We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand resort hotel with a foot of clay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Grand resort hotel with a foot of clay”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

You can not beat the view from the rooms at the Capodimonte. The whole property is a resort in all sense of the word with marble on every surface and elegant decor. The extremely expensive restaurant is the site of your free morning breakfast so don't feel bad if you chose to skip the the 20Euro per person fee to think about ordering dinner. Breakfast was a treat every morning with the most extensive selection we experienced during a two week trip to Italy. If you did not plan your stay in Sorrento the hotel has a list of suggestions and can help.

The clay foot? In the smallest of print, in a casual brouchure you get at check in, you get the note "don't drink the water in bathroom". We used the mini bar and its resonable prices for refreshment but I really get upset when I'm in a hotel and I can't brush my teeth or take medicine. I asked the front desk and was told that being seaside the water was "not good." I took my daypack water bottle to breakfast each day, in protest, and filled it from the table. I don't want to be the ugly American but at the 200 Euro per day off season price no water is disappointing.

Room Tip: Bring you own water and you won't be upset with this amazing hotel and its great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank telecombeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    579
    161
    66
    44
See reviews for
462
1,465
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the first week in April and loved it. Really recommend paying extra for the sea view of the Bay of Naples - just stunning! we stayed on a half-board basis and really enjoyed the food - including the breakfasts with the freshly cooked-to-order omlettes. the facilities were very good but we would have liked the option of coffee-making equipment and also an iron in the bedroom. We found the staff pleasant and efficient and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: Splash out the extra for a sea view room and sit on your balcony with a glass of wine looking out ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for 10 nights at this hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. We had booked this through Kuoni who had organised private transfers to and from the airport in Naples.

Check-in was extremely smooth and our bags were taken directly to the room by the Porter.

The room was very spacious, fresh, clean and decorated to a very high standard. The bath was huge and had a shower over it. There was also a separate shower which was equally as big. Fresh towels were provided everyday as were complimentary toiletries. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the town of Sorrento. There was quite loud traffic noises at times when we had the balcony doors open as the room was about 3 storeys above the road. However if you keep the door closed you could not hear it.

The food was of excellent taste and quality with a good choice every night, something for everyone. The service was excellent and the staff were very polite and attentive. The restaurant had excellent views over the bay and the town. Ensure that you get there early to get a window seat.

Breakfast was of equally high standards. It was a buffet style breakfast ranging from cereals to continental meats and cheese, fruit and pastries. There was also an egg chef who cooked omelettes, fried eggs and boiled eggs to order.

There were two other restaurants at the hotel but due to the low occupancy and the weather these were not open at the time we visited as they are mainly outside seating.

Unfortunately whilst we were in Sorrento it rained every day apart from one so we were unable to use the pool or sit out on the pool terrace which was a shame as it had stunning views and looked beautiful.

The bar was nice to sit in if it was raining, very comfortable and relaxing, again with excellent views over the bay.

The town of Sorrento is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it's small streets are packed with shops and restaurants so plenty to look at. We particularly like the restaurant Bougainvillea located on the main road on the way to the main square as it did amazing Ice cream in so many different flavours.


Overall we had a fantastic break that was very relaxing, just a shame about the bad weather that restricted us from venturing out much.

A good value half board holiday with excellent food and service.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We were perfectly happy during our 4 night stay, as part of our honeymoon around Europe.

By European standards, the rooms are clean, reasonably sized and our room (334) had a stunning view out over the town and the sea. You just had to ignore the overwhelming traffic noise in order to have the door open to enjoy it.

We found staff to be fine but nothing special, for example it wasn't particularly impressive to be told by reception to check back "in 5 hours" regarding a possible extension of our stay, when we could clearly find online rooms for the extra date!

Breakfast buffet is OK, nothing special again but the view makes up for it. So too do the dorky 1980s cream dinner jackets the waiters seem to wear 24/7.

The hotel is clearly a Brit package tour favourite so keep that in mind when booking, but despite a few chavvy types at the breakfast buffet we didn't notice too much. Plus, given the location and all of the things to do here, you shouldn't be at the hotel all day to notice.

Our advice would be not to eat here, the food is ridiculously expensive and somehow they think it's appropriate to charge €20 p.p for "cover charge, service, tax and 'special decoration'". I wish that was a joke, but it's not. I'm not clear on what the cover charge is for given that service is itemised separately. You can easily find a great meal in Sorrento for far less.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just back from this hotel and unfortunately holiday was curtailed for family reasons but in the short time we were there we enjoyed our stay. Previous reviews have said it all but we found the room with sea view rather disappointing - rather small and more of a side view than 'full on'. Also the double bed was two singles put together and rather hard, uncomfortable mattress. The management put on a thin mattress topper though which helped a little bit. Water pressure poor and very up and down with temperature. Plus points - the hotel is absolutely, antiseptically spotless and the lounge and restaurants are wonderful with amazing views. The service very professional and friendly, the swimming pools are a dream although obviously better in hot weather. The food in the evening is excellent and plently of choice. Prices for wine are reasonable and there is a wine waiter on hand to help. Breakfasts were good although from our point of view rather disappointing in that there was no fresh juice and the coffee was terrible. We asked for cappucino instead and had to pay extra which was a bit rich! Other than that it is an excellent base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi coastline - a short walk out of town and lots of superb restaurants to be found everywhere. We will return!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view. Worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham1EssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April 2012. It had only recently reopened after a refurbishment in the bar / lounge area. All area's of the hotel were in excellent condition, well maintained and clean. We were half board and each night there was a complete different menu to pick from and the food was excellent. Buffet breakfast had everything you could want from cereal, fruit to cooked choices. The staff were very good with our son who is 12, they were teaching him a few italian words and joking with him. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. If your planning on doing trips yourself ask at reception as they have train and bus timetables available.

Location is really good to as it's just heading out of Sorrento so not on the main street but less than a 5 minute walk to the main square and at the bottom of the hill so no great climb. The views from the restaurant and the terrace were breathtaking. Unfortunately it rained a lot so didn't get the full benefit during our visit.

Our only complaint would be the price of beer and soft drinks in the hotel, they were a bit pricey. But beer and soft drinks cost more than the UK in Sorrento . Hence only the 4 stars. We all loved the hotel and when we visit Sorrento again this is the hotel we would stay in and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay of Naples. We got a room facing the gardens at the back which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foodies38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just back from 5 days at this lovely hotel. Unfortunately we couldn't experience the wonderful terraces or swimming pools due to the rainy weather however every other aspect of the hotel was great. Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful food with a large selection of choice. Some say expensive but we were on half board so had effectively paid upfront. Everything you could want for breakfast .. a vast selection of hot and cold. The views from the lounge and dining room are stunning.

Easy walk 5 minutes into the town and 10 minutes from the bus / train station.

Even though we did not book the more expensive sea view room, the view over the garden was ok and with the poor weather didn't get chance to sit on the balcony anyway. If it had been better weather, would have lounged on one of the few large open terraces anyway.

Overall, excellent hotel .. hopefully we will return some time when the weather is kinder!

The Davies family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaviesfamilyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing