We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
North of England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in September. Really lovely hotel and superb service.
The hotel was spotlessly clean with room serviced daily, clean towels daily. The staff were friendly and most courteously helpful...the restaurant staff were exceptional and provided us with an outstanding and very personal service, really helpful reception staff.
The food was very good standard for hotel, excellent breakfast and three course meals (drinks a little pricey but not unexpected) and overall the holiday was great value. We were half board and liked the fact we could swap dinner for lunch and so had some lovely evening meals also in Sorrento.
We found the site of the hotel v good for walking into Sorrento and only about 10-15 mins to Piazza Tasso/Marinas and about 20 to the Circumvesuviana Station/local bus. Excellent base for doing all the sights in the area and on public transport easy and such fun! The pool area was fabulous (look at the pictures) pool towels included also.
There were so many different terraces and areas to relax. As the hotel was high on the cliff the views over the bay of Naples/Sorrento and to Mt. Vesuvius were stunning! The open terrace restaurant for breakfast and our evening meal, looking out early morning and at sunset/moon rising and Sorrento at night were quite magical. We chose not have a sea view room but this did not matter as the views from the hotel pool and dining areas were so wonderful!
All the room facilities are exactly as stated in the room information....no iron or ironing board or tea/coffee facilities (UK and other hotels we have stayed in have the edge there!) This was not a problem however.
I would recommend this hotel and it is rare for me to say... I would return to this hotel.
Happy :0)

Room Tip: Higher floors lighter/balcony nice. If you can afford have a partial/sea/city room view but not esse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted you appreciated the level of service provided by the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality and variety of the meals offered.

Our location is indeed one of our best asset, a few minutes stroll from the town while providing breathtaking views over the bay.

We would only point out that iron and ironing boards are available for free, you just have to ask reception for it...maybe don’t forget it next time you come!

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    573
    159
    66
    44
See reviews for
455
1,445
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I honestly cannot begin to rave about this hotel enough. The location was brilliant, just a short 5 minute wander to the town. The hotel was stunning and the rooms were perfect. The staff were attentive and responsive. The breakfasts were lovely (including omelettes freshly cooked in front of you which were delicious) and the evening meals were worth every penny (especially the chateaubriand!!).

My only (very minor) criticism was that we had booked a double room for a romantic trip away and had two single beds pushed together. Every night we fashioned them into one but each morning they were remade as two. Killed the mood a bit!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ms. Lucy,

thank you very much for writing such a lovely review regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the room, the views and the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

As for the bed, the great majority of our rooms have single beds so that we can arrange them according to our customer’s requests..we are sure that if you mentioned at the reception that you needed a double bed, the housekeeping staff would have promptly arranged the beds as one; we are sorry for the inconvenience anyway.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
埼玉
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is good. It takes about ten minutes to town center. Staff members at the front desk are friendly. Our room was on the 8th floor and it smells like antiseptic. We would like to open the window, but in front of our room, there was a pool. View from the terrace is our room! We had to shutter the window all day. We also stayed in the 3rd floor for 4 days. In front of our room was a main road to Amalfi. It was so noisy all night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ローラン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you appreciated the location of the hotel and the courtesy of the staff.

Unfortunately, we do not quite understand what you mean with “smells like antiseptic” regarding the room, but we are sure that if you explained it to the housekeeping or reception staff, it could have been promptly solved.

Moreover, some of the rooms overlook the pool, and they are usually appreciated by our guests since they can easily access it from the public areas on the same floor and enjoy the view. We would also like to point out that there is no main road to Amalfi near the hotel, only via Capo which is part of Sorrento and it is not as busy as suggested by reading your review.

Anyway we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible, maybe next time we will be able to find a room of your liking.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Perfect hotel in an outstanding location with breath taking views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. My husband and I visited as a couple for a week at the end of September for my 60th birthday treat and we couldn't fault anything. All the staff were so helpful, pleasant and professional all the time. All area's of the hotel were spotless and our room was huge with a lovely patio area which was spotlit at night and had electric shutters for providing shade. We had half board and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent including lots of choices of fish, meat, pasta and vegitarian options, however people visiting expecting english tasting food may be disappointed as the food is cooked using italian based herbs etc and olive oil which gives the food a distinctive italian flavour, we loved it but others may not. The pool was fabulous and fresh beach towels were provided free of charge to use on the sun loungers around the pool daily. We will certainly visit this beautiful place again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

firstly thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn you appreciated your say, especially thanks to our staff and the quality and variety of the meals; we do provide a lot of Italian dishes, together with some other foreign specialties, all delicious.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible,

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just spent 10 days in the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and my only concern is why this hotel is not classed as 5 star, Everything about the Capodimonte is amazing, the only thing that tops the excellent service, friendly and efficient staff and spotlessly clean rooms are the magnificent views from all parts of the hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it would be unfair to single out any single member as everyone was excellent.
The food was superb and well presented and all the waiters always had a smile on their faces and were willing to give advice on food and wine selection. I tried the A La Carte restaurant one night and, although you pay extra for this, it was money well spent. The waiter in there was excellent and really made our night.
It literally is just a five minute walk into Sorrento town with a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants with prices to suit all pockets. Italy is not a cheap place to visit but I was pleasantly surprised that it was not as expensive as some writers have said.
If you visit this hotel request a sea view room (I was in 610), it is well worth the extra price as the view that greets you in the morning is spectacular.
I will definitely be returning as this is the best hotel that I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Allways request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you liked our property and found it so good it deserved a 5 star rating; we work very hard in order to improve the quality of our service and your remarks sure are very supportive.

Thank you also for your comments about the food and the A La Carte restaurant by the pool, where you can enjoy the stunning view while tasting the specialtes cooked by our chefs.

We are already looking forward to your next visit,

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel in late September this year and we loved the views the hotel has to offer. The place was really clean and we had a very nice room with a garden view. It was really pretty and we definitely enjoyed this side of things. However when it came to food ( we decided to go half board), it was a total disappointment. There was no flavour at all, to the point that we decided to write off the half board we booked and went out to town to eat, which was fantastic. Breakfast is pretty poor, not very good quality stuff at all. So, I would definitely recommend to go for B&B only and eat in town. All in all, lovely views but something was missing there...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel, together with the stunning views it has to offer.

However, we are quite surprised by your comments about the food, we are sorry if you were disappointed but we understand that, since we cater every day for hundreds of guests, it is not very easy to satisfy all tastes. Especially the remark regarding our breakfast surprised us, since we often get complimented for the huge variety of pastries, hot and cold specialties, omelettes on order and other delicacies on offer.

We hope that you will give us another chance to show you the improvements in the quality and variety of the meals.

Until then, please accept our

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

i have been to Sorrento for years - for 37 years actually . i have stayed in many beautiful hotels but never felt i walked into paradise ..
with Hotel Capodimonte i felt this from the moment i entered . staff were helpful and smiling. check in was exemplary . room was beautiful -ceramic tiles - beautiful bathroom - comfortable and wonderful in every way , yet i have been in many five star hotels and beautiful bedrooms - it was not that - it was the niceness of the staff - the rooms were so so clean and the cleaning ladies could not do enough for us . the restaurant manager was so funny and friendly -- with white jacket during day and black at night ..always joking and smiling even at 6.30am in morning. ..but most of all the kind and charming manger - a more senior gentleman who was at the restaurant at swimming pool in the evening- i do not remember name - but he was so charming and interesting and made us so welcome there ...the pool restaurant was a dream ..the lemon souffle was incredible and the fresh fish too ...the magic of that restaurant is inestimable - it is like walking in a beautiful romantic film ...everything perfect , everything beautiful - the class and beautiful taste in the decoration and artwork inside hotel was magnificent - the open air areas were so impressive ..it was dreamlike . the music at the pool was so wonderful that after dinner we stayed there till the last song ..the singer has the most beautiful voice - really top class - and i sy that as a classical musician who sits in many orchestra pits with many famous sopranos singing....the only criticism i would make is that the piano accompaniment was by a young man who seemed determined to drown out that beautiful singing voice with extremely loud bass and beat and an insistence on jazzing every son up to the point of annoyance -what is wrong with a ballad in such a beautiful setting .also there seemed an obsession to play dico beat music in spite of the fact that no one dance - they wanted to chat and listen .this lack of sensitivity surprised me because one of the most important attributes of any public performer is to be sensitive to their audience.

in spite of this , it was a magical evening, the hotel was wonderful in every way . the staff is really great ..the taste and beauty is outstanding ...this hotel is perfect for any occasion ...i will return ..

Room Tip: if you want a view and balcony ask for one in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gingerruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are glad you were impressed by the courtesy and professionalism of our staff, the setting and especially the pool restaurant, where you can taste wonderful dishes and enjoy the music while looking at the bay of Naples and Sorrento town...it is surely magical as you stated.

We hope that you will visit us once again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing