We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Grand !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and enjoyed every aspect of it. It is very "Grand" and opulent, with luxurious comfort and surroundings. The views are stunning, but do note, that this hotel does not actually face the bay, it is set in the hillside mostly overlooking the town of Sorento with the seaview and Vesuvius beyond. The higher your room, the better the view and from the top terrace of the top pool the views are breath taking.There is traffic noise at the front of the Hotel so if you want a peaceful room choose an idyllic terrace garden room at the back. The food is good (half board) but you can opt for A La Carte which is obviously expensive.
Service was excellent if not occasionally a little frantic at peak time, at dinner. Breakfast menu has wonderful choice buffet, all self service with hot and cold options, all set in the superb terrace restaurant with views over the town and bay.
There was live entertainment relaxed style on a couple of evenings most enjoyable or you could simply chill out in the lounge areas or the outside terraces.Our room was spacious and opulent with a very comfortable bed, and sparklingly clean.
Would we return to this hotel ? ...... Definitely !
P.S. Sorento is not for the disabled you need to be fairly sure footed as there are steps and uneven cobbled streets and lanes.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Bariwns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just got back from one week at the Capodimonte Hotel in Sorrento, We have stayed her twice before so expected it to be good and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is spotless All of the staff are excellent very helpful pleasant cant do enough for you.
It has cascading Pools which are lovely you can get a Pool to yourself at times which is lovely Food at the poolside is very good and they also have an al a carte dining area which at night would be very nice.
Breakfast was good with a good choice if you are on half board you can opt to swop the evening for lunchtime, The evening menu was not the best we have had for a hotel of this quality but it was okay.
We upgraded to a premier room which was very good it overlooked the pool and was a good size and had all that you needed in it plus a balcony that you could sit on, the last time that we went we had a normal room which was on the road side it was very noisy no balcony to sit on and small, but of course up grading costs.
Drinks are quite expensive in the hotel but they are in many hotels, we would return here when we have saved up some more money.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spent a lovely few days at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte, Sorrento, Italy. The 5 pools were just great, the breakfast busy but very good and as for the views - you couldn't get better. I would definately go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view - it's a bit more expensive but it's like a living painting, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRWBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great location on a cliff overlooking the bay of Sorrento.the pool area is amazing. Easy walking to the center of the village. We had bed and breakfast only, so a reasonable price. Only set menu for dinner and lunch only available poolside. In the village there are some great restaurants. Room was fine but a little noisy from the road beneath. Lots of evening entertainments. Recommend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

What a fantastic location and such a beautiful pool area. It's worth paying extra for the sea view. The sight of Vesuvius first thing in the morning just lifts the spirits. Great food, fantastic service and tastefully decorated throughout. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms along our corridor (room 610)were quiet and had amazing seaviews(extra cost) and we're eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here on half board from 23rd April till 7th May.The views from the hotel and the decor could not be faulted,but the room allocation is a lottery,whether you book a standard room or pay for an expensive upgrade.Quite a lot of sea view rooms at the fron of the hotel are noisy you can be under the restaurant on on top of a busy main road,that said our room was good as it was at the back and quiet except for some moron clip-clopping about constantly in heels above us.The breakfast was terrible and the coffee was undrinkable,previous nights potatoes and everything stone cold except for the fried eggs if you could get one as there was only one person cooking them for the whole hotel.The evening meals in the main restaurant were not somthing to look forward to very classy service but rubbish food.the staff in the main were miserable and the reception staff were most unhelpful ,watch your bill as they tried to charge us for drinks from the mini bar which we did not have.Overall this Hotel will charge you for every little thing they can think of,and they are very expensive,shame because it could be a good hotel with some changes.Would go back to sorrento in the future but not to the capodimonte.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanmombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We returned to Sorrento for our wedding Anniversary and friends birthday we thought we would try a different hotel to The Bristol.The views are just what your paying for, beautiful and breathtaking, although the Hotel was very clean we did find it to be very expensive, especially drinks which we recommend buying over in the supermarket for during the day and keeping in the mini bar, also keep account of what you spend as it is all charged to your room,The pools were freezing but the grounds kept immaculate, plenty of room around the pool but your towels will be removed from sun beds if you are gone over an hour. The sound of beds or chairs being dragged across the floors first thing in the morning is not a good wake up call, but our Rooms were kept very clean and fresh towels everyday.We preferred to eat out in the evening as there are lots of nice restaurants in town and a much better atmosphere than the Hotel, Recommend eating at 'O'Parrucchiano' and 'Bufalito' and for a great pizza 'Francos'.We love Sorrento and will return.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £136 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing