We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff are the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Ww stayed her for 10days in May this year and were very pleased with the cleanliness of hotel,staff are very friendly and obliging,just keep saying Prego,thankyou and the room although small had good views of Bay of Naples and harbour.Room was vfery clean,bathroom clean but a lttle dated with it fittings.Breakfast and dinner were really good plenty of food and good waiter service at dinner,if you do not want dinner you can take lunch round the pool instead.
Our overall opinion was a really great hotel in a good position to walk to town. with great views and great staff.#
Would not reccomend out tour operator Classic Hilidays,very let down after complaining our return flight business class seats were not available as B.A had subcontracted a Titn Air plane to bring us home.Classic Holidays reply after many e mails 100 pounds and go away it was not our fault.We paid them not BA but would not use BA or Classic Holidays again.

Room Tip: Choose a high balcony room for a fantasticc view of Bay of Naples and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PENANGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I have just had a week at this hotel and first impressions were great the room was nice with good facilities and very clean but then it started the noise from 7.30am every morning if not the maids it was the function rooms being re-arranged after the previous nights wedding or other private functions which appeared to be more important than the other paying guests. We could not sit out on the balcony because of the noise from the traffic which is terrible in Sorrento as this hotel is situated by the side of a main road on the way out of the town. We had gone on half board basis but the food was not very good and more often than not cold when served. Breakfast was the worst not so much a buffet as rugby scrum. The only good thing about the dining room was the view. I would not go back to the hotel or the resort it was quieter in Rome !.
De. Derbyshire

Room Tip: Go for the 9th floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just returned from a week in this hotel and I cannot praise it highly enough. Staff were attentive and courteous. Food was very good. Room comfortable, although a double bed would have been nice. Swimming pool was a bit special - 5 levels with a waterfall feature - plenty of sunbeds and plenty of space. This was not our first time in Sorrento, but I don't thimk we'll belooking for alternative accomodation when we return in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - even a partial sea view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingwilbury64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you want anoisy holiday then come to this hotel. 0730hrs the dragging of tables and chairs starts in the function rooms that are located above some of the bedrooms. 1000hrs the dragging noise is still going on. Another wedding and christening today. The dragging of chairs and tables is very noisy at night as the functions are in full swing.
Then the traffic noise at the side of the hotel is constant. The hundreds of motor scooters going past the hotel is just incredible and being Italian they have to sound their horns at every chance.
Apart from the noise watch out for the charges in this hotel. Free Wi-Fi not a chance, it is 18 Euros for the week. The safe rental in your room is 21 Euros a week. Also there is a surprise "Sorrento tax" now for the first week of your stay, something like 20 Euros per couple. To hold your room for an extra few hours on leaving, 70 Euros!
However apart from the above the hotel is lovely and the rooms are very nice indeed. The facilities are lovely and the staff are very nice indeed. The food is a bit hit and miss, sometimes fantastic, other times not great.
That is my honest assessment and a personal one.

Room Tip: Avoid levels 3 and below like the plague if you do not like noise and you like to sleep after 0700hr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 1 week in May. Based on other reviews and on the hotel's own website we paid extra for a higher room. It was definitely worth it. People may not like this but you get what you pay for. We had a room on floor 10 and had superb views around the bay. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The pool area is good but the water it he pools was freezing.mit took a good 5 minutes of swimming to warm myself up. The food in the bars and restaurants was good quality and reasonably priced. All the staff, from front desk to waiters to the room service were all excellent. The hotel is only about 5 mins walk from the town and only about 10 minutes to e town centre. The mini bar in the room was quite expensive. We just bought bottled water, cans of opo ec from the supermarket about 2 minutes away at a fraction of the price. All in all an excellent hotel in a good location but if you want a good view with balcony etc you will need to pay the extra for it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinL_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I am aware that I am giving a 'thumbs down' to a popular hotel, so let me start off with the principal reason why. We visited with our baby at the end of May 2012 and had a horrid start. Despite booking a room for two adults and a baby, then getting confirmation that we'd have a cot, we turned up and there was no cot. When we asked for one the hotel told us it was £18 per day. Ouch. We had booked through Thomas Cook who responded well to try to help but the hotel's management were totally uninterested. To resolve this, we wandered through Sorrento until we found shop selling baby equipment (Io Bimbo) and bought a travel cot. Nightmare start.

Whilst the management's approach to our baby was poor, the waiters and cleaners were superb. Friendly, attentive and lovely. Everything you'd expect from Italy.

There is plenty to commend about the hotel. It is superbly positioned for views and Corso Italia (the busiest road). The pool area was lovely. It was very clean. As mentioned, most staff were good. The lunches were good and the occasional dish was excellent.

Beyond the main cot grumble I would add that the pool was very nippy in May and so few people went in (could have been heated). The breakfasts (much raved about here) were fine but no more. The evening meals were nice but it was odd to have food arrive on plates covered by cloches, only to have the 'big reveal' to uncover a plate of chips! I also would expect a fitness room (others like the Bristol next door, do have one).

We spoke to other guests who were rebuffed when they felt their room did not meet the booking. Again, it seems that the management were uninterested.

Overall, if you're heading there next week and you like the room that you're given and don't have kids, then you should enjoy it. However, if you want the management to respond to you then you may be disappointed. That may be fine for a tupenny B&B, but it isn't for an expensive four star hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are truly stunning.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank maneatshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from Sorrento after celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary last week and have to say the hotel, staff, service and views were outstanding. From the moment you arrive you are treat as a valued customer. we decided to pay for a sea view with views over looking the bay of Naples, Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius and i have to say paying the extra was well worth it. The hotel is a short walk to the town where you will find some lovely restaurants, bars and café's. The views from the hotel dinning rooms are also spectacular and the service and food choice is first class. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sorrento

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £135 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing