We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful home base for a week's vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Brea, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful home base for a week's vacation”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for five nights, using Sorrento as our home base to take day trips to Capri, Amalfi, Pompeii, & Naples. The Capodimonte was a fantastic property--our room had a patio facing Sorrento and giving a beautiful view of the whole Bay of Naples. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room the night we checked in. The pool has five levels and waterfalls connecting them. The included breakfast is very nice, served on a patio that also has that sweeping view of Sorrento. The staff was friendly and helpful with all requests. I would definitely stay here again. I didn't realize how enchanted I would become with Sorrento--it's such a gorgeous resort town and it's conveniently connected to the environs by bus, train, and boat. I heartily recommend Sorrento in general and this property in particular for a week's stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottM92821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments make us very happy and encourage us to keep high our standards of quality and hospitality.

We are very happy you liked our rooms, comfortable and with fantastic sea view balconies, our pools, with their exceptionally cascade designed and our breathtaking view of the entire gulf of Naples.

We are glad that you’ve noticed our efforts in preparing a rich and healthy breakfast to satisfy all types of taste with sweet and savory dishes cooked with meal fresh and typical of our beautiful region.

Please come back early to spend another wonderful holiday with us.

Best regards,
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    564
    155
    66
    43
See reviews for
449
1,411
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hotel Capodimonte is located just up the hill from the town proper. As such, it has the advantage of truly wonderful views of the town and the entire Bay of Naples. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. We payed extra for a higher floor with a balcony facing into town. The view was spectacular. The pool area is layer out down the side of the hill, with something like 6 or 7 cascading pools, each with a magnificent view of the bay. The only negative we found was the service personnel in the hotel restaurant. The service was good, it's just that the servers were not at all friendly, as opposed to all the other service personnel in the hotel. They were rather haughty but once we got used to it, we decided it was simply their way of trying to project an image of professionalism. I should mention that the breakfast was incredible as was a special evening buffet we tried our first night there. Sorrento was a wonderful place for us to unwind after spending several days hustling through Rome, Pompeii, and Naples. The town is friendly and filled with wonderful restaurants and shopping. It was an easy walk down the hill from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our property.

Our hotel is built into the side of a mountain on a small hill, and its location makes it so special. We are a few minutes walk from the frisky center of Sorrento and in a higher position so that from our balconies you can enjoy a fantastic view of the entire Gulf of Naples and its islands and down the beautiful city of Sorrento.

Thank you for praising our food and the effort we make to make our customers happy, such as our extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,

we send all our regards
Custome relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was our first trip to Italy, so I did a lot of research. The Grand Hotel Capodimonte exceeded our expectations in every way. The setting is perfect, with a gorgeous view of Vesuvius and the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel is elegant, built right into the hill, but has every modern amenity.
The door into the hotel slides into the hill and you take an elevator up to the front desk. The pool cascades down two or three floors. We were there in April so it was not swimming weather yet, but we wished we could have spent even more time there, enjoying the magnificent view.
Everything was walking distance in town. The ferries to the rest of the Amalfi Coast were a short taxi ride away. We were able to do everything easily from this location, and felt like royalty at the property. Cannot say enough about the hotel!!!! Have a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: We had a view with a terrace. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm review on Trip Advisor.

We really happy to know that you spent great time with us and that the Grand Hotel Capodimonte exceeded your expectations! Your review can only prompt us to keep high our quality standards and friendly.

Thanks for pointing out the close proximity of our Hotel to the city center and transports but still in a quiet and peaceful area.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,
we send all our regards
Custome relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for one night before leaving Sorrento. The hotel is beautiful although the entrance is surprising as it has automatic glass doors and a lift facing which takes you up to the 5th floor to the reception. The hotel itself is beautiful with good sized room, mine had a partial sea view with balcony. The breakfast is excellent. I found the hotel very large and impersonal, the staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. I personally would not recommend this hotel, but all a matter of taste. I stayed at the De La Ville last year which I much preferred, position and attitude of staff were superior.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted you liked your room and the location close to the city centre.

We are very surprised about your comment on the staff, which usually, is praised by all our customers. Our staff is always ready to help with a smile and always very professional. You praised instead the grand Hotel De la Ville, that is a sister hotel, and we have the same high standard of quality and professionalism with all the Manniello Hotels.

We hope you will give us the opportunity in the nearly future to show you that quality and service are not as you described, and maybe keeps more than one night with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,
we send all our regards
Custome relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay here. We stayed on the bed and breakfast plan. The hotel is on a hillside with breathtaking views of the harbour and Mt. Veuvius in the distance. We splurged for the ocean view room and it was well worth it. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the morning watching Sorrento wake up and in the evening for the beautiful view. The room was nicely appointed with great bed linens, tile floors and marble bath. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning in the outdoor dinning area and service was excellent. The pool area, located on the top floor, was beautiful and not to be missed. It was a short walk into town but far enough away that you had peace and quiet when you were at the hotel. While they did offer complementary coffee in the restaurant, a maker in the room would have been nice. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay while in Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our location, we are a few minutes walk from the frisky center of Sorrento and in a higher position so that from our balconies you can enjoy a fantastic view of the entire Gulf of Naples and its islands and down the beautiful city of Sorrento, but at the same time we are in a quiet and peaceful area.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff and our wonderful extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento,

we send all our regards
Custome relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Ideally located just 5 minutes walk from the main square of Sorrento, the hotel is set back from the main road, constructed in the hillside, and with panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. The cleanliness and service were excellent, and the friendliness of the staff exceptional. The food was varied, with an extensive buffet for breakfast, and a menu containing a selection of five dishes for each course. We would recommend opting for a room with a sea view, as those without were something of a let down. We also suggest keeping a mental note of the 'room tab' as it's easy to get carried away with bar and snack bills, which are settled on departure and can be a bit of a surprise. But we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view to make the most of the holiday. Rooms without are ok, but don't have impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy you appreciated our convenient location, just a gentle stroll away from the main road, the cleanliness and decor of the rooms and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you again for recommending us, we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Until then please accept our

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on two occasions during the past twelve months. Firstly, last October on the recommendations of a Thomas Cook Rep and secondly in June when we returned with friends. The second trip was arranged because of our amazing experiences on the previous visit. The hotel is beautiful. It occupies a hillside overlooking the stunning harbour in Sorrento. The rooms are beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff are very polite and attentive and really make guests feel special. The food provided is of an excellent quality and variety. The meals in the evening in the restaurant overlooking the bay will be a lasting memory for all of us. We will certainly return to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in Sorrento. One word of caution to anyone wanting to book a visit - make absolutely sure that you have the right hotel. There is another hotel of the same name located in Naples and it should be avoided at all costs!

Room Tip: The rooms either face outwards across the bay or inwards towards the garden on the hillside. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad you liked our hotel so much that you came twice in a year! This really makes us proud because it means that our efforts are appreciated by our guests.

Thank you again for all the compliments about the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, the view, the rooms and the quality and variety of the meals served on our terraces with a breathtaking view over the bay.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,000 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing