We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I revisited Sorrento for our wedding anniversary as we were married here 10 years ago. We stayed in the Capodimonte last time (only last time we had a cliff view which I wouldn't recommend as it was like being in a dungeon!) but this time we upgraded to a sea view and it was well worth it. The room we had was of a good size and very clean and tidy. If I had to pick a fault with the room then it would be beds as I found them a little on the hard side. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful as were the waiters in the dining room and the hotel is impeccably smart and clean. One of the waiters in the lounge/bar area was a little stuffy but all the rest were fine. I'm quite a fussy eater but I found the food to be excellent. The Capodimonte is in a excellent location as it only take 10 minutes to walk to the centre of Sorrento so it's far enough out to be away from it all but close enough to get to the centre of things. We didn't do any trips this time as we were only there for 4 nights (last time we did most of the main trips) but even so the scenery is wonderful and there's plenty to see and do without going too far. Should we make it back for another anniversary then I'd definitely stay in the Capodimonte again

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor and for recommending our hotel to your family and friends.

First of all we want to give you our best wishes for your anniversary from all our staff and we are pleased to have made it a memorable occasion so important for you and your family.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, spacious, bright, decorated in a classical Italian style and always very clean. We always take care to the comfort of our guests and for this reason our rooms have so many little tricks to pamper our clients.

We work with the same care in our restaurant, offering a great deal of dishes typical and tasty made with fresh and healthy food.

We hope to welcome you back here in the near future for another unforgettable holiday
Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel in October 2013 and if you're thinking of going do it now. The hotel is perfectly located and within easy walking distance of Sorrento town and bus and rail stations which can take you further afield very cheaply. The views from the hotel are truly spectacular and the hotels facilities are second to none. Take my advice and book asap. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high quality but sea views are quite special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor and for having shared it with the community.
What can we say except Grazie!!! We are seriously thinking to using it as an advertisement, in a robust and firm way you have advised our hotel for the best!
We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us and come visit us soon for another memorable holiday.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte for our 30th Anniversary and booked through Citalia twin room with sea view. I contacted the tour operator prior to arrival to ensure that we indeed had a double bed after reading that some of the rooms had twin singles. The tour operator responded that they had requested it and that hotel was aware it was anniversary.

We arrived at the Hotel and it certainly is impressive, our luggage was taken by a member if their team and we arrived at reception again very impressive.

We had been given a room on the 9th floor and arrived expectantly, all the rooms have electronic shutters and ours was closed on arrival. We opened the shutter to be greeted by a view over Sorrento not exactly a sea view, if we moved over to the very corner of the window we could actually see a part of the bay, but I would describe the room at best as having a partial sea view. Given the siting of the hotel I am unsure as to whether many of the rooms have full sea views.

The room also had two single beds, which were individually made up and pushed together. On the hotel website their sea view rooms come with bath robes and welcome bottle of sparkling wine for stays over five nights, we had neither.

I emailed our tour operator questioning the room we had been allocated, and received this reply " I have spoken to the Reservations manager who has confirmed that your room is a 'Twin Sea View Balcony' room and also that this room is a 'Premier' room as per their website, on a higher floor. However, we don't have use these room descriptions or room typologies on contract.
The reservations manager did say that he would be able to show you another room and would be happy to show you as long as we let them know at the reception.
Unfortunately for most of the hotels it is common here in Italy to have 2 singles beds put together to make a double bed. Your request for a double bed on the 28th September was noted with the hotel however being 'twin' rooms means that that very few rooms actually have a double mattress and requests unfortunately aren't always guaranteed."

As we were staying for only a week and if we had seen a suitable room it would have meant moving on our anniversary, we declined the offer of viewing another room. The other reason that the initial first impression had come and gone and moving would not have made up for it.

However noting we were supposed to be in a premier room I responded to the resort representative of Citalia by email enquiring as to why we did not have some items detailed on the hotel website, I did not receive a reply!

We found the choice at breakfast time to be very good. We had booked half board and the evening meal whilst having quite a lot of choice tended to be nouvelle cuisine in portion size, but was mostly of very good quality.

We cannot fault any other aspects of the hotel, the service was excellent.

The hotel is within walking distance of the main square and most of the shops and restaurants so ideally situated from that point of view.

It is a shame that our overall impression of this nice hotel was tarnished by our initial disappointment.

Room Tip: Book direct with the Hotel and make sure you get everything in the proom that is on the Hotel websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okcular_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our meals, actually we always put a lot of care in the preparation of dishes, always using fresh and local food that our beautiful country has to offer and our hot and cold buffet breakfast is always very popular with our guests for the wide variety of choice of healthy and typical food.

We are very sorry for the misunderstanding of the room and we hope that this didn't compromise your stay. We have many types of rooms and the Premier rooms, the type of room you booked, are among the most valuable of our hotel and all have the sea view.

Thanks for your positive comments about the staff and service, we are very happy to know that you've noticed our desire to make unforgettable the holiday of our customers.

However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our


Best regards
Custormer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was the first visit to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and we enjoyed it so much we have booked for next September 2014. The Hotel is situated within walking distance of the town and all the staff were helpful and friendly.

We are both looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: It depends on whether you want to spend time in your room there are enough arears to sit on the veri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 47Vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community; we are glad you liked us so much that you already booked for next year.

We are looking forward aswell to welcoming you as soon as possible

Best Wishes
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second time here ,just as good as the first visit. Won't be the last. Great location five leisurely minutes from piazza tasso, ten minutes to bus/train station, then the amalfi coast is your oyster. The capodimonte itself is a fantastic hotel , great food ,served in lovely surroundings with incredible views , looking over the bay of Naples wish I was still there ,what more can I say.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jantomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you again for the lovely review, we are glad you were impressed once again by our hotel and that this won’t be your last visit.

We are very pleased by your remarks about the food , the service and the location and we surely hope to see you as soon as possible

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I booked this hotel as the last stay on our two week honeymoon, designed to be the pinnacle of our stay in Italy. Unfortunately it turned out to be the worst hotel.

Upon arrival we were given a "partial sea view" room which I had booked in advance. Given the amount i had spent i was expecting something lovely. You could not see the sea unless you were out on the balcony and craning your neck. There was a path running directly outside the room so everyone could see inside the room and the room smelt of damp. We asked to change rooms, only to be informed the hotel was full. I went back later asking for a better room and was told to wait for the manager two hours later. Lo and behold another room became available! Much better views (could see the sea) and didn't smell of damp which was nice.

Breakfast was pretty average. It felt like you were eating in a noisy train station such was the amount of people. On more than one occasion the omelette chef decided to stop working at 8.30 when breakfast ran until 10! The staff also were very slow to replenish the buffet leaving very little choice.

When we checked out we were told we couldn't have a late checkout but could use a courtesy room to get changed in. This room was crawling with ants and insects! Horrible end to the stay.

In general the service was really quite poor, which given other reviews was incredibly surprising. I genuinely felt like they didn't care about our stay because we were young customers, which is ludicrous given the price of the hotel. Sadly we were left disappointed and would absolutely not recommend this to our friends and family.

Good points - location is excellent and there are lots of lovely restaurants in Sorrento!

Room Tip: Unless you book the most expensive room all the others will seem average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank davidcook03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

We are very surprised by your review and by your rating, from your review, we can understand you were unhappy with the room you booked, and we want to highlighter that we have changed your room the same day, always giving you the partial sea view you had booked.
About the breakfast and the staff are even more surprised.

Our breakfast is formed by an extensive hot and cold buffet, always full of delicious food, fresh, healthy and local.
While our staff is our strength and more than 800 reviews point it out, always courteous, friendly and willing to help with a smile.

Finally we would like to say that all customers are always welcome, and at the same level, often we have with many of them, who return year after year, a relationship of respect and affection, regardless of age.

However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento to give us the opportunity to let you see by yourself that the statement does not represent the quality standard of our services.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, ideally located for an easy walk into the centre of Sorrento. House keeping is very impressive and the hotel is shiningly clean. Only problem is the restaurant which does not have enough tables to cater for the number of rooms. There also appeared to be a battle going on between certain members of the serving staff, which did not improve the atmosphere in the restaurant. It was also the only 4 star hotel I have stayed in where the majority of guests were leaving the restaurant carrying partially full bottles of wine and water.

Room Tip: You need to be in the newer wing - room numbers over 800.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, here at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our facilities and our staff.

Our hotel has been built on the side of a mountain and this makes the whole structure very unique and impressive.
The Grand Hotel Capodimonte is really situated on a short distance from the city center, about a 10 minute walk, a nice and beautiful walk just before diving into the bustling city center.

As for the restaurant, we apologize if you found it a bit too busy, it is because all the customers come to eat at the same time, we try to invite the guest to change the time, in order to not find too many people, but it’s not so easy.

Regarding the wine bottles, we give the possibility to the customer to recover the bottle if it’s not over for drinking or on the room terraces or during the next dinner, having drinks not included in the holiday and paid.

We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Best regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £137 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing