We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful hotel just 10 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento. Lovely pools with plenty of sunbathing areas - lots of sun beds. Roof terraces provide spectacular views over Sorrento and across the bay to Naples & Vesuvius. Our seaview room was on the 5th floor and worth the extra cost. Garden rooms overlook cliff to rear of hotel although superb views can still be experienced from all the public areas.
All staff very helpful - we were half board and all meals were fine with varied choice available. The Prosecco available at breakfast was a bonus and set us up for the day. Visit Pompeii by train - only 4 euros return, 11 euros entrance fee and 5 euro for audio guide. Booked a boat trip in town - Amalfi coast with time in Amalfi & Positano - only 41 euros each. 3 hours on the boat with close views of all the coastline. Small boat with only 40 max on board. Spent a day on Capri and could have done with longer but good value on Island including chairlift in Anacapri to high point. The large hydrofoil Boats to Capri are about 35 euros return so may be worth checking option with smaller boats.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are best but plenty of great views from pools and all terraces.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barney555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Barney,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay a tour hotel.


We are glad that you appreciated the stunning views only our hotel can provide and the wide array of hot and colt specialties available at breakfast, including Prosecco.


As you noticed, Sorrento is the ideal starting base to explore the surrounding area, a quiet and peaceful town only minutes away from some of the best places in southern Italy.


We are already looking forward to you next visit


Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,438)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have just returned from a four night break. We have visited this hotel many times and the experience gets better. Roberta, the receptionist, was her usual efficient and pleasant self. Nothing is too much trouble for her. Our room was a Prestige on the 11th floor. As usual it was spotless, as is the whole of the hotel. The view from the room was something special with a panoramic view of the town, the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Towels changed twice a day and bed linen daily. Our chambermaid Anna kept our room immaculate.
Breakfast was outstanding, with a choice of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, fresh bread and rolls and best of all freshly made omelettes etc. while you waited. Coffee, tea and juice as required and to finish a glass of Prosecco . You cant get better than that!
Situated just outside of the town a gentle 10 minute walk will see you at the Piazza Tasso the hub of Sorrento.
Looking forward to returning to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte very soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for your kind words about our Hotel, we are very proud of the trust you give us coming back year after year.

We are happy to hear that you loved your stay with us, especially the hot and cold buffet breakfast, with its wide selection of salt and sweet food, all fresh and local and the many cuddles we make to our customers such as the chef cooking eggs as you prefer or the glass of Prosecco for starting the day in the best way!
We’re looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Capodimonte is truly the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. Lovely clean rooms with plenty of wardrobe space, excellent location, wonderful views over Sorrento, the bay of Naples and of course Vesuvio and the friendliest staff. The food was very good and we took advantage of the option of exchanging the evening meal for a lunchtime meal at the pool terrace as we do like to go out in the evening and try the local restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you fantastic review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community.

We are so happy and proud to know that the Grand Hotel Capodimonte is one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in!

Reviews like yours encourage us to always give our best and to continue to maintain high our standards of efficiency, courtesy and professionalism.

We hope to welcome you back here at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in the near future

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A stunning hotel, a short walk from Sorrento to lovely shops, bars and restuarants.
Hotel set into the cliffs with stunning views over the bay. Loved everything about it. We went half board but choose to eat at the hotel at lunch time so we were able to eat at the various restaurants in town in the evening.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean.
There is so much to do and visit in the area. Coast line is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It’ s very important for us to know that you had a good holiday here at Grand Hotel Capodimonte and we are happy that everything was excellent.

Is a pleasure to know that you loved our wonderful view of the Napoli bay that you can enjoy from our sea view rooms or from our several terrace and also from our amazing swimming pools.

Our swimming pools with their unique cascade design are always very appreciated by our guests, because they are a perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing view and you can also have a good meal at our Bougainvillea snack bar or drink a good cocktail prepared by our friendly barman.

Thank you also for highlight our central position from Sorrento just a 10 minutes walking from the center.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

me and my husband were in Sorrento for only 2 nights, and what a way to finish our holidays! great hotel, we couldn't get enough of the pool! you have wifi everywhere, snacks by the pool were great so was breakfast. We had to leave quite early the day we left, before 'official' breakfast, so they kindly offered to pack some food for us. Nicely decorated, good amenities, friendly staff and very easy to reach the town centre, just keep walking : )

Room Tip: for a room with a pool/sea view you have to pay more, but if you spend all day by the pool or walkin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HeloRighetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the care we put into our job, as stated by the attention to details such as the package breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible

Best regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had not realised it was a mile out of the centre of the town when we booked, but the shop filled back street on the way there were a good compensation and I am sure the walk did us good. The room was very nicely furnished and had lovely views. The Terraced pool was a great luxury, we always managed to find a nice place to relax.

We had planned to eat out but found the restaurant food so good with great service that we eat there in the evenings on most nights.

.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revieweerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you appreciated your stay, especially the views from the terraces and pools, together with the food and service at the restaurant.

E hope to welcome you again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 11 wonderful nights at the Capodimonte. From the moment we were met at the airport and whisked away in a luxury Mercedes we couldn't have asked for more. Every member of staff was polite, professional and friendly. The views from the hotel have to be the best we have ever encountered. We chose our room carefully having read reviews on TA and I would thoroughly recommend the prestige rooms. They are worth the extra. They are large, bright, well lit, comfortable and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and when I called to ask for feather pillows they were delivered straight away. The air conditioning is quietly efficient. We had a bottle of sparkling wine and a lovely basket of fruit on arrival. Linen replaced daily and towels twice a day. A delicious Bacio chocolate each, every evening. And of course the most wonderful views over Versuvius, the bay and the town, whilst being away from the road noise. We chose to have breakfast delivered to our room twice during our stay, at no extra cost.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean, not a mark anywhere, which must take some doing especially in the lifts which are all mirrored surfaces.
We only ate in the hotel on one evening as we like to go out and try the local restaurants. We had lunch by the pool several times. The food was very good and the wine very reasonably priced. We did stop by for pre dinner cocktails on the terrace most evenings or a liqueur on our way back to bed.
It's an easy stroll into the main town or down to Marina Grande for locally caught seafood.
There are plenty of sun beds around the pools and gardens. Giovanni serves a very good iced coffee or indeed any other drink that takes your fancy whilst you sun yourself!
This is an excellent hotel in every way and I have no hesitation in recommending it most highly.
Thank you everyone for a fabulous stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Slimfastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay with us.

Comments like yours really make us happy and push us to always do our best to improve the quality and the standard of our service; especially the staff is delighted by your lovely words.

We thank you again for your remarks regarding the views and the food; we’re glad you noticed the attention to detail that we put daily into our work, like the bacio chocolate at evening.

We are already looking forward to your next visit, until then please accept our

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £150 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing