We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

A holiday of a lifetime, beautiful gardens, beautiful views, friendliness, hospitality, and home cooked food! We can't wait to visit our new Italian family again next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisksurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    124
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
247
495
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canadian in London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Amazing little hotel tucked away up on the hill. The owner is gracious and kind, an attitude reflected in the staff. The breakfast was fabulous - tasty food with an amazing view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnchicklit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

When I booked hotel in Sorrento, I wasn t sure how the city and the hotel were. When we were lost in the city, I thought if he had made a good choice ... until we arrived, and I do not regret in any way! The attention was exceptionally friendly, from the first minute, made us feel at home, without the excellence of the hand of Maria in the kitchen and all the staff coordial. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabianaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed two nights at Villa Oriana at the end of May - a wonderful time of year to visit the area. The villa is a beautiful B&B with amazing views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvious. We struggled to find the villa at first as the sign is not clear during the day but once we got there we entered through a lovely lemon grove-lined driveway leading up to free (rare in these parts) parking.

The staff at Villa Oriana were all wonderful in particular Elio who was a genial and helpful host and Josie who provided us with great restaurant recommendations. I cannot help but mention the amazing breakfast - probably one of the best I have ever experienced and I have had many, many hotel/B&B breakfasts in my time. The cakes were amazing although still difficult to get my head around eating cake at breakfast but we couldn't help but try each one and they were to die for. The mozzarella, tomatoes and dried sausage was delicious and the various selections of fruit, yoghurt and rolls were top notch. If the food wasn't enough we ate it all with that wonderful view.

There was a lovely sun deck at the top of the building from which we saw a wonderful sunset and enjoyed a rather large glass of wine in the jacuzzi whilst gazing over the Bay.

The walk into Sorrento wasn't in my mind the most pleasant as the main walk was along the main road out of Sorrento and was noisy and fumey. However we took a detour down Vico Rota and walked along a stunning jasmine-lined road with no traffic and no people so much more pleasant.

We enjoyed Sorrento but after spending the earlier part of our week in La Campagnella and Minori we found it noisy and far too busy (even in May) so I'm not sure we would want to return but if we did we would definitely stay at Villa Oriana. I would highly recommend it as an alternative to the over-priced and nothing-special bland hotels of central Sorrento and you just couldn't beat that breakfast and the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PookyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Without a doubt, Villa Oriana is the best place we've stayed in our 12 trips throughout Italy- and we stay here whenever we return to Sorrento. Maria's breakfast is always perfect, the staff pleasant and helpful, the rooms immaculate and the views spectacular. And it all seems to get better each time we visit. They will treat you like family and no doubt it will become your home away from home as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My wife and I traveled to Sorrento for the last leg of our honeymoon. We couldn't have chosen a better location. Elio, Maria, Valentina, and Don Pepe made us feel as if we were part of their family, on a visit. They were each quick to provide help, advice, recommendations, and friendly smiles during our entire stay. If we could have it to do over I would have scheduled our visit there for more days, and one of our other stops for fewer.

Immediately upon arriving Elio brought us out to a balcony overlooking the town and ocean (from which you could see all the way to Naples!) and brought us out two fresh glasses of lemonade, made from lemons in the Villa's own groves.

Once we had settled in Elio brought us to the Junior Suite that he upgraded us to for no charge (as a guest was ill and asked to stay an additional day). The suite was absolutely beautiful -- spacious, king size bed, and a large bathroom with tub. If it had not already been booked for the rest of the weekend we would have chosen to remain in it.

The breakfasts were the best we had during our entire two-week trip to Italy. Freshly squeezed orange juice (again, from their groves), delicious breads, fruit preserves, cakes, tomatoes with mozzarella, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, and quiche. Even my wife, who is not a morning person, made sure to be up every day for this spread!

The Villa is located a distance from downtown Sorrento (20+ minutes walking) and cabs are quite expensive (15+ euros, one-way). We found that renting a car was the best option as for 2 days the price totaled 100 euros for a Smart Coupe. The freedom this provided was worth the cost alone.

The only thing I would do differently on our next visit is to be sure that the Junior Suite is available. For the difference in price it is well worth the upgrade. Our room was very nice, clean, and had all of the amenities. However, it was much smaller and we were unable to use the attached patio because of mosquitos (something that was not a problem on the higher up Junior Suite). With that said I cannot think of a better place to stay while visiting Sorrento!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbojnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed here after last minute reservation on the internet. Did not known what to expect exactly but this was by far the most pleasant surprise we ever had. Lemon trees, very friendly and warm welcome, beautiful location, great rooms and yes....the breakfast.
Fresh orange juice, cakes, strawberry's, homemade marmelade, honey etc.etc.
Incredible. For us, the most memorable en best breakfast we ever had .
Thank you Villa Oriana ! For an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0mmetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing