We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet our expectations!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our second stay in Sorrento having had a fabulous week at the Grand Hotel de la Ville (another of the Maniello hotels in Sorrento) last year. As the Capodimonte is from the same group, we expected the hotel to be of similar quality! We had heard great things about the Capodimonte but unfortunately the hotel did not meet all our expectations.

The location is unbeatable with gorgeous views of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. The hotel is a short walk to the centre of town and the main train station which was very convenient. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the swimming pools were very good! The hotel was furnished very well and was very clean throughout. Our room had a great view and was well equipped however the housekeeping staff were a bit slack at replenishing the shower gels and soaps and refreshing the glasses provided with the minibar.

What really disappointed us was the food and the staff. There was not a large selection at breakfast and it took a while for the empty dishes to be replenished. The majority of the food was displayed on the veranda and the setup was a bit haphazard so you never knew where to look for a plate or cutlery. Also because of the temperature of the air, the milk and yogurts were always warm! The food at the Grand hotel de la ville was first class and the capodimonte didnt come close.

On the whole the staff were not friendly and didnt make any effort to welcome us. The exception to this was Guisy who was responsible for seating at breakfast, she was very friendly and helpful. The staff at reception were not very efficient and didnt go the extra mile to help us.

We had a pleasant stay at the Capodimonte and yes the location is unbeatable but the food and the attitudes of the staff really let it down! Considering how much we paid and the quality of what we received, we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ensure you select a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    579
    161
    66
    44
See reviews for
462
1,466
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful stay to celebrate our Silver Anniversary in charming Sorrento. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Great location, just close enough to the town and offering the most wonderful views over the Bay of Naples. Great pool area, attentive staff and a lovely view from our Classic Double room, which was a good size and very clean. We chose the bed and breakfast option that allowed us to explore the numerous restaurants in the town which were all reasonably priced. The hotel is a little pricey for drinks and all added to your room bill so you need to be careful, however we would recommend the cocktails before going out for dinner! There is a different' special' each night. Will certainly go back. Probably best for couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms, 7th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was our third time at the hotel and sadly our last.
The hotel is in a excellent location overlooking Sorrento town with mount vesuvius in the distance,
just a small walk into town and there are plenty of good reasonably priced bars and restaurants.
Hotel staff are mostly pleasant and helpful with few exceptions.
Food ok but should be better quality for the price, drinks fair same as you would get and pay in town.
Pool area is the best part of the hotel with five swimming pools and plenty of sun loungers but they do need some more parasols,some are looking tired and have been patched up and some have old car tyres attached to the base [not what you expect from a quality hotel.
Now for the reason i have given such a low rating.
We were allocated a very poor room, it appeared to be a broom cupboard with a double bed in.
There were only two draws in the room one was in the desk under the tv which was ok for books etc and the other was in the bedside table which was useless as it was jammed in the small gap between the bed and wall. The bedroom area was approx 3.5m x 2.5m and the bathroom was so small that it was difficult to use the toilet or shower it was also dangerous.
Took rep to room and she agreed with us [our room was 911].
We payed full price for this room which was the poorest room we have ever stayed in any hotel.
Rep talked to manager who was not interested!.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank evesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Great hotel, great location. We stayed for B&B, reasonable price for May, decided not to eat in hotel other than for breakfast due to great selection of reasonably priced restaurants in walking distance and hotel seemed just a bit pricey. We had premier room which had an absolutely beautiful view. Can't fault the hotel at all - would go back. And almost forgot, the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you can, get one with a sea view, it is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Fab hotel. Best views in Sorrento. Great place to stay. Just a 10 min walk into the town centre. Gorgeous setting with olive groves and sprawling up the cliff edge. Just incredible.
Great food and staff.
Pool very cold but with the most spectacular panoramic views.
Sorrento is without a doubt the best place to stay on the Amalfi Coast as getting around is easy and simple by boat to the other places - Amalfi/Capri (a must)/Ravello/Positano.
Would LOVE to go back here.

Room Tip: Our first room was terrible. The view was a white wall. Felt like a prison cell. So after much persi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaB186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savonlinna, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Anyone coming to Sorrento who wants a hotel should stay here. The price/quality ratio is outstanding, as is the staff. The people were immensely helpful not only with things within the hotel itself, but also in helping us plan tours to Paestum (the highlight of the trip), Pompeii and Naples. We would recommend you get the tours to Pompeii through the hotel after your arrival, their agent Golden Tours Sorrento had wonderful guides. The food in the hotel was excellent and the breakfast buffet a wonder - but get your coffee from the bar not the 'american' watery drink at the buffet. Also make sure you get a room on the upper floors as the music from weddings can be loud! Try to get an ocean/Vesuvius view, too. Only drawback was the 30 min walk to the railway station, but there was so much to see on the walk you hardly noticed it. Only 5 minutes walk into town. The outdoor pools were a bit cool but are beautiful with wonderful views, and the 'jacuzzi' pool was fun.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise from wedding parties. The second-most-expensive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelaTheFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

It's hard to go wrong with a hotel whose pool has a view of Mount Vesuvius! The rooms were large and luxurious. I booked a classic room, the second cheapest room. We had balconies with a partial sea view and a perfect view of the evening fireworks over the bay. It's a very short walking distance to anywhere you want to go in Sorrento. My children loved the hotel and their only complaint was that there weren't any tv channels in English (but with such beautiful views, who needs a tv?). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing