We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best holiday.......ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best holiday.......ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is simply wonderful. Everything, from the room to the service in the dining room, was absolutely first class. I couldn't fault it at all in any way. We had a room overlooking the rear gardens, which at first was a bit of a disappointment, but the gardens are lovely, we didn't spend much time in the room and all the main rooms - the dining room, the lounge and the various sun terraces all overlook the bay. The food was amazing - really wide choice everyday for breakfast and dinner, the entertainment in the lounge in the evening was all we wanted after a hard day sight seeing!! All the staff are so friendly and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: People say always go for a sea view, but that didn't bother us so much. The view over the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maryandnigelhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for your beautiful words that fill us with pride.



We are very happy you've had a nice and unforgettable stay with us.



Many thanks for the nice words about our staff, always ready to help with a smile and to make fantastic the holiday of our beloved guests.

We are waiting to give you again a warm welcome at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.



Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    527
    151
    66
    42
See reviews for
430
1,334
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. After a 3-hour flight delay we arrived at the hotel too late for dinner, but the hotel had laid out a delicious cold platter in our room. All staff from the top level to the bottom were very attentive. Excellent facilities in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: For best views request a room on a higher floor - we were on floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,



Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and for your nice words.



We are very happy that you've noticed our attention to details, such as the cold dinner that you received in the room when you arrived, because after the journey we are sure that our customers are hungry and we love to cuddle them a bit.



We are very happy that you found our staff first class, always very professional but at the same time friendly and willing to help.



We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte



Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in order to visit Pompeii, Vesuvius, and Capri and were very impressed. It is situated in an elevated position enabling one to have superb views across the bay of Naples towards Vesuvius from many parts of the hotel eg the five interconnected outdoor swimming pools and terrace restaurant as well as the main inside restaurants,but not so far as to be difficult to access from the town centre which is an easy 10mins walk away. The restaurant serves a good choice of menu and an extensive wine list at quite reasonable prices for a four star hotel.the rooms are of a good size , clean and comfortable. The staff were all very professional and friendly.We had rooms at the back of the hotel rather than with sea views but they were very comfortable and had a view of the cliff side which wasn't unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you very much for your good review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.



We are very happy that you had a beautiful and interesting holiday here with us.



Our hotel is just a short walk from the center of Sorrento, it is built on the side of a mountain and slightly higher than the road, this makes that we have a wonderful view and at the same time we are very well situated for the departure of the excursions .



We are happy that you loved our rooms, spacious, bright and always spotlessly clean.



We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte



Yours sincerely



Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Everything about this hotel is class the best I have been to for a long long time. Staff, especially the restaurant, always ready to help and with a smile on their face. We had a room which overlooked the rear gardens which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend a friend to this hotel and if I ever return to Sorrento Hotel Capodimonte will be my first and only choice of hotel. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, it fills us with joy and pride to know that you’ll suggest our hotel to your family and friends.

We are happy because you have noticed our hard work in trying to make unforgettable the holiday of our guests always with courtesy, kindness so much passion.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible for another stay with us,

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at the Capodimonte on Honeymoon.As others have said the location is wonderful with breathtaking view over the Bay of Naples towards Mt Vesuvious. Be sure to ask for a sea view .The Hotel is about 5-10 minutes stroll from the centre of Sorrento.

The room was superb and as were the public areas and the staff were very helpful.The food in the resturant was good, and although there were choices these dis not change for the time were there. The service could seem a little rushed at times and the breakfast buffet, although offering a good selection did not seem to be set up in any logical way - all a bit ad hoc! That being said the Hotel was great and we had a wonderful time and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad you liked the location and the magnificent views our hotel provides, together with the courtesy and professionalism of the staff and the quality of the meals.

Thank you again for recommending us to your friends, we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

First of all I would like to say the hotel is stunning and clean and many of the staff very helpful and Freindly namely reception staff
Restaurant staff head waiter is lovely and always ready with a smile .
What disappointed us was the very rude pool man , he shouted at our children for splashing in a very aggressive way he asked my children when we were leaving because they were too noisy he also closed the pool early most days at as early as 4:30 when pool should be open till 5:30
I checked this with reception staff.
So if you have children who like to play I would rethink your stay .
He also shouted at me and said he was not a baby sitter !
Children are 11 & 10, perfectly legal age to attend the pool on there own in the uk and Europe .
I did tell the children not to jump in
As it was against there rules .
I feel strongly this person has no people skills and his aggressive unfriendly nature let this place down especially when we are guests paying 500 euros per night in prestige rooms .
That aside for couples I am sure this place would be lovely .
There is a lot of elderly people come here who do not like noise or children so we did feel in the minority .
We have just returned from a trip to Florida with lots of kids playing in the pool , it's very normal .
In summary the hotel is stunning grand buffet night was delicious
Breakfast could do with more choice , no beans no proper sausages only frankfurters .
And a Freindly pool man we would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review and for sharing it with the community of Trip Advisor.

We remember that you are a beautiful family with four children between the ages of 8 and 11 years. Three boys and a girl.

In your review you have given many positive points to our hotel such as the location, cleanliness, courtesy of the staff at the restaurant etc. ... Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and that you had a nice holiday in our beautiful region.

Unfortunately, you've had trouble with our lifeguard and we apologize, but we would like to emphasize that the behavior of the lifeguard was not due to a noise factor or boredom, but especially to safety. The pools are always a place where you have to pay attention to the water and to the easily possibility to slide down. We have to think first of the safety of children, but also to the safety of other people in the pool. Dips and play in general can be dangerous both for your children and for other people. Of course there is also an element of boredom in the actions of the lifeguard, because people who are on holiday want to relax, sleep or just resting in the sun and maybe our lifeguard was solicited by these customers to talk to you to try to not to do too much noise, it happens often.

We also want to emphasize that we love the children, I'm sure you've realized it, that the southern Italians are always ready to cuddle and make children laugh.

However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento to give us the opportunity to let you see by yourself that the statement does not represent the quality standard of our services.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Capodimonte hotel in Sorrento. This is a beautiful hotel with breathtaking views from the terraces and restuarants. The standard of the rooms were high and the public areas kept spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Salvatore and Roberta at the reception desk. Would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuchanI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and that you will remember us with joy.

We always try to make unforgettable the stay of our guests, making pleasant our terraces for example, where you can enjoy a breathtaking view, or welcoming the rooms, always very clean, spacious and bright.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards
Custormer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing