We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in June on our honeymoon and were really happy with our comfortable, clean room with a spectacular sea view. I completely agree with comments regarding the food however which is such a shame. We were only bed and breakfast and although the breakfast buffet was pretty extensive the food was average and the tables weren't cleaned properly. We ate dinner once in the hotel and had a very bland and forgettable meal and there was a huge queue to sit outside. We were thankful we didn't stay in the hotel on a half board basis as Sorrento has some amazing restaurants on offer.
Overall it did provide a great base for us as the location is perfect and the views are unforgettable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LPlatt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mr. Platt,

thank you very much for taking he time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are happy that you appreciated your room and especially the views.

Honestly our comments about the food leave us surprised, since the quality of our meals has been certified by hundreds of reviews; anyway we thank you for your feedback and your remarks will surely be discussed within the next meeting in order to improve our standards of service.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible to show you how much we’ve improved.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

the hotel is beautiful with great views over the bay of naples , stunning grounds & swimming pools, the rooms were really great but get balcony with sea views magic, also all staff were great, but you could do with tea& coffee facilities in room , also the food needs to get better at dinner time & breakfast is a bit cramped between tables , we would go back but food needs to iimprove regards mick b

Room Tip: get a partial sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelcranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Micheal,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad that you were able to witness the “magic” of our sea view rooms and the professionalism of our experienced staff.

We will treasure your remarks regarding breakfast setting and tea and coffee making facilities.

We hope that you will change your mind and pay us another visit in order to witness how much we’ve improved.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent 12 nights at the Capodimonte, rooms & views are wonderful as are the staff. The food was nicely presented but lacked taste & was certainly not 4 star. This is a great hotel but having talked to other guests who had stayed before, the food has gone downhill, which is a great shame.Its not cheap to stay at the Capodimonte & Sorrento is a very expensive resort so come on improve the food and make this hotel wonderful. I had the Croque Misseur for lunch overlooking the pool, it cost 9 euros and it was disgusting. Action please!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and go to bed early avoid rooms directly over the piano bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted you appreciated the room, views and especially the courtesy and professionalism of our hard-working staff.

We are a bit surprised by your comment regarding the food, since we usually have a positive feedback from our guests, however we acknowledge that it is very hard to cater for all tastes and satisfy every palate.

Your remark will drive us to always improve our standards and we hope that you will change your opinion on your next stay with us.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our room overlooked the waster as well as Sorrento. The view was beautiful. The hotel is within walking distance of all the restaurants and sights in Sorrento. The hotel is built into the cliff. Breakfast was wonderful! Fresh fruit, eggs, omelets and breads. Our room was very big and comfortable, our AC did not work at first and the hotel had it fixed quickly.

Room Tip: The only draw back to this hotel is that it does not have access to the Bay. The hotel was very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 75Josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community.

The location of our hotel is always very popular among our guests, built on the side of a mountain, just a short walk from the center but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area where you can enjoy breathtaking views over Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and the bay of Napoli.

We are very happy to hear that the breakfast was “Wonderful”, we always put a lot of attention in preparing our hot and cold buffet breakfast choosing always local, tasty and healthy food that our beautiful land has to offer.

Thank you again for your beautiful words, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the next future at the Grand hotel Capodimonte

Kindest regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this hotel is beautiful, set in the hillside with stunning views of the bay of naples, the only downfall i can say about this hotel is no tea/ coffee facilities in the room and us English like our cuppa first thing and would of been lovely to of sat on the balcony of a morning and being a four star hotel i found this rather strange, so had to order room service every morning which then cost money so let that be a warning if your going take a travel kettle because we couldnt even buy one in any of the shops, other then that the rooms are very comfortable and well looked after, The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Now i was not that impressed with the breakfast out on the terrace it was a bit like picadilly circus with staff back and forth with things like hot water to top up the heated water for teas and coffee, then they would walk up and down with hot trays of food to top up, now this was a real hazzard and would never happen in England because of the health and safety issues dont get me wrong it was a stunning place to be sat for breakfast but i think they need to move the table and give a bit more space in between , i didn't have an evening meal there so cannot comment but the breakfast was lovely and all the food was very fresh. the hotel is a bit away from the main centre and a little walk down hill you have to cross a very busy road but then there all busy in sorrento ,but be very careful as they do not have to stop on the zebra crossings so you have to be very quick, i liked the location as it was not to far from everything but was away from the hustle and bustle if that what you wanted, now the pools were stunning and so tranquil, the life guard there was brilliant and so helpful , there was never a problem getting a sunbed, loved it there i will defiantly go back as the good points whey out whey the few bad points , next time i will take a kettle,cant wait !!!!!

Room Tip: Defiantly go for aa room with a seaview its a must with fantastic views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Vicky,

thank you very much for your lovely review here on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay a tour hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you were able to enjoy the stunning views from our terraces and the courtesy and professionalism of your staff.

Your annotations are also full of uselful insights that we will treasure in the future, especially the remarks regarding tea-making facilities and breakfast location and setting. We will discuss it during the next meeting.

Thank you again for your lovely words, we are already looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is located in the best position overlooking Bay of Naples affording great elevated and far reaching views from the dining room and all the terraces around the swimming pool. The room is comfortably furnished and clean. No complimentary robes or slippers but good toiletries in the bathroom provided. The menu is extensive enough to be able to have a variety during your stay.
Never a problem for a sun lounger on the terraces and they all feature a very useful sun canopy on each. Only criticism is not to pay extra for the candlelight dinner as menu not worth paying the extra for and as all guests are in the dining room they all receive the benefit of candlelight on all tables and the additional music.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Capodimonte, here on Trip Advisor.

Indeed you pointed out one of our best features: our convenient location close to the town, but far enough not to be bothered by any noise.

We are glad you appreciated your stay and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £136 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing