We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the hype !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Abinger
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to the hype !”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I booked a junior suite having read the reviews (I would not have booked the hotel for any other room) . On arrival we were shown our junior suite and immediately questioned the girl who took us to our "suite" as the room we were given was small - no view - plain and sparse furniture (no door on the wardrobe) and a cracked loo seat . She insisted that it was a junior suite and said that if we were not happy that we would have to speak to the manager in the morning.
We had breakfast the following morning and waited to speak to the manager who did in fact admit that we had not been given the room we had booked, nor was the room we were in a junior suite.
. There was not another room available . As we were only there for another two nights we had no choice really but to stay on.
The reality was that the room was only pleasant enough to sleep in , and not somewhere I would choose to relax with a book and a glass of wine. The entire hotel was however clean , but I may as well have booked any standard room at another hotel.

The garden was not really somewhere you could wander in with any interest and the building was merely a modern plain building.
The breakfast was good ,but not wonderful. The staff were indeed friendly , but obviously the honesty of the girl who showed us our room was questionable.
We also met another family who did not get what they had booked and had to stay elsewhere for their first night. Having read through the reviews it seems that this kind of thing has happened before and at a rather too alarming rate for such a small place.

We had left Rome earlier in the day than planned to get to this accomodation as I was looking forward to spending time in this villa. It was a huge let down and I now realise that these reviews are a matter of taste and experience. However this review is largely a matter of fact.
We did not get what we booked. We were initially told quite firmly that we did have a junior suite. It was admitted in the morning that we were indeed in a standard room. The rate was reduced on check out, but only by about £22 per night -- and on reflection the reduction was not nearly enough , but it would have spoilt it even more to argue. The Villa Oriana Relais is a no frills , simple , rather plain villa. The suites may be their saving grace.The staff seemed friendly but again no more so than anywhere else I have stayed ( our fourth short trip so far this year). The breakfast terrace did have a view. The reception areas were plain.

The villla was not as described and although pleasant was not out of the ordinary, and certainly not what I expected having read the rave reviews.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abingerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
249
500
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We traveled throughout Italy and stayed in several hotels during the trip. Villa Oriana was the best! The staff is very welcoming, helpful, and genuinely kind. Wonderful service from start to finish and made sure that we were happy from start to finish. Their recommendations on the seafood restaurant, pizzeria and sightseeing were brilliant and exactly what we were looking for. Try their complementary lemonade and make sure to stay for their amazing homemade breakfast. Other great accomodations, free internet, beautiful views, garden, jacuzzi. We were even given a car rides from the hotel into the main streets of
Sorrento. Wonderful experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwonp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at the Villa Oriana Relais, and had the most wonderful time. We planned several car trips from the hotel, to Amalfi, Napoli and around the Sorrento peninsula. The hotel was perfectly located above Sorrento, in view of the Napoli bay, and was a great place to set out from and come back to at the end of the day.
Our days began with delicious home-made breakfasts, in view of the Sorrento coast-line. The room was spacious, clean, and very welcoming, and we had the best experience just waking up to the view, or walking around in the hotel grounds.
The staff was helpful and very friendly, and gave useful tips for our day-by-day planning.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Sorrento, and I'd recommend Sorrento to everyone!

Last thing - We planned the entire trip around having our rented car. Had we not done so, we probably would have felt a little stranded. It's quite a walk up/down hill from the hotel, so some means of transport is a must (although the hotel does provide shuttles).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My wife and I traveled throughout Italy for 2 weeks in March 2009 for our honeymoon. After leaving Florence, we rented a car for a trip through Tuscany and along the Almalfi Coast. During the latter part of this car trip, we stayed at Villa Orians, and we had an extraordinary time. Italy is an expensive place, but the value and quality of the accomodations and service provided by Villa Orians was exceptional. It felt like a home away from home. I would highly recommend this place as a "base of operations" for your stay along the Almalfi Coast. It's beatiful views; friendly, knowledgeable service; clean, comfortable accomodations; and one-of-a-king inclusive breakfast should make it a must for anybody traveling in southern Italy. Thanks for everything Villa Orians!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My husband, 13-year old grand daughter and I felt at home at Villa Oriana after minutes of arriving. The warm welcome, cool lemonade and help settling in our comfortable two bedroom suite was only the beginning of the pampering we received during our 6 night stay. Breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples were exceptional. Advice we received for Sorrento and our day-trips to Pompei, Capri, Positano, Erculano, and other exciting places was invaluable. The beauty of the Villa grounds, the views created a relaxing retreat when we returned each day. An added bonus was the complimentary use of the large pool at a nearby hotel. We were reluctant to leave and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundivagantOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

A plumbing problem with our planned hotel, led us to Villa Oriana Relais - to our great delight. In a town given over to tourism for centuries, our experience at Villa Oriana was one of being house guests of dear friends - but friends with a great house indeed. From the moment one enters the gates and passes through an allee of lemon trees perfumed and glowing with fruit the impression is favorable. The hotel itself is perched high above the Bay of Naples with a terrace that seems the exact location of every perfect image of the spectacular sweep of land and sea crowned by Vesuvius and Naples itself.

The welcome was warm and helpful with practical and caring tips on getting around. The rooms were sparely but very well furnished and immaculately maintained with very modern and well appointed bathrooms.

But the experience really gets into high grea withthe pleasure of sitting on the terrace for what is one of the finest hotel breakfasts I have ever had: fresh juice from the owners' orange trees, wonderful fresh fruit and a seemingly endless variety of fresh baked goods form the gifted Sig.a Maria. All of this presented with the warmth and sheer joy of the whole staff.

A final word on the people: they were not only helpful and efficient but also seemed genuinely enthusiastic about their work. Moreover, they uniformly went out of their way to insure that our visit was comfortable and pleasureable.

The owners are evidently opening further operations in Sorrento. If they can maintain the delightful atmospshere at Villa Oraina Relais at these as well, there is not reason to stay elsewhere in Sorrento,

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

If you haven't visited Sorrento before, you should be aware that many of the town's hotels sit on the exceptionally noisy road into town (Corso Italia). Although not ideally located for a quick walk to town (~20 minutes along a busy road), Villa Oriana Relais is ideally positioned a few streets back from the main road and also a little way up the hillside. This means that it is both extremely peaceful and also provides wonderful views of the bay of Naples. In this regard, it is a great place to stay in Sorrento. Oriana Relais is a family run business and has maintained an exeptionally personal service throughout, from the lovely welcome and offer of fresh lemonade after a long drive, to the freshly baked cakes prepared for breakfast each day by the hotel owner. Although our room wasn't huge, it was very clean and comfortable and had a lovely private outside terrace. The communal terrace on the building roof has exceptional views of the bay and is a great place to enjoy a drink as the sun sets on the bay. Finally, the lemon tree lined approch to the hotel has to be seen!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rup24blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,000 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing