We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in charming Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have just returned from a 4 day break at the Capodimonte and couldn't wait to write my review. This is a beautiful hotel. To start with the room. I have seen some reviews where people have complained about their room. In my opinion you get what you pay for. The hotel website clearly states the view a classic or basic room have. We had a superior room with a side sea view and a small balcony on the 3rd floor. It was a lovely room, spacious, very clean with a lovely view. My only slight issue would be I would have preferred a double bed rather than 2 twins pushed together.
Everywhere in this hotel has a spectacular view whether you are in one of the 5 infinity pools, having breakfast or enjoying a drink over Mount Vesuvius.
There are lovely communal areas in the hotel and with so much space it was very peaceful. The pool area was lovely and with multiple levels so no problem getting a sun bed. I must also say the gent that looked after the pool was excellent and very helpful. It was also lovely to have pool service so you didn't need to go to the bar every time you wanted a drink.
We had bed and breakfast at the hotel and although the breakfast was ample I would have liked more selection of hot dishes.
We had lunch up on the terrace every day. The service and food selection was excellent and also very reasonable prices.
Lastly this hotel is in an excellent location to walk to sorrento town which is great for all the shops bars and restaurants.
I loved this hotel and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberley z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Kimberley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you appreciated your room and the spaciousness and view from all our public areas. Especially our pool area and restaurant is something we’re very proud of.

Thank you again for all the lovely remarks, we are glad you loved your stay and our hotel and we’re definitely looking forward to your next visit.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of the hotel was really good.. 5 min walk to the town.. Most staff very helpful. I'd read lots of reviews about great views from rooms.. we were very disappointed with ours. Just a view of a large painted wall. Not exactly what we were hoping for. We did ask to be moved but were told it was not possible...It was fair enough.. just disappointing. I've attached a picture of 2 €5 Peronis from the minibar... (1 euro in the corner shop near the hotel) and our view from our terrace.. It is a very nice wall.. just not what we were looking for.

After a long day trekking... we opted for room service instead of venturing out.. A waste of money.. The meal that arrived did not resemble what was on the menu. No answer from the kitchen and and put on hold at reception..

The pool was great though.. and views from the breakfast room were pretty good too.

would I go back again? no..we'd stayed in 2 other hotels on our trip that were much cheaper..but of a higher quality. I'd search for better value in Sorrento which I don't think would be too hard to find. Our stay was fine.. but not what we were looking for on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweens79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we always give great consideration to the feedback of our customers, because they help us to improve our service.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the view from our terraces and our beautiful five cascading pools. Our pools are always loved by our guests as well as our staff always friendly and professional.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room: you have received the room, unfortunately without view, you have booked. Our hotel has many different types of rooms and different prices and all our rooms are spacious, bright, spotless and with all modern comforts but not all with sea view.

You've come in June that is the high season for us and our hotel was fully booked, so we were not able offer you a different room with a view. We always try to satisfy all our customers, but it is not always easy and sincerely we always try to do our best.

Concerning your opinion that the beer Peroni price was expensive, we believe you can’t make a comparison with our four stars hotel and a supermarket.

We are sad to hear that you didn’t appreciate our Room Service meal, usually it’s always loved by our guests because we made it with care and attention to detail, choosing always tasty, healthy and fresh food.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the next future at the Grand hotel Capodimonte in order to have the opportunity to give you good memories of us,

Kindest regards,


Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sorrento is a truly wonderful place and HotelCapodimonte is a great place to staff with its fantastic views of the town and the wonderful coastline.We came here on honeymoon and I cannot imagine a more romantic place.The hotel is ideal for couples but I would not recommend staying here if you have children with you.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a great view of Sorrento and the bay.We only stayed on a B and B basis and once again I would recommend this as Sorrento has many amazing restaurants serving great food at reasonable prices.The swimming pools are built into the rock face and are a great place to relax.
Each morning we had breakfast , choice and quality ok.
Beautiful hotel but probably would not return.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed or hotel with his fantastic and romantic views all over the Napoli bay and the Sorrento city.

Thank you for your great description of our swimming pools. They are five cascading swimming pools built in the rock and from where you can enjoy a beautiful view and a day in total relax.

We are sorry to hear that probably you’ ll return and we don’t understand why seeing the lovely review that you have done.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the next future at the Grand hotel Capodimonte

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 10 nights here in June 2014. The setting is superb; views over the entire bay and Napoli coastline with Vesuvius looming in the distance. 10 minutes walk from the touristy heart of Sorrento. 10 minute walk to the Marina Grande, with its small beach and host of reasonable restaurants. The pools and gardens are beautiful. Very relaxing at pool side; mostly couples and small groups, mainly in the 40-70 age group. Poolside bar and restaurant are good, with food more expensive than in town, but not prohibitively so.

We only ate breakfast and occasional lunch at the hotel, but the food was good quality. Full buffet at breakfast with everything from Italian pastries to full English on offer, including champagne.

Rooms are clean and tasteful. Minibar included, and not overpriced (for minibar). Most rooms appear to have an excellent view. Would have liked tea and coffee facilities within room also.

Staff were really nice and friendly and knowledgeable about locality.

The hotel makes a great base for a lazy stay in Sorrento, but is close enough to town to make it an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to pool terrace- gives good access and views. Some rooms away from terrace are ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review on Trip advisor.

We are very glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and feel your enthusiasm makes us very proud.

Reviews like yours reward us and we understand that we are working well and that we must continue to keep our standards always high as to make memorable the holidays of our beloved customers.

Thanks for the nice description of our hotel and its magnificent breathtaking views across the Bay of Naples, it is true that our position is one of the best in Sorrento, just a few steps from the center but with spectacular views but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area perfect as starting point for exploring Sorrento and our wonderful region.

Concerning our breakfast it is always loved from our customers because we offer a wide choice of healthy and tasty foods, both sweet or salt, and in addition there are a lot of little pampering such as the chef, who cooks eggs as you prefer and a good glass of Prosecco to start the day in the better way.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the next future at the Grand hotel Capodimonte

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

have just returned from a fantastic week at capodimonte.our family,3 couples were there for our son's wedding and other guests dotted around sorrento who wished they had picked the capodimonte. on arrival we checked in very quickly and cases taken to our room.room was spectacular,beautiful decoration and very clean. no complaints about the room at all.pool is superb,tiers down with views to die for over the bay towards vesuvius.choice at restuarant excellent ,all meals were well presented and well cooked but some of the waiters let it down with an arrogant bordering on rude disposition..on the day of the wedding all our guests came back to the hotel and we were looked after by the bar staff which we thank them for,the service could not have been better.This is a very beautiful hotel in a stunning location,and overall we had a fantastic holiday which was completed by a beautiful wedding at villa fonde..one final thing,age group mostly retired or 60 plus so therefore evening entertainment is aimed at them.would definitely return one day ,probably when we are a lot older!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maximus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on Trip Advisor and for having shared with the web community.

First of all we want to do our best wishes for your son’s wedding. We are very happy to have made unique a day so special.

We do our job with love and commitment, so that our customers can always enjoy a wonderful holiday with us.

Thanks for all the great words about our hotel, with breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples, the rooms bright, large, always spotlessly clean and equipped with all modern comforts and also about our restaurant.

We really hope to welcome you again in the next future at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte,

Kindest regards,

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We left the "Children" at home and went here for 5 days in June for our 25th Wedding anniversary, we both wished it was longer. as we approached my wife was commenting on the wonderful position of a particular sun terrace not knowing it was where we were staying!
Walk into the lift in the face of the cliff and up several floors to reception, The people on reception are delightful, Correction everyone here is delightful! Ask a question and out come the maps etc.
The food etc. at the pool bar is reasonably priced and again service exceptional, the layout of the entire place is Intriguing with the best use of space, and everything is bright and airy, furnishing and decoration is second to none and cleanliness wow, how they keep the mirrored lifts spotless is beyond me
I saw one comment about the noise from the road which is fair comment but during the day it blends into the background and during the night is total blocked out by the Patio Doors, Sorrento is a Charming town of lovely people!
A must is the Delfino restaurant on the pier on the beach, brilliant!
we are going to try to get away at the same time every year so I asked my wife where next, you can guess where cant you?

We will be back, thanks to everyone

Regards

Grant and Penny Robinson

Room Tip: A Sea View I feel is a must, we had 508 and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mr. Robinson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and you found all the staff to be brilliant and the service exceptional.

As you mentioned all our rooms are sound-insulated once you close the window, we are happy that you noticed it.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a wonderful break - just what the doctor ordered! The staff were amazing - particularly Enzo, Fabio and Vincenzo. The food was delicious and the cleanliness exemplary.

The only areas for improvement was sometimes the service was a little slow at dinner and the pool was freezing cold - could do with heating out of season!

Room Tip: Always go for a full sea view room with balcony - you pay extra but the rooms are bright and airy. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Karen,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are glad you appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff, together with the quality of the meals and the cleanliness of the rooms; we are sure that your remarks will keep ur staff motivated to always do their best when dealing with our guests.

We will treasure your comments regarding the service and the pool temperature, we are sure we'll be able to show you how much we've improved on your next visit.

Until then, please accept our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £137 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing