We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing ,fantastic unforgettable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing ,fantastic unforgettable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second time here ,just as good as the first visit. Won't be the last. Great location five leisurely minutes from piazza tasso, ten minutes to bus/train station, then the amalfi coast is your oyster. The capodimonte itself is a fantastic hotel , great food ,served in lovely surroundings with incredible views , looking over the bay of Naples wish I was still there ,what more can I say.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jantomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you again for the lovely review, we are glad you were impressed once again by our hotel and that this won’t be your last visit.

We are very pleased by your remarks about the food , the service and the location and we surely hope to see you as soon as possible

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    527
    151
    66
    42
See reviews for
430
1,334
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I booked this hotel as the last stay on our two week honeymoon, designed to be the pinnacle of our stay in Italy. Unfortunately it turned out to be the worst hotel.

Upon arrival we were given a "partial sea view" room which I had booked in advance. Given the amount i had spent i was expecting something lovely. You could not see the sea unless you were out on the balcony and craning your neck. There was a path running directly outside the room so everyone could see inside the room and the room smelt of damp. We asked to change rooms, only to be informed the hotel was full. I went back later asking for a better room and was told to wait for the manager two hours later. Lo and behold another room became available! Much better views (could see the sea) and didn't smell of damp which was nice.

Breakfast was pretty average. It felt like you were eating in a noisy train station such was the amount of people. On more than one occasion the omelette chef decided to stop working at 8.30 when breakfast ran until 10! The staff also were very slow to replenish the buffet leaving very little choice.

When we checked out we were told we couldn't have a late checkout but could use a courtesy room to get changed in. This room was crawling with ants and insects! Horrible end to the stay.

In general the service was really quite poor, which given other reviews was incredibly surprising. I genuinely felt like they didn't care about our stay because we were young customers, which is ludicrous given the price of the hotel. Sadly we were left disappointed and would absolutely not recommend this to our friends and family.

Good points - location is excellent and there are lots of lovely restaurants in Sorrento!

Room Tip: Unless you book the most expensive room all the others will seem average
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank davidcook03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

We are very surprised by your review and by your rating, from your review, we can understand you were unhappy with the room you booked, and we want to highlighter that we have changed your room the same day, always giving you the partial sea view you had booked.
About the breakfast and the staff are even more surprised.

Our breakfast is formed by an extensive hot and cold buffet, always full of delicious food, fresh, healthy and local.
While our staff is our strength and more than 800 reviews point it out, always courteous, friendly and willing to help with a smile.

Finally we would like to say that all customers are always welcome, and at the same level, often we have with many of them, who return year after year, a relationship of respect and affection, regardless of age.

However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento to give us the opportunity to let you see by yourself that the statement does not represent the quality standard of our services.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, ideally located for an easy walk into the centre of Sorrento. House keeping is very impressive and the hotel is shiningly clean. Only problem is the restaurant which does not have enough tables to cater for the number of rooms. There also appeared to be a battle going on between certain members of the serving staff, which did not improve the atmosphere in the restaurant. It was also the only 4 star hotel I have stayed in where the majority of guests were leaving the restaurant carrying partially full bottles of wine and water.

Room Tip: You need to be in the newer wing - room numbers over 800.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, here at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our facilities and our staff.

Our hotel has been built on the side of a mountain and this makes the whole structure very unique and impressive.
The Grand Hotel Capodimonte is really situated on a short distance from the city center, about a 10 minute walk, a nice and beautiful walk just before diving into the bustling city center.

As for the restaurant, we apologize if you found it a bit too busy, it is because all the customers come to eat at the same time, we try to invite the guest to change the time, in order to not find too many people, but it’s not so easy.

Regarding the wine bottles, we give the possibility to the customer to recover the bottle if it’s not over for drinking or on the room terraces or during the next dinner, having drinks not included in the holiday and paid.

We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Best regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have just returned from a week here and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful, set into the hillside on many different levels. Spent the first afternoon getting lost! Our room was huge, clean and airy with everything we needed and a fabulous sea/Vesuvius view from the balcony.

The situation is ideal, just a few minutes walk from the town centre, from previous reviews I was worried it would be too far or too steep but found it a very easy stroll. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. We had a sea view but would have been just as happy with one of the rooms looking onto the gardens.

We were half board and found the food very good, it was lovely to be able to have a choice of vegetarian dishes instead of the ubiquitous omelette. We lunched several times in the restaurant by the swimming pool. I had the best salad ever there and the prices very reasonable. We do not drink so am unable to comment on the wine list.

The staff were lovely, the reception staff managed to keep a straight face (just!) at my rather sad attempts to communicate in Italian and even took the trouble to help me add a few more phrases to my vocabulary. Waiters, housekeeping staff - all very pleasant.

I liked the fact that although it is a large hotel there are lots of places to sit with squishy sofas .Outside there were plenty of sunloungers or deckchairs by the pool and on sunterraces. There were also wooden benches scattered about the beautiful grounds. We never felt crowded. I had such a lovely time and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This isn't a tip about choosing a room (although our room on the seventh floor was perfect unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landoflostcontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable review on Trip Advisor, we were very happy to read it and thank you to recommend us to your friends and family.

With your beautiful words you described in the best way our hotel.

Our location, on a small hill just outside the center of Sorrento, but at the same time a short distance, about 10 minutes, and in a peaceful and calm location where you can enjoy a breathtaking view.

Our rooms spacious, bright and spotless with a wonderful view of the Gulf of Naples.

You have noticed our dedication to prepare our extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast and also our dinner, trying to satisfy even the most demanding palates with foods healthy, fresh and local.

And, finally, our staff always very attentive polite and courteous, always willing to help with a smile.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our second visit here. Won't go into as much detail as previously. This hotel is fabulous. We were remembered by staff members and made to feel very welcome. Service in the restaurants very professional and efficient as last time. Plenty of choice on the half board menu. You can swap dinner for lunch if you prefer to eat out in the evening. We had room 206 this time that came with a view which was a lovely surprise! Lovely big room and massive clean bathroom. Great wardrobe space and drawer space. Usual people saving loungers early and leaving them the whole day! One particular day we just took 2 towels off beds as a lady said they hadn't been used all day! Why do people do this?! Travelled with the rubbish thomas cook this time and our flight was 5 hours delayed so we missed our Friday evening but the hotel had left some food and cake in our room on a trolley after a very long night! What a great hotel. Special mention to guisy again she's a lovely girl and remembered us from our first visit last year.
If we come back to sorrento we wouldn't stay anywhere else but here. Perfection!!

Room Tip: Room with a view advantageous... It's quite the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuzanne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you once again for reviewing our hotel and for the lovely words you spent.

We are happy your second visit was as nice and the first one and that you appreciated the service by our staff; the fact that they remembered you is only natural, since we treat our guests as members of our family.

Thank you again for choosing us and for visiting a second time; we hope this will not be the last.

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in September. Really lovely hotel and superb service.
The hotel was spotlessly clean with room serviced daily, clean towels daily. The staff were friendly and most courteously helpful...the restaurant staff were exceptional and provided us with an outstanding and very personal service, really helpful reception staff.
The food was very good standard for hotel, excellent breakfast and three course meals (drinks a little pricey but not unexpected) and overall the holiday was great value. We were half board and liked the fact we could swap dinner for lunch and so had some lovely evening meals also in Sorrento.
We found the site of the hotel v good for walking into Sorrento and only about 10-15 mins to Piazza Tasso/Marinas and about 20 to the Circumvesuviana Station/local bus. Excellent base for doing all the sights in the area and on public transport easy and such fun! The pool area was fabulous (look at the pictures) pool towels included also.
There were so many different terraces and areas to relax. As the hotel was high on the cliff the views over the bay of Naples/Sorrento and to Mt. Vesuvius were stunning! The open terrace restaurant for breakfast and our evening meal, looking out early morning and at sunset/moon rising and Sorrento at night were quite magical. We chose not have a sea view room but this did not matter as the views from the hotel pool and dining areas were so wonderful!
All the room facilities are exactly as stated in the room information....no iron or ironing board or tea/coffee facilities (UK and other hotels we have stayed in have the edge there!) This was not a problem however.
I would recommend this hotel and it is rare for me to say... I would return to this hotel.
Happy :0)

Room Tip: Higher floors lighter/balcony nice. If you can afford have a partial/sea/city room view but not esse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted you appreciated the level of service provided by the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality and variety of the meals offered.

Our location is indeed one of our best asset, a few minutes stroll from the town while providing breathtaking views over the bay.

We would only point out that iron and ironing boards are available for free, you just have to ask reception for it...maybe don’t forget it next time you come!

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I honestly cannot begin to rave about this hotel enough. The location was brilliant, just a short 5 minute wander to the town. The hotel was stunning and the rooms were perfect. The staff were attentive and responsive. The breakfasts were lovely (including omelettes freshly cooked in front of you which were delicious) and the evening meals were worth every penny (especially the chateaubriand!!).

My only (very minor) criticism was that we had booked a double room for a romantic trip away and had two single beds pushed together. Every night we fashioned them into one but each morning they were remade as two. Killed the mood a bit!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ms. Lucy,

thank you very much for writing such a lovely review regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the room, the views and the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

As for the bed, the great majority of our rooms have single beds so that we can arrange them according to our customer’s requests..we are sure that if you mentioned at the reception that you needed a double bed, the housekeeping staff would have promptly arranged the beds as one; we are sorry for the inconvenience anyway.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing