them with a message from myself and my sister. They were also able to recommend great restaurants and also booked a private car for a tour along the Amalfi Coast.

By no fault of the resort, my mother became a bit ill during the stay. During this time, the hosts were extremely kind and helpful to my mother. They called a local doctor and tended to her as she rested. Falling ill when so far from home can be quite difficult and I am so grateful for the hospitality that the hosts of Villa Oriana showed my mother. Our whole family cannot express how thankful we are.

The lasting impression my parents had was that they were treated like family.

I cannot wait to go and thank villa oriana in person. And of course I want to try their fresh baked breakfast.

Thank you again for your hospitality and care.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dchonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear friend,

It was a pleasure for us to host your parents and to take care of them. Your mother was so nice with us and we were happy to do everything it was possible to help her feeling better.

We thank you so much for kindness and wait for your arrival.

Our fresh baked cakes are waiting for you.

Hope to see you soon.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for three days, on arrival we was made to feel at home and served drinks on the balcony and homemade cakes. We had advised them that we while in Italy we would be looking for wedding venues, they upgraded our room and there was yet another amazing homemade cake waiting for us in our room.
The breakfast is amazing with everything freshly prepared by the owner Maria. Each day was a different selection of freshly baked cakes & breads & the best Buffalo mozzarella I have ever eaten served with fresh orange juice.
The hotel has amazing views over the bay of Sorrento with some amazing views especially at sunset.
The owner Maria and all of the staff make you feel totally welcome, we will be returning to Sorrento next year for more wedding planning & we'll definitely be staying at Villa Oriana Relais.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guests,

It is a pleasure you appreciated the warmth and attention of Maria and staff and the view and beauties of our villa.

We hope to see you as soon as possible.

Thank you for everything.

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,996 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing