We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by the sum of its parts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spoilt by the sum of its parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Hotel has some impressive elements; the entrance, the terraces, the bar. Unfortunately this is offset by some other aspects of the Hotel, like the very bright dining room which lacked any atmosphere, the reception staff who are not that engaging and the dining room staff who come across a little abrupt and seemed to be constantly chatting / arguing with each other even across the restaurant and the cost of some of the snacks which were excessive. Despite the fact that the Hotel is located just outside of town it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre and does benefit from some great view of the bay. The room was OK but needed a little attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    527
    151
    66
    42
See reviews for
430
1,334
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I read other reviews before our holiday so knew what others thought. We did not have a sea view, and had read others say that this was essential. However wondered how long you would spend in a hotel room looking at the view anyway so saved some money and booked a classic room. We loved our room at the back of the Hotel, room 421 was quiet and had a lovely terrace looking at the plant strewn cliff which was lit up at night and looked lovely. The room was very large, and we particularly appreciated having plenty of clothes hangers, and drawers with plenty of space for everything. The decor is pleasant and the rooms very clean, and kept that way with daily servicing including clean bedding. We slept well, though the bed was perhaps a little harder that we are used to.
All of the staff were lovely and so pleasant and obliging. Thank you Antonio for cooking our breakfast eggs each morning with a smile and just as we liked them, your omelets are lovely. On the subject of breakfast, it was wonderful everything that anyone could possibly want, including bucks fizz which had less and less orange juice every morning until on our last day it was just prosciutto!
The reception staff were cheerful and obliging. The location lovely, within an easy stroll from the centre. We are both in our sixties and I have mobility problems but we managed the walk without a problem. But there is a bus stop right outside when we wanted it with the bus every 20 minutes.
unfortunately you have missed your chance this year as the Hotel was shutting down as we left, but will reopen at Easter, We cannot wait to go back!
We travelled from the airport on the airport bus which leaves from right outside the terminal. The cost was 10 euros each and the trip took 1.5 hours. We then got a taxi from the terminus at the train station to the hotel and the trip took 10 minutes and cost 20 euros, so beware!
We went from 23rd -30th October, we had three lovely warm sunny days, followed by three rainy chilly days so will go earlier in the year net time. According to Guiseppe in reception the sun is guaranteed from Early June to September, before and after that the chances are mixed.

Room Tip: We did not pay the extra for a sea view room and did not regret it. The breakfast rooms aand terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The location, high above the town, ensures that there are stunning view of the coast and Vesuvius. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are efficient and helpful. The food was of a very high quality and the breakfasts particularly memorable! The hotel deserves credit for providing such fantastic pool areas. All enjoy sensational views and there are plenty of poolside furniture and towels. We were fortunate in that the weather was beautifully warm during our stay and we took advantage of the excellent facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richiemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times before, quite a few years ago. It still has that prime position, great views, and a lovely pool area. Unfortunately, however, it has lost its edge.

In particular the evening food can only be descibed as mediocre (except for the Grand Buffet night which was good). All orders are taken at the table and waiter served. With one or two exceptions the starters and main courses were distinctly average and occasionally poor. For a pricey hotel this was especially unexpected. There was never a cheese option on the dessert which was disappointing. The wine waiter was also quite brusque and rude.

The breakfast was better, and a special mention to Antonino the eggs chef who was excellent. However it is now almost all self service (good - should do this in the evenings) but unfortunately they brought in more tables to hold the food, but did not remove any dining furniture which made the terrace restaurant very crowded and difficult to negotiate. As most guests are couples why keep so many tables with 4 large chairs?

For such a supposedly classy hotel I would have also expected that the in-room safe and wi-fi would be included in the price - not so, an extra charge. The air conditioning is very noisy and pretty ineffectual. The rooms are well furnished. Note also that some sea view rooms are excellent, others are marred by rooftop obstructions.

Having had great holidays here in the past we were very disappointed, especially with the food. There must be much better options in Sorrento, especially at the prices they charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SlickoWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in April 2012 and stayed in room 609. Amazing viiews of the coast of Naples and Sorrento and would recommend staying in this room.Staff go out of their way to help and are very polite.

However, do not book with Thomas Cook, who had not even bothered to let this charming hotel know that we were honeymooners. We were greeted with two single beds pushed together and made to look like a double bed. However, after my husband had spoken to the Hotel about us being on our honeymoon - nowhere on the paperwork did Thomas Cook mention we were on our honeymoon!!!!

The beds were soon rectified and a bottle of champs on ice was waiting for us upon our return. So thumbs up to the Hotel and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights 22/10/12 - 25/10/12.

We upgraded to a premium room and asked for a room on the upper floors (as per other comments on here) and we were allocated to Room 907, which was an excellent room. Beautiful views of Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.

Our room was a large lovely room, in a quiet position at the end of the corridor. Tiled floor throughout, spotlessly clean.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and the within the restaurant you could choose between eating on the terrace or inside; but as we had beautiful sunshine during our stay, we sat on the terrace overlooking the town and the bay.

The hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk from the town centre which suited us; it is also in an elevated position built into cliffs, which enabled the beautiful views.

If you can afford too, definitely upgrade ! We plan on returning next year and we shall request the same room.

Room Tip: If you can afford too, definitely upgrade to a sea view room, well worth it. Try the 8th, 9th or 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPoppy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We booked a Premier Room; our room was second class plus we were downgraded from our friends. When asked to move to a room with appropriate space for Premier, we were told hotel full. 5 minutes later our friend asked for a move and was immediately given an empty room on Floor 11. This upset us and made us value our room even less. Reception told me I was ‘unlucky’ with a smirk. I certainly am unlucky I booked Capodimonte.

There is no sea view from the room. You can see some sea from balcony but that is only possible when it is warm and dry. Only 9 to 4 at this time of year. This meant a big reduction in the value of our room. My wife wanted to enjoy a sea view but paid a painful price for using the balcony with multiple mosquito stings.

Technology is lacking. There is only one electrical socket and that Italian. Like most travellers I need to charge mobile phones (2), Kindle (2), camera, laptop, iPad, etc Since the hotel is used a lot by British guests, a UK 13 amp fuse socket would help; a simple addition to make. The code for connection has to be repeatedly entered; I calculate I had to enter it over 50 times during my stay.

In the small room, the desk is made even smaller since it has to accommodate the TV. In this day and age the TV should be wall mounted.

The safe instructions are wrong. I wasted my time following them. I reported the fault to be told I needed a code first. Why is this not included on the instructions?

I was dismayed to find no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

The bathroom is tiny. It is so old-fashioned with faulty equipment. Make up mirror does not work, staff do not reload empty containers; the plastic shower sheet is awful; the window is battered and paint peeling. There are only 2 bath towels which meant one person using wet towels. The final straw was an infestation of ants; in a 4 star hotel!

The Grounds

Not so much room for complaint here although my negative mood wanted to find fault. The main disappointment was that the five pool cascade was not operated until the last day after I complained. It is one of the leading features of the hotel.

Hotel surprises

One reason we chose the hotel was that there is plentiful car parking nearby. At this time of year it is almost empty. To then be told to pay 50 euros for 2 days parking was quite a shock.

We found it interesting to hear others shocked by unforeseen extras. While at the reception desk a couple arrived with a baby. The receptionist said “I know you don’t know this but the baby charge is 17 euros a night”. This ‘extras’ without warning policy is so dishonest. The hotel’s remit is to make guests welcome, not to fleece them at every opportunity.

Room Tip: You will have to choose a Prestige room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing