We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Took a chance on picking this hotel but came up trumps, what a brilliant location and amazing view over Sorrento, the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The hotel itself is excellent, very clean, everything you could ask for, friendly staff and superb Restuarant (the A'La Carte) with its amazing views from the terrace and stunning food which would rate against any top class hotels/restaurants back home. One word of warning, the pool is bloody freezing....

This is in an excellent location for touring around the Amalfi cost and Sorrento. The town centre is about a 10 minute walk away, Positano is an hour away (€7 bus near the train station) with Amalfi a further 30 mins along one of the most amazing costal roads going.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely return when I next come to Sorrento....

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    573
    159
    66
    44
See reviews for
457
1,447
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was our first trip to Italy and this hotel and glad to say we loved both ,we stayed for just over a week in July 2012 and after reading some very negative reviews i thought i should at least give our opinion of this hotel.After spending hours on line i finally chose this hotel(the picture of the girl looking over the sea from the swimming pool SOLD IT)we had a very friendly welcome from desk duty staff, we was then taken to our room ,we had upgraded to a room with a sea view with balcony,.,..i was a bit dubious as when i booked on line
it said a partial sea view (i was thinking we might have to dangle off our balcony to see it ),no need to worry we had a fantastic room with the most amazing view over the sea ,a bottle of prosecco on ice was awaiting us on our arrival ,the room was lovely, nice and bright with loads of room ,good wardrobe space and good lighting in the bathroom ,and a very comfy bed .
The breakfast are fantastic from cold ham/cheese ,full English and you pick your choice of omelets cooked in front of you,fresh fruits/jams some people have pointed out that you have
to get get your own coffee/tea (and your problem is???)and i have to say i thought the waiting
staff was polite with both myself and my partner i would prefer that to a person who grins from ear to ear for no apparent reason all day long surely that would be a bit odd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel is lovely and some very pretty gardens But the best is yet to come ,the five swimming
pools (ok ,one is very small)but they are wonderful you never feel like anyone is invading your
space and if you want to recreate the girl in the photo(ok she's a model)go to top one(pool), go to the edge when they do the waterfall(every 3hours or so)and you've got a fantastic picture .
waiters come and take snack/drinks orders around the pools but you can get lunch around the
bar ...if you can be bothered to move and this comes from someone who hates sunbathing .
I did not eat in the hotel in the evenings as i like to explore so i can not comment on that .
I thought the hotel,staff ,chambermaids were just lovely.

Room Tip: Up Grade to a sea view and balcony as the other rooms around the back ,still nice with garden views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeldustLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Sir,

We are extremely grateful for your kind review here on Trip Advisor; we appreciate when guests like you take the time to write something even months after their visit, it means that we left a positive impression and it’s a source of pride.

Thanks again for your positive words about the room, the facilities and the professionalism and courtesy of the staff, we will convey your feelings to them.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the future

Best Wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

beautiful hotel fantastic service, food is excellent, but take your life in your hands when you step outside, very dangerous roads, no local nice bars or restaurants, too many mopeds and cars racing round hairpin roads. not a holiday for children or mates, more for lovers and oldies, had a lovely boat ride to Capri for the day very exclusive and expensive but nice to see.

Room Tip: best rooms are set aside for people that book direct, not for travel tour companies, very expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodifitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so grateful for your valued support on Trip Advisor and we are very satisfied to know that your stay has been “idyllic”.

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you again in the near future

Best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I looked for weeks before choosing this hotel as there is such a large variety of hotels to choose from. Definitely made the right decision although the start was not great.
We were on a special break so chose a prestige room for the 2 nights at a cost of 522euros B & B.
Easy to find in sorrento, near town only 5 min walk.
I had asked prior to our visit what the difference between a Prestige and Premier was and was told the Prestige were on a higher floor, had seen from other reviews there were complaints re noise from the dining room
Parked at the entrance very easily and check in was efficient Our initial room was 618, the promised large balcony was small directly next to other balconies with no screening, we also looked straight over the road with accompanying noise. The room itself was large, clean and beautifully furnished with a comp bottle of prosecco. We were not given a safe code or wi if code, bathrobes or slippers. After a visit to reception this was resolved and I was assured we were in a prestige room even though we were only in the 6th floor. Sat on balcony but the noise from the road was far too loud to enjoy the view. Returned to reception and spoke to Roberta who was fantastic and immediately checked rooms available and we were moved to room 1004 which overlooked the pool and town. Fantastic views day and night. Balcony was larger, much quieter and screened so very private. Room was large. Extremely clean with lovely furniture. Wifi was good. Pool area beautiful as were all public areas. Breakfast was very good. Great choices of food and good service from waiting staff. We had a fabulous few days in Sorrento with amazing weather, day trip to capri, and great restaurants this was enhanced greatly by our stay at Capodimonte and the excellent care and attention from Roberta.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that our reception staff was able to solve your initial problem with the room and that you overall enjoyed your stay.

Thank you very much in particular from Roberta for your compliments, she was delighted to know you remembered about her.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Best Wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay at this hotel. My brother was getting married in Sorrento and we all booked in at the same hotel. In our room was myself, my wife and our 14 month old daughter. When we booked we were told we would have to upgrade slightly to get a room big enough for a cot, we were also told the cot would have to be requested on arrival and would only cost a couple of euros per night. On our arrival we found our room was no bigger than anyone else's and that the cot was priced at 17.50 euros a night. A ridiculous price for a cot that would probably cost less the £50 to buy in Britain. The reception staffs helpful suggestion was that our daughter could sleep in he bed between us. We made a big issue about this to the rep and eventually they picked up the bill but apparently ths is a standard cost.

We went to our room and found we had a nice size balcony but it was at the back of the hotel and faced a brick wall. Due to the position of the hotel ( being built in to the side of the mountain) our balcony only got sun for about an hour and a half. He majority of balconys were like this and for a sea view, or even partial sea view, you have to pay a substantial amount more. We also discovered that the safe costs 3.50 euros per night and the wifi costs 6 euros. You dont have a kettle or tea and coffee making facilities in the room and an iron costs a couple of euros for an hour.

The restaurant and pool area are lovely and the views are spectacular. The Meals were three courses each night on half board with plenty of choice. The waiters were all pleasant and helpfully. Breakfast was a buffet style with lots of choices. Here was a chef ready to cook freak omlettes and fried eggs who was always very nice and cheerful.

The only complaint I would have about this side is that they don't really cater for young children with the meals. Our daughter is usually asleep just after 7 and the restaurant doesn't open till then. We asked, as we were half board could we change her meal to lunch time to get a proper meal for her but they said she want entitled to a meal on her own and would have to eat from our plate !! Due to the lack of facilities in the room we struggled to give our daughter proper meals for the first few days. We eventually got meals shipped over from Britian when more of our party arrived and took them up to the pool bar to be heated every night.

This hotel has a nice bar area, again with a lovely view across the bay and they have entertainment on most evenings. The bar is also the only place in the hotel that you can pay cash for anything. Everywhere else, including the pool bar and restaurant, you have to sign for them and they go on your room bill. The drinks are rather expensive so I would recommend you pay your room bill off at the end of every day to keep on top of it.

The hotel itself is well presented and always appeared very clean. The maids cleaned the rooms everyday unless you asked them not to. The layout of the hotel is quite confusing with several different lifts going to different areas. For example if you lived on the 2nd or 3rd floor you would have to get in to the elevator at the entrance, go up to the reception on level 5 then walk to a different elevator or set of stairs to take you back down. This isn't a problem it just takes a few days to get an idea of the layout.

All in all I would say this is a nice hotel in a fantastic location but it is expensive and probably not the kind of place to take young children. I say the last bit about the facilities for children not the attitude of the staff. They were all very friendly and tolerant with our daughter.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jasper1234NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you overall liked our hotel.

We would only like to clarify some things you pointed out in your comment:

-About the price of the cot, all the travel companies and agencies we work with know very well that we can arrange it, but there is a charge depending by the different agreements; whoever told you the price was only a couple of euros per night was wrong. However, we are glad that the reception staff gave you an useful suggestion.

-It is not true that we do not cater for children at all, but naturally if you need a different kind of food for the baby is something you should pay extra; we even have a children menu just for them at the restaurant!

-Prices are not more expensive than any other hotel offering the same high standard service in Sorrento, and are also published in any rooms and several public areas.

Anyway we are glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the location of the hotel, together with the courtesy of our staff; we will convey your feeling to them.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This Hotel has a great location,only a 5 minute walk into town and a great location as a base for side trips to Capri etc.The rooms were comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly.The breakfast menu was sufficient but there are so many restaurants with reasonable prices and good food that eating dinner out might be a better option.I was really impressed with the people in Italy (very friendly and charming) and the food was good and reasonable.Many people speak English so you,ll have no problem getting around.Thanks again Cathy and Sally,Toronto,Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor, we’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the courtesy and professionalism of the staff.

Italian people are indeed like their land, welcoming and sunny!

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Best Wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was my third visit to Sorrento and the Capodimonte was the best of the three hotels I've stayed in. Stunning views from it's cliff top location, wonderful food and friendly staff made it a memorable stay. Yes, it's a bit pricey, but it is a four-star hotel in Italy so that's to be expected. One complaint, €18 a week to use wi-fi that should be free, in public areas at least. But don't let that put you off what is a superb hotel. One tip - make sure you pay that bit extra for a sea view. There can't be many better sights than Vesuvius first thing in the morning!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob0040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated the professionalism and courtesy of the staff and the location of our hotel. Especially the view is truly stunning and one of the main reasons behind our success together with hard work.

We will share your suggestion about the wi-fi with the Management, they will take it into consideration when planning for next season.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing