We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe room, I think not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic position with beautiful views of the bay, and only a ten minute walk into the centre where you can find some wonderful restaurants.
The staff on reception are exceptional, pity about some of the restaurant staff who range from lazy to rude. The exception being the chef cooking the fresh omelettes, he always had a smile on his face.
Our room had mould in the bathroom and bedroom, as did our friends'
The two singles beds shoved together were disgusting, thankfully the sheets were clean. The room desperately needs upgrading and perhaps then they would be entitled to charge Deluxe prices!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 716 and 718 until they've been refurbished. They're minging.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiebabe846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the position of the hotel and the courtesy of our reception staff.

About the negatives, we are very surprised by your comment on our restaurant staff: they are often praised by our guests and also here in other reviews; perhaps there was a misunderstanding but, we believe, nothing which couldn’t be solved by simply speaking to the Maitre d’Hotel.

As for the room you were in, unfortunately we cannot check now which one it was, but we would have surely transferred you to another room if we realized it was damp.

Anyway, thanks for reporting your opinion, we hope to welcome you again in the future to show how much we’ve improved.

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

After our last experience of Italian hotels we were wary of what to expect but the Capodimonte restored our faith in Italian hotels. Our bedroom was large and very clean with magnificent views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The bathroom was large with bath. separate shower and double washbasin. Food was particularly good and prepared to a high standard with plenty of options available at both breakfast and dinner. The staff were very friendly and efficient with a high standard of service. The gardens were a delight with plenty of sunbeds available, however, if you are subject to insect bites it is advisable to have some repellant available as flying insects are about in the grounds but not inside the hotel which is comfortably air conditioned. We went with Thomsons and our rep Simone although young was very friendly and efficient and did a good job of keeping us informed.

Room Tip: Choose aroom wih balcony and views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dir Sirs,

We are particularly glad to learn that we restored your faith in Italian hotels; tourism industry here in Italy has a long tradition. The value of hospitality is something we keep into high consideration.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the view, the rooms, and the professionalism and courtesy of the staff. The hotel is set on a cliff, surrounded by a luxuriant garden, so the presence of some insects is sometimes normal, even though we take all the necessary measures to avoid that they become a nuisance to our guests.

Thank you again for reviewing us on Trip Advisor, we hope to welcome you again soon

Best Wishes
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel has arguably the best location in Sorrento, set high up on the outskirts of town it has panoramic views of Vesuvius and the surrounding hills to one side and the rooftops of Sorrento to the other. Worth paying extra for a sea view. The overall experience was very good, reception staff helpful, bar staff attentive and funny and our well appointed room was superb. The only two negatives were the breakfast set up which was poorly organized and the one a la carte meal we had, which although good was very overpriced and did not represent value for money. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Mrs. Cathy,

Thank you for your kind words here on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you enjoyed the pleasant view of the gulf of Naples and the convenient location of our hotel.

We will convey your feelings to the staff, they will be delighted: our guests’ praise is a source of pride for them and an incentive to keep the service on very high standards. We will also take into account your comments about breakfast and the à la carte restaurant and discuss it with the staff; we know that there is still room for improvement.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the future

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Excellent location the views from the all the rooms are superb ! Beware of booking a tired mouldy room!!!! Breakfast buffet badly laid out which wouldn't be too bad if the waiters were more helpful. Very helpful staff on reception but they were unable to find us another room even though we asked for an upgrade!! Our room was NOT delux !!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor, we are glad to know that you’ve enjoyed the location of our Hotel.

Since our restaurant is so big and we give our guests the choice to seat inside or outside the terrace, the breakfast buffet is prepared on a large surface and it seems to be badly laid out, we are sorry that the restaurant Staff has not been enough helpful to you, we are sure that they didn’t notice the problem.

We are really sorry about the room, we use to offer automatically up-selling to our guests upon arrival, but probably we had no better rooms than the one you booked for that period.
We hope to see you here at the Hotel Capodimonte again; it will be our pleasure to offer you a better room.

Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we only have great reviews on this place......we were booked into this hotel as part of a package with a tour company........our room was beautiful and overlooked the sea........just lovely.....the breakfast was lovely and our dinner also..........we stayed in Italy for near 4 weeks and this would have had to be our nicest hotel (we stayed mostly in B & B's)..........we didnt use the pool.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Client,

We are so grateful for your valued support on Trip Advisor and we are glad to know that your stay in our Hotel has been so “lovely”.

We thank you for saying that the service we offer at breakfast and dinner exceeded your expectations but it’s such a shame that you didn’t use our five levels pool which is overlooking the gulf of Naples, surrounded by a fantastic scenery.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you here again so that you can have the opportunity to have a swim by the pool, maybe next time you’ll write a new review with something good on it too.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I booked this hotel as one of thomsons platinum hotels as part of my wedding booking. We also had another family member in the same hotel.
The location itself is great, the food is good but the pool a little disappointing from the photos.
The worst thing we're our rooms. After trawling the maze to find ours we were faced with a damp and black mouldy mess. My father in law was placed in nothing more than a shoe box which the previous occupant had used as an ash tray.
The staff would do nothing for us which was upsetting because we had emailed in 3 weeks before our arrival explaining we were getting married and needed 2 double rooms so we could seperate the night before! We ended up also having to pay for a third room on top of the huge amount of money we had already paid for only one weeks stay in a half board hotel. We at first asked for an upgrade but they told us the hotel was full. We offered to pay to upgrade but ey said the only way was to pay for another room for two nights!
I can't tell you how much this place put a dampener on our wedding week. We couldn't wait to get out of the place every morning.
So so so disappointed and felt we had far overpaid for a poor poor hotel.
We intend to go back for our first anniversary but would never book back into this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jester0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay in our hotel.

Unfortunately we cannot check your reservation and your requests, but your personal opinion affects very deeply the image of our property and as well of our staff which is one of our strong points, always very helpful and pleasant, they try always very hard to please any request forwarded by our clients when possible. This is proved by more than 500 positive reviews here on Trip Advisor.

However, we can assure you and all the readers of the above review that we don’t have any room to be compared to an ash tray or a shoe box but just different types of room, with all the facilities of an high standard four stars Hotel.

We Hope that despite the misunderstanding, you will give us another chance in the future lo let us change your opinion on us.

Best Wishes
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Overall, an enjoyable stay. Clean, well located and friendly. They offer great excursions to Capri, Positano and Amalfi. The pools were lovely and there's plenty of room to sunbake. The a la carte restaurant was really fantastic; great food, wine and excellent service. The views are lovely too. I thought that the hotel catered too much to English tourists and therefore lacked a bit of authenticity... Particularly the breakfast, buffet restaurant and music. Apart from that, I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Clients,

We’re so glad to learn that you had a nice stay with us.

Our A’ la carte restaurant is the perfect place for an exclusive dinner experience, our guests enjoys very much to take a seat around the pool surrounded by a lovely and romantic atmosphere with candle light and a fantastic choice of local and international specialities served by our staff; everything becomes nearly unreal.

Thank you for supporting us, we hope to see you again sooner or later at the Hotel Capodimonte.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £156 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing