We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, just beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary, he searched through many lovely looking hotels in Sorrento before settling on The Capodimonte. We were not disappointed, the hotel was stunning, from the
moment we arrived we felt as though we were some where special, champagne was in our room when we arrived and when we opened the patio door the view over the bay of Sorrento was just so spectacular!The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was spacious, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Towels were changed twice a day, there was a turndown service with a chocolate placed on the bedside cabinet,the breakfast was amazing, the pool and bar area were lovely and peaceful with waiter service... I could go on and on. If you are thinking of planning a trip to Sorrento , this is a 'must' hotel! . We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NxN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, we are glad that you noticed our attention to details, as the staff who speaks fluent English, and many other languages, and our research to the details in our rooms as to give to our customers the maximum comfort during their stay, like for example the British plugs. Our philosophy is that the customer does not have to think about anything… Just relax.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our delicious hot and cold buffet breakfast, full of healthy and tasty food and our beautiful cascading pools where you can enjoy a breathtaking view.

We are constantly looking to improve the service and we’re always happy to have your point of view, so important to get better.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I were absolutely charmed by the scenic views and atmosphere of this hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel location is very convenient, especially if you desire to walk into Sorrento and browse the shops and see the sights, to enjoy the overall locale. The piano bar ambiance (on certain nights) is also enhanced with great views of the bay and hills. The staff made arrangements for us to be picked up and taken and returned by boat, to cruise to and disembark and see the Island of Capri. Overall, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We spent only enough time in our room to sleep, shower and get ready to see the sights. The eating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you kind review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location of the hotel very convenient to reach Sorrento. In fact, we are a walking distance from the center, but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area where you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the Gulf of Naples with Mount Vesuvius right in front. Our bar has a beautiful terrace and enjoy a cocktail with good music and an amazing view is really truly priceless.

We are already looking forward to your next visit,

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 28th June for a week and I can say that we experienced a wonderful time.
The staff from check in to check out we really friendly and very courteous and helpful.
We had booked a superior room but were lucky enough to be given an upgrade t a prestige room which gave us a wonderful scenic view over the bay of Sorrento and also Vesuvius.

I found breakfast was very good with a wide choice and the chef's were on hand to cook your eggs how you wanted it.
All was self service which was good as you can eat as much or as little as you want.

As there was so may lovely restaurants in Sorrento we only ate at the hotel once, which was the candle lit dinner and can say again great service and lovely food.

We will return as we know so many others do.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsassock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have devoted to the review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thanks for the nice words about our reception staff, they were very happy to read that you appreciated their kindness and professionalism. Our staff, professional, multilingual and always ready to meet the needs of customers is a very important asset to the hotel.

As you write you loved our extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast and our particular attentions to guest like the chef who cooks the eggs in the way you like.

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the Candle Light Dinner, our fine dinner that we offer every week to our guests, with a gourmet menu accompanied by live violin music.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful hotel just 10 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento. Lovely pools with plenty of sunbathing areas - lots of sun beds. Roof terraces provide spectacular views over Sorrento and across the bay to Naples & Vesuvius. Our seaview room was on the 5th floor and worth the extra cost. Garden rooms overlook cliff to rear of hotel although superb views can still be experienced from all the public areas.
All staff very helpful - we were half board and all meals were fine with varied choice available. The Prosecco available at breakfast was a bonus and set us up for the day. Visit Pompeii by train - only 4 euros return, 11 euros entrance fee and 5 euro for audio guide. Booked a boat trip in town - Amalfi coast with time in Amalfi & Positano - only 41 euros each. 3 hours on the boat with close views of all the coastline. Small boat with only 40 max on board. Spent a day on Capri and could have done with longer but good value on Island including chairlift in Anacapri to high point. The large hydrofoil Boats to Capri are about 35 euros return so may be worth checking option with smaller boats.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are best but plenty of great views from pools and all terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barney555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Barney,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay a tour hotel.


We are glad that you appreciated the stunning views only our hotel can provide and the wide array of hot and colt specialties available at breakfast, including Prosecco.


As you noticed, Sorrento is the ideal starting base to explore the surrounding area, a quiet and peaceful town only minutes away from some of the best places in southern Italy.


We are already looking forward to you next visit


Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have just returned from a four night break. We have visited this hotel many times and the experience gets better. Roberta, the receptionist, was her usual efficient and pleasant self. Nothing is too much trouble for her. Our room was a Prestige on the 11th floor. As usual it was spotless, as is the whole of the hotel. The view from the room was something special with a panoramic view of the town, the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Towels changed twice a day and bed linen daily. Our chambermaid Anna kept our room immaculate.
Breakfast was outstanding, with a choice of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, fresh bread and rolls and best of all freshly made omelettes etc. while you waited. Coffee, tea and juice as required and to finish a glass of Prosecco . You cant get better than that!
Situated just outside of the town a gentle 10 minute walk will see you at the Piazza Tasso the hub of Sorrento.
Looking forward to returning to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte very soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for your kind words about our Hotel, we are very proud of the trust you give us coming back year after year.

We are happy to hear that you loved your stay with us, especially the hot and cold buffet breakfast, with its wide selection of salt and sweet food, all fresh and local and the many cuddles we make to our customers such as the chef cooking eggs as you prefer or the glass of Prosecco for starting the day in the best way!
We’re looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Capodimonte is truly the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. Lovely clean rooms with plenty of wardrobe space, excellent location, wonderful views over Sorrento, the bay of Naples and of course Vesuvio and the friendliest staff. The food was very good and we took advantage of the option of exchanging the evening meal for a lunchtime meal at the pool terrace as we do like to go out in the evening and try the local restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you fantastic review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community.

We are so happy and proud to know that the Grand Hotel Capodimonte is one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in!

Reviews like yours encourage us to always give our best and to continue to maintain high our standards of efficiency, courtesy and professionalism.

We hope to welcome you back here at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in the near future

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A stunning hotel, a short walk from Sorrento to lovely shops, bars and restuarants.
Hotel set into the cliffs with stunning views over the bay. Loved everything about it. We went half board but choose to eat at the hotel at lunch time so we were able to eat at the various restaurants in town in the evening.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean.
There is so much to do and visit in the area. Coast line is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It’ s very important for us to know that you had a good holiday here at Grand Hotel Capodimonte and we are happy that everything was excellent.

Is a pleasure to know that you loved our wonderful view of the Napoli bay that you can enjoy from our sea view rooms or from our several terrace and also from our amazing swimming pools.

Our swimming pools with their unique cascade design are always very appreciated by our guests, because they are a perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing view and you can also have a good meal at our Bougainvillea snack bar or drink a good cocktail prepared by our friendly barman.

Thank you also for highlight our central position from Sorrento just a 10 minutes walking from the center.

Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, we send you our

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £138 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing