We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit and even better than before!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Capodimonte 2 years ago and were so impressed we booked again this year - for 14 nights this time. Half Board - with absolutely delicious food, and an option to swap evening for the superb choice on offer at the Pool restaurant at lunch. Breakfasts of Buck's Fizz and smoked salmon on pancakes, fresh pineapple and melon - my choices from the vast and impressive buffet, with tables overlooking the stunning and ever-changing view of Versuvius, Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and the massive mountains. Our room was large and luxurious with a balcony overlooking pretty well-maintained gardens, close to the steps to the pool (perfect for us). What impressed us most though was the friendliness and commitment of the staff - without exception - from the professionalism of Roberta on reception (who even helped us out with our Italian); the lovely energy of Maria serving drinks at the Poolside and in the evening bar; to the beaming smile of Enrico - the lifeguard, and also a very talented pianist who by evening played in the piano bar. None were intrusive; all helpful and personable. They made a really positive impact and left us feeling very well looked after throughout. Finally, the view from the top pool is absolutely breathtaking! Our one drawback was the travel company's shuttle service which took 2 1/2 hours from the airport: next time, we'd book a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you decided to return another time to stay with us and that you enjoyed the superb choice of food offered at breakfast and the stunning view available from the restaurant terrace and from everywhere in the hotel.

Thank you once again for all the compliments about the staff, we are sure that your praise will drive them towards even more impressive goals and they all send you their greetings.

We hope to welcome you as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great hotel - convenient location, just on the edge of town; outstanding hotel with views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius; lovely rooms; great tiered pools; lovely restaurant by the pool.
We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a holiday in Sorrento.

Room Tip: check you get a room facing the bay/ view of the gardens or sea. Some hotels are at the rear of the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you will recommend us to your friends and we hope to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ideally placed a short walk to town but mind how you cross the busy road. If breakfast is included in your room rate there is an excellent variety of breakfast foods which set you up for the day. Beautiful breakfast room outdoors but covered, lovely views. If you manage to get a room on a high floor the balcony views across bay to Vesuvius are stunning.
Room spotless and cleaned very well every day. All facilities in good order. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room so bring your own. Staff friendly and efficient. Pool area lovely. Hotel meals and snacks at premium prices but in Sorrento there are hundreds of restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a Superior Double with included breakfast. Get a room on a high floor for an excellent balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted you appreciated the location of our hotel, close enough to the city center, while being far away from the hustle and bustle of the town.

Thank you also for praising the quality and variety of our breakfast, with an excellent choice served on a lovely terrace, and the quality and professionalism of our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible,

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived in Sorrento on the 29th July for 5 nights before transferring to Rome. Our first impressions were very good and the views were spectacular. Service all round is pleasant and food is great. Just be prepared for very expensive drinks for water and 2x soft drinks it was 17 euros. Pool facilities are great very relaxing for the adults but in our eyes to strict for children. ( no jumping, splashing, games or pool side activities). We stayed half board as found the food in the nearby town centre was amazing and we could really pig out for under 30 euros with drinks and ice cream. We visited Pompeii via boat (views were unreal but be prepared if you have a sensitive stomach the sea was a little choppy). And we also climbed mount Vesuvius which was amazing. Again an opportunity to take photos that will remain in your heart forever and really impress your friends back home. The only thing to be weary of is the crazy Italian roads. Being on a bus or in a car transferring from hotel to airport etc can be a bit of a scary ride. But apart from that is was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Fran,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad we were able to leave a deep, good impression and that you appreciated the relax and comfort offered by our facilities and our location.

Once again, thank you for describing our hotel as beautiful, we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Basic, overrated hotel trading on the fact that it is situated high up with great views when you stand on the upper terrace. From our room situated on the 2nd floor, we had a damp, smelly, noisy room, literally on the road, with no view and a surly, miserable duty manager with an attitude problem. How does this hotel confirm a reservation for a room with a double bed, then allocate 2 single beds and expect to get away with it? Unacceptable and definitely not recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, we always give great consideration to our customers feedback, because they help us to improve our service.

We are very sorry and surprised to hear that you didn’t like your room.
All our rooms are bright, spacious, spotlessly clean, equipped with all modern comforts, absolutely they don’t smell of musty and they are equipped with double glazing and electric shutters .

We have many different types of rooms, you've booked a Classic room without view, you have received a partial sea view room, that due to the hotel ‘s construction has a partial view on the sea and on the beautiful city of Sorrento. Our concierge, even you've arrived very late at night and the hotel was full, has changed you the room immediately and you've got another complimentary upgrade. You have received a Junior suite, that it’s a very nice room, tastefully furnished, with a sitting area, a bigger bath, a double bed and always a partial sea view.
Concerning the friendliness of our concierge, many reviews reward us for our staff, for the kindness and for the professionalism, furthermore the concierge has really done everything to please you.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope to see you for a future trip to Sorrento to give us the opportunity to give you good memory of us.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our honeymoon at this hotel and it really is stunning! The location is perfect just a few minutes walk from the centre! The food was also beautiful but I have to say the staff are fantastic they could not do enough for you and always happy to help! Must mention Fabio as he made our holiday even more special both nights that we had a meal in the poolside restaraunt he made us feel so welcome and the service he provided was exceptional!! Thank you for a fabulous holiday! Fiona Senior

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona-louise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location to be pretty convenient and the staff helpful and friendly.

We are already looking forward to your next visit

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Hotel has an incedable position, with stunning views over the Bay of Naples and Sorrento, and is just the right walking distance into the town of Sorrento.
Beautifull terraced gardenes and poolarea surounded by olive trees.
The staff are really helpful and friendly, and can't do enough for you.
This was our thired visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinnarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for coming back for the third time.

The loyalty of our guests really makes us proud and it is testament to the quality of our service; it shows us that we are heading towards the right direction in your struggle to improve the guests’experience.

We hope to welcome you as soon as possible,

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £156 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing