We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel & location”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited during October with our 13 year old son. We upgraded to a sea view room, having read reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! The room was spacious, on the 9th floor & overlooked the bay.
For us location was key as we didn't want to be dependent on a shuttle bus and planned to use public transport. The hotel was perfectly located enabling us to use local buses & trains to visit Pompeii, naples & Amalfi Coast. In the evenings it was a short stroll into Sorrento with its wide choice of restaurants & gelateria.
We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet with freshly cooked eggs & prose co I you felt so I clinked. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening.
All staff were friendly & helpful. Very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravellerDeb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely review here on Trip Advisor, we are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay and you were not disappointed.

Thanks also for the remarks regarding the quality of our breakfast, it’s something we are very proud of.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    549
    152
    66
    43
See reviews for
441
1,372
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hotel had it's own parking which was a definite advantage as we took a driving holiday from the UK via the French Alps, Venice, Rome, Florence and Monte Casino. Hotel was only a short walk from the centre of Sorrento. Hotel has excellent facilities and the room was spacious and clean. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Will come back and would definitely recommend. It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Did not use the fitness facilities or spa so cannot comment.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a sea view and it was definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are glad you appreciated our facilities and the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here in June last year and it was one of the best holiday's I've had. Brilliant food and extra special waiting staff. Drinks expensive but to be expected. A brilliant location and just a 5 minute wander into the heart of Sorrento. I tend not to visit the same place twice but i would make an exception for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your opinions about our hotel.

The best advertising for us are your words: “one of the best holiday's I've had”.

In few words you highlighted our strong points, the location close to the center, a pleasant 10-minute walk to find you nestled in the life of the beautiful city of Sorrento, but at the same time in a calm and quiet place.
The wide variety of fresh and typical foods for both breakfast and dinner.
Our staff always polite and friendly but also very professional.

Hoping to see you again for another memorable holiday here with us, we send our

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in early September and I have been meaning to write a review ever since. So here goes!

If you are thinking of staying here, my one piece of advice would be to push the boat out if at all possible and get a room with a sea view. We were very fortunate to be able to book a prestige room on the 11th floor at the last moment through the hotel’s website and the view from the balcony was simply breathtaking. I could have sat there all week simply enjoying that view!

On arrival, we were greeted in our room with a bottle of a Prosecco and a bowl of fruit. A nice touch. The room was large, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and furnished. It had a large safe (free to use) and wi-fi reception in the room was good. (Wi-fi was free after getting a code from the reception. But usage did seem to come with a limit and some simple surfing did make big inroads into the allowance fairly quickly). The only possible quibbles I could have with the room were a lack of English channels on the TV – even the ubiquitous Sky News was missing! – and much more importantly, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. So bring your travel kettle!

The hotel is, in my opinion, perfectly located. It stands just on the outskirts of Sorrento – so no hustle or bustle - but is no more than a simple 5 or 10 minute walk into the town. Importantly, there is a pavement all the way into the town – something that stops a little further up the road. And whilst there is a pedestrian crossing right outside the hotel, exercise great care in using it as the Italian drivers do not seem to accept pedestrians have right of way on this crossing!

We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast buffet was good, with a plentiful choice and a chef on duty to cook eggs however you liked them. Our package entitled us to one free evening meal, which was gratefully taken. We decided to eat in one further evening but in fact wished we hadn’t. Although there was a reasonably priced “upgrade” menu available, it had only a very limited choice of two main meals, neither of which we wanted. So we choose from the a la carte menu (worth noting there are 2 completely different menus for the evening meal – one for guests staying on a full basis and the other an a la carte menu offering a much wider choice). I am sorry but being charged 27 Euros each for some mass catering lamb slices and a few potatos, even given the setting and service, is a rip-off. Given that the town of Sorrento has so many lovely restaurants, and a wonderful ambience, I certainly would suggest you think long and hard before booking this hotel on a full basis.

The reception staff all spoke good English and we found them helpful and friendly. Their recommendations for restaurants in the town were spot on!

The only other quibble I would have about our stay was the number of sunbeds that people left towels on, only for the people to then disappear for hours – indeed, in some cases never to come back. The hotel claims that its pool attendant keeps an eye on the situation and removes towels where appropriate. I can’t say I saw any evidence of this whatsoever. I know the selfishness of some people is not the hotel’s fault but they could do more to overcome this.

One final point. Don’t stay here expecting a rip roaring night life! There was no entertainment apart from a pianist playing in the restaurant area although most of the people staying here – including myself, I might add – were probably not looking to party all night!

Despite the odd quibble, I would absolutely wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for a stay in the lovely city of Sorrento. Certainly, one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and we will undoubtedly return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, try and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VFRMOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you had a very nice stay and that you were pleased by the room, the service provided by our caring staff and the quality of our meals, especially the wide selection available at breakfast.

As for the wifi, there is no usage – limit, it is free starting this year; what you experienced was probably a lack of signal, which unfortunately may happen in some areas.

Our location is indeed one of our major key points behind our success: a short stroll from the town, while still being away from all the commotion of the centre. Thank you also for your remarks regarding the reception staff, we will surely be happy to hear that their work was appreciated.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends, we are already looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I visited here on the last week before they closed for the winter. The room was very clean and spacious, it was just a standard room but I would think it would be wonderful if you can afford the sea view rooms.

The breakfast room was very attractive with stunning views , it was something I looked forward to every day to look out over Sorrento and the sea. There was a lot of choice for breakfast.

The swimming pools were lovely also with stunning views everywhere you looked.We were very lucky to have temperatures of 23 every day.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

We felt that we made the right choice in choosing this hotel for our break, but if we return to Sorrento again, we would not choose the last week before they close for the winter as the last couple of days you could see all the staff tidying everything away and it was very noisey by the pool with someone using a high water pressure tool to clean all the sun loungers, which disturbed our relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody4london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay in our hotel and sharing it with the Tripd Advisor community.

We are glad you appreciated the decor and views from the room, the bountiful choice for breakfast, together with our swimming pools and the courtesy and professionalism of the reception staff.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible; until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The standout for us was the views and the restaurant. We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour and were pleasantly surprised by the room and restaurant. The room was a nice size, well appointed and had a great view of Sorento. It's a short walk to the main square, centrally located. The buffet breakfast was outstanding! The best we had in Italy - especially for egg and bacon lovers - had an egg/omelette chef there. Our package included dinner, which was three courses in Italian style. We had two dinners and all plates were amazing (p.s. The profiteroles are a must have!)

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view of the bay- amazing to wake up to, especially up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you kindly for the lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the size and view of the room and the quality and variety of the items offered at breakfast and dinner.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible and maybe taste another slice of our delicious homemade desserts !


Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a large establishment that features in many British package holiday brochures as a 4 star facility. It does seem that star ratings are strongly influenced in Italy by decor and Capo is certainly well appointed. It is also well located being the closest of the hillside hotels to the centre of town. It is truly a manageable 10 minute walk to the centre of town but, via lifts and terraces, provides unobstructed views across Sorrento and the Bay of Naples (just to mention here that Sorrento from above is not a patch on the Amalfi coast towns and Versuvius is often shrouded in cloud, so the merits of the view are limited).

It does seem that Italian hotels generally are noisy and Capo is no different. Much seems to be attributable to using ceramic tiling throughout. Pack your earplugs of you want a lie in!

The 5 level cascade pool is stunning and the terracing provides great views.

The so-called 'courtyard' view rooms look at the hillside approx 10m to the rear of the hotel. When asked if a room at the front is available we were told they would have to check with the person responsible for room allocation and that an additional 100 Euros per night would be charged. Bearing in mind this was the last week of their season and occupancy was running at about 10% this response didn't impress!

In fact, this attitude is symptomatic of the entire Sorrento/Amalfi region. It reeks of opportunism and rip-off..."thank you for me" as one waiter put his request for a tip.

We didn't dine in the hotel as the town's many outlets are a short walk away, however breakfast was fairly ordinary and the coffee was truly awful.

Overall, we were fairly happy to be at Capo at the end of the season. In the summer we can imagine it must be a very impersonal place...4 star in bulk!

We'd look elsewhere if we were to return to Sorrento...but as we were not too enamoured of Sorrento, that's not likely to happen.

Room Tip: Right at the top above the swimming pools i.e. not in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor; our customers’s suggestions are always welcome, since they help us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the view and the location of the hotel.

We are sorry if you found the hotel to be noisy, but our handmade ceramic tiles are typical of this area and often appreciated by our guests.
Also, if we were able to give room upgrades for free to all of our guests, it wouldn’t be fair to those that already paid the full price to have a better room; that’s why there is a difference to pay and we are sure you will understand us. It is not a rip-off tactic as you suggest, but a normal policy in hotel industry.

We are sorry if you did not like Sorrento too much, but everyone has it’s own tastes and we hope to welcome you again in case you decide to come back in the area.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing