We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for one night before leaving Sorrento. The hotel is beautiful although the entrance is surprising as it has automatic glass doors and a lift facing which takes you up to the 5th floor to the reception. The hotel itself is beautiful with good sized room, mine had a partial sea view with balcony. The breakfast is excellent. I found the hotel very large and impersonal, the staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. I personally would not recommend this hotel, but all a matter of taste. I stayed at the De La Ville last year which I much preferred, position and attitude of staff were superior.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted you liked your room and the location close to the city centre.

We are very surprised about your comment on the staff, which usually, is praised by all our customers. Our staff is always ready to help with a smile and always very professional. You praised instead the grand Hotel De la Ville, that is a sister hotel, and we have the same high standard of quality and professionalism with all the Manniello Hotels.

We hope you will give us the opportunity in the nearly future to show you that quality and service are not as you described, and maybe keeps more than one night with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,
we send all our regards
Custome relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay here. We stayed on the bed and breakfast plan. The hotel is on a hillside with breathtaking views of the harbour and Mt. Veuvius in the distance. We splurged for the ocean view room and it was well worth it. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the morning watching Sorrento wake up and in the evening for the beautiful view. The room was nicely appointed with great bed linens, tile floors and marble bath. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning in the outdoor dinning area and service was excellent. The pool area, located on the top floor, was beautiful and not to be missed. It was a short walk into town but far enough away that you had peace and quiet when you were at the hotel. While they did offer complementary coffee in the restaurant, a maker in the room would have been nice. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay while in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our location, we are a few minutes walk from the frisky center of Sorrento and in a higher position so that from our balconies you can enjoy a fantastic view of the entire Gulf of Naples and its islands and down the beautiful city of Sorrento, but at the same time we are in a quiet and peaceful area.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff and our wonderful extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,

we send all our regards
Custome relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Ideally located just 5 minutes walk from the main square of Sorrento, the hotel is set back from the main road, constructed in the hillside, and with panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. The cleanliness and service were excellent, and the friendliness of the staff exceptional. The food was varied, with an extensive buffet for breakfast, and a menu containing a selection of five dishes for each course. We would recommend opting for a room with a sea view, as those without were something of a let down. We also suggest keeping a mental note of the 'room tab' as it's easy to get carried away with bar and snack bills, which are settled on departure and can be a bit of a surprise. But we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view to make the most of the holiday. Rooms without are ok, but don't have impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy you appreciated our convenient location, just a gentle stroll away from the main road, the cleanliness and decor of the rooms and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you again for recommending us, we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Until then please accept our

Best Regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on two occasions during the past twelve months. Firstly, last October on the recommendations of a Thomas Cook Rep and secondly in June when we returned with friends. The second trip was arranged because of our amazing experiences on the previous visit. The hotel is beautiful. It occupies a hillside overlooking the stunning harbour in Sorrento. The rooms are beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff are very polite and attentive and really make guests feel special. The food provided is of an excellent quality and variety. The meals in the evening in the restaurant overlooking the bay will be a lasting memory for all of us. We will certainly return to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in Sorrento. One word of caution to anyone wanting to book a visit - make absolutely sure that you have the right hotel. There is another hotel of the same name located in Naples and it should be avoided at all costs!

Room Tip: The rooms either face outwards across the bay or inwards towards the garden on the hillside. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad you liked our hotel so much that you came twice in a year! This really makes us proud because it means that our efforts are appreciated by our guests.

Thank you again for all the compliments about the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, the view, the rooms and the quality and variety of the meals served on our terraces with a breathtaking view over the bay.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay the service and view was amazing will recommend highly and will definitely return.The room was lovely just like the advertisement.The staff was very pleasant and helpful our needs were anticipated and met.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely words spent while commenting about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are extremely happy you will recommend us to your friends and that you had a superb holiday.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a very enjoyable holiday in Grand Hotel Capodimonte. The rooms were spotless and staff very good. The views from hotel were fantastic & it was only a short walk into town.
We have stayed in other Manniello hotels before and are all excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your holiday and found our hotel to be excellent, together with the others of the same family.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Capodimonte in Sorrento 2nd to 9th September on a half board basis. I have to say that I was mostly impressed by the place. Great vista from the hillside overlooking the town of Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Unfortunately, the location means it’s a bit of a trek to both the Port and the Railway Station for those all important excursions.

We paid for the sea view and enjoyed a few evenings on our balcony with a pre-dinner drink watching the sun go down – an upgrade well worth the money. The room was adequate, clean and nicely decorated. My only complaints about the room were that the windows came equipped with a motorised shutter instead of drapes, and there were no tea/coffee making facilities. As I normally wake up a couple of hours before my wife, I would normally excuse myself to the balcony to read until she wakes. Sea view rooms face due east and catch the rising sun, so between the brilliant sunlight and the noise from the shutter motor, there was no way to access the balcony without disturbing the wife. also, I didn't care much for the two single beds pushed together instead of a proper double.

Bathrooms are quite nice – lots of typically Italian ceramic and marble and a huge mirror over the basins. The complimentary grooming products were pretty uninspiring and nothing special. Bathrobes would have been nice too, but again, not provided.

Food from the lunch and dinner a la carte menus was pretty good, but I was a little disappointed in the half board menus in terms of both quality and choice. Breakfast is a bit of a trial at peak times with not a lot of room to move although the food was OK. They have a very nice, reasonably priced, wine list. If you’re there on Half Board, you don’t get a credit when you eat in the a la carte restaurant in the evening, just a 10% discount… after they’ve added 15% service.

The largely child-free pool area is fabulous with sun beds available at all times . The sun beds have two positions – almost sitting-up and almost lying-down! These are supplemented by matching deckchairs.

Entertainment at the hotel was a bit lacking. We caught the ‘Lifeguard in Concert’ a couple of times, and saw a couple of Herberts with guitars/mandolins wandering around the bar area on one occasion. Having eaten out in town 4 of the 7 nights, the hotel was always very quite on our return with nothing to entice you to stay in the bar.

All in all though, a nice hotel and a nice holiday. If I were staying again, I think I’d stay on a bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Stay on a Bed & Breakfast basis - The a la carte choice and quality are far better than the Half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des_Munn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are glad you liked the typical decor of our room, with local Sorrento furniture and the breathtaking views provided by our hotel. About the shutter, we have to say that it is often mentioned by our guest as one of the best things available in the rooms, since once it is completely shut it completely isolate them from any external noise, a thing normal drapes cannot do.

Thanks also for your remarks about food and our extensive wine list; as for entertainment we have piano 4 times a week, mostly by the pool area (only on Saturdays by the lounge bar or when weather is chilly), the “herberts” you saw on Thursday and a singer on Tuesdays..so actually 6 out of seven days a week.

We are delighted you appreciated your holiday and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again as soon as possible

Best regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £137 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing