We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in an excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in an excellent position”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Could not fault anything about the Capodimonte. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and would recommend this if you enjoy eating out. We got mixed reports regading the quality and variety of food from other guests. The restaurants in Sorrento are varied and in the main very good. All of the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.Rooms were spacious and clean and ours, which was located on the ninth floor, had a superb view of the five swimming pools and the town and coast beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 8,9,10 or 11 looking out over the pool and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duggy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    564
    155
    66
    43
See reviews for
449
1,409
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I booked a 5 day break to the Gand Hotel Capodimonte as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday. The decor was very elegant, the staff helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. Always loads of loungers available - we would easily be able to change location several times a day to chase the sun. The views from the breakfast restaurant were breathtaking.

We found the location very handy for strolling into town in an evening.
The only slightly disappointing thing was we paid for a deluxe room, and the balcony was vey small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is built into the cliff overlooking the bay of Sorrento and is only a very short walk to the centre. We booked with Thomsons and took the airport transfer and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the hotel had extra staff on the reception so we didnt have the usual large queue on arrival which was excellent. The hotels public areas are decorated too a very high standard and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.

Our room was decorated to a high standard with a large bathroom and good size balcony. We booked cliff facing, so we werent expecting much of a view, but we were very pleased that we had a pretty garden. It also had the advantage that you avoid the noise from the busy road out the front of the hotel. If you have never been to Sorrento before you must understand that space is at a premium and everything is competing for it, the roads are often very busy and can be noisy. But this does not detract from the beauty of the place.

The thing that stood out the most was the views from the hotel, they are simply breathtaking. The restaurant is on the top of the front part of the hotel and whilst eating dinner you can see the whole bay of Sorrento, across to Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

We were half board and dinner was good and was well varied, with a buffet night where there is an amazing number of dishes on offer.

The pool is further up the cliff above the main part of the hotel and is tiered into multiple parts and for some reason was rather chilly even when the outside temperature was above 35C. Although, once you were in you soon got used to it. The pool has equally stunning views as the restaurant and the various bars the same.

The only thing that we would complain about was that there was a daily charge for using the in room safe.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just got back from a short stay at the Capodimonte Hotel. Could not fault it, absolutely fantastic views. Only 5 minute walk to Sorrento town which is beautiful. Staff were very friendly could not do enough for you. Food was great, pool area was lovely, no fight for sunbeds and waiters come round for your drink orders.
Room was spotless, nice and spacious with added bonus of air conditiong. Would advise you take your own hairdryer though ladies as they provide one but it is like what you used to get in the swimming pool changing rooms and after 5 mins pipe is so hot it burns your hand.
Cannot praise the hotel enough, shall definitely go back.
I booked with Cresta holidays and they too were very efficient , providing an excellent private taxi transfer to and from hotel.
This is definitely a hotel not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are lovely and quiet, looking down towards pool and a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I booked this hotel after extensive research and can honestly say I was not disappointed. The hotel was immaculate., views breathtaking and the service incredible. Big thank you to staff gennaro, salvatore and Guisy who made my stay extra special. I booked this holiday for my birthday and i had a brilliant time. It truly is the dolce vita!!! Domenica

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenicacatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

There is much that is really good about this hotel. Fantastic views over Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, bright, clean and spacious bedrooms, attractive public areas, good pools, lovely bar and terrace area and a great a la carte restaurant for lunches. Efficient and friendly housekeeping and bar staff. The position of the hotel is also good, raised up above the bay and only a short walk into town

So, what's not to like? Service in all the restaurant areas is erratic to say the least. Some days fast; other days, especially when the hotel is catering for outside functions or weddings, very slow. It's irritating to look across into another restaurant and see all your waiters. There is a lack of personal attention caused by the sheer turnover of guests and dining service would work so much better if one table were served by one waiter. Generally, the food was only average and there was a real lack of variety of fresh fruit and vegetables (other than salad).

Breakfast is over-crowded and a bit of a scrum and it seems bizarre to squash all your guests into one restaurant when the hotel claims to have at least three. This is the only hotel where I have had to queue (twice) to get a table for dinner. It's also very irritating not to be able to use one's evening half board towards the occasional evening in the a la carte poolside restaurant as many other hotels offer.

Capodimonte is one of several hotels and one restaurant in Sorrento owned by the Manniello family. It would have been lovely to eat in one or two of the others for a change, if only to see if the service and the food were better but, no, we weren't able to do this either.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room with balcony on floor nine. It was a very long walk and a few stairs to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A top hotel for service, facilities and food. We had a marvellous vacation based here.

Room Tip: You must get a room with balcony and sea view, its worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewildered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing