We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived in Sorrento on the 29th July for 5 nights before transferring to Rome. Our first impressions were very good and the views were spectacular. Service all round is pleasant and food is great. Just be prepared for very expensive drinks for water and 2x soft drinks it was 17 euros. Pool facilities are great very relaxing for the adults but in our eyes to strict for children. ( no jumping, splashing, games or pool side activities). We stayed half board as found the food in the nearby town centre was amazing and we could really pig out for under 30 euros with drinks and ice cream. We visited Pompeii via boat (views were unreal but be prepared if you have a sensitive stomach the sea was a little choppy). And we also climbed mount Vesuvius which was amazing. Again an opportunity to take photos that will remain in your heart forever and really impress your friends back home. The only thing to be weary of is the crazy Italian roads. Being on a bus or in a car transferring from hotel to airport etc can be a bit of a scary ride. But apart from that is was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Fran,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad we were able to leave a deep, good impression and that you appreciated the relax and comfort offered by our facilities and our location.

Once again, thank you for describing our hotel as beautiful, we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Basic, overrated hotel trading on the fact that it is situated high up with great views when you stand on the upper terrace. From our room situated on the 2nd floor, we had a damp, smelly, noisy room, literally on the road, with no view and a surly, miserable duty manager with an attitude problem. How does this hotel confirm a reservation for a room with a double bed, then allocate 2 single beds and expect to get away with it? Unacceptable and definitely not recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, we always give great consideration to our customers feedback, because they help us to improve our service.

We are very sorry and surprised to hear that you didn’t like your room.
All our rooms are bright, spacious, spotlessly clean, equipped with all modern comforts, absolutely they don’t smell of musty and they are equipped with double glazing and electric shutters .

We have many different types of rooms, you've booked a Classic room without view, you have received a partial sea view room, that due to the hotel ‘s construction has a partial view on the sea and on the beautiful city of Sorrento. Our concierge, even you've arrived very late at night and the hotel was full, has changed you the room immediately and you've got another complimentary upgrade. You have received a Junior suite, that it’s a very nice room, tastefully furnished, with a sitting area, a bigger bath, a double bed and always a partial sea view.
Concerning the friendliness of our concierge, many reviews reward us for our staff, for the kindness and for the professionalism, furthermore the concierge has really done everything to please you.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento to give us the opportunity to give you good memory of us.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our honeymoon at this hotel and it really is stunning! The location is perfect just a few minutes walk from the centre! The food was also beautiful but I have to say the staff are fantastic they could not do enough for you and always happy to help! Must mention Fabio as he made our holiday even more special both nights that we had a meal in the poolside restaraunt he made us feel so welcome and the service he provided was exceptional!! Thank you for a fabulous holiday! Fiona Senior

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona-louise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location to be pretty convenient and the staff helpful and friendly.

We are already looking forward to your next visit

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Hotel has an incedable position, with stunning views over the Bay of Naples and Sorrento, and is just the right walking distance into the town of Sorrento.
Beautifull terraced gardenes and poolarea surounded by olive trees.
The staff are really helpful and friendly, and can't do enough for you.
This was our thired visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinnarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for coming back for the third time.

The loyalty of our guests really makes us proud and it is testament to the quality of our service; it shows us that we are heading towards the right direction in your struggle to improve the guests’experience.

We hope to welcome you as soon as possible,

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and from the minute we arrived realised that if we needed to know anything we had to ask - the check in was very corporate, efficient and lacked personality. At no point during our stay were we made to feel special. This is an expensive hotel in an area with a lot of competition yet no personally touches.
The bars and restaurants within the hotel are expensive compared to other places locally. Breakfast is a stressful free for all - and on one day they didn't have enough seating for all that were staying.
We did pay for an upgraded superior sea view room - which was on the small side and the balcony was tidy and noisy (road side below) and you had to sit at a slant position to see the sea (not comfortable). Room was invaded by ants on one day, which took housekeeping sometime to resolve.
On the positives the pool area is lovely, with lots of different areas to chill out, and the staff a the bar/restaurant by the pool were by far the nicest.
We thought we were treating ourselves by staying in this hotel but were infact very underwhelmed - Sorrento is a lovely place though and we would return but look for a more personable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Lesley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay, your remarks surprised us quite a bit to be honest and will surely be discussed within the next meeting.

Especially your comment regarding the lack of personality was unexpected, since our staff is often praised for their friendliness and warmth. Unfortunately, being a big hotel, busy moments can happen and our staff has to be quick to avoid queues.

We apologize if you did not like the room but, as stated by the description, superior rooms are all situated in that part of the hotel, with a partial view on the town and the sea. Maybe if we had the availability we would have been able to show you another room for sure.

Anyway we hope that you will give us another chance to show you how much we have improved.

Until then, please accept our best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 10 nights at the Capodimonte, hotel was perfect, from the wonderfully decorated room overlooking the bay of Naples to the helpful friendly staff.we took the half board option and was not disappointed.food was great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Stuart,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you appreciated your stay and the wonderful setting of our hotel, together with the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My Wife and I stayed 7 nights at the Capodimonte. This was our first couples holiday for 22 years (Children were the reason...) and we chose very well. We arrived at around 8.30 in the evening and were in our room before 8.45. Sadly the room was not to our taste but we were swiftly moved the next day without any question. Although we had rain a couple of day (very rare in July) we had a wonderful and memorable stay at this excellent hotel. The pride of place goes to Giovanni for the bar service, the multi talented pool/Piano player and Maria who served us drinks with a smile. Ciro introduced us to the fabulous Basillica restaurant in town.
All in all a 5 star hotel with 6 star staff!!

Room Tip: Do not settle for room 401 as this is next to the lift and is like a dungeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solkhons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad we were ale top satisfy your request to change the room swiftly and that you appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our friendly and experienced staff.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £135 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing