We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as I remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as great as I remember”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last year in July with my son and we had a fantastic time. The location is great and the views are amazing.

I have been raving about Sorrento for a year and decided to come back again with my husband. Unfortunately this time our room (333) was underneath the main restaurant, so late at night and from 6.30am all you hear is the scraping of chairs as people arrive and leave and staff preparing for the 7am breakfast crowd.

The rooms are very clean, but this low down you can hear the traffic quite loudly. We found the bed and pillows so hard that we both woke with an aching back each morning. So that was a shame.

The waiters in the main restaurant practically threw our food at us during dinner, however the staff around the pool and the staff at reception were just lovely and friendly.

The hotel is in a great location, the pool is lovely and the views are breathtaking. Make sure you splash out and pay for a room up nice and high to avoid the noise.

All in all a grand hotel but we probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank npwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your return visit and for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We are sorry you were not satisfied by the room; our only regret is that maybe if you told us during your stay maybe we would have been able to show you another room. We also offer a wide arrange of pillows to choose from (we have a pillow menu in any room), maybe you could have requested feather ones if you found the standard ones too hard.

Thank you for your lovely remarks regarding the reception and pool staff; we apologize if you found the service at the restaurant lacking, we will take the necessary countermeasures to improve it.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you how much we have improved next year

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    562
    155
    66
    43
See reviews for
446
1,407
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel in a great location, only a short walk into the town. There is a small food and drink shop across the road which is handy to stock up with drinks for days out. Me and my friend stayed at this hotel on the 5th floor, we were considering having a sea view balcony however decided against it in the end as we would be out exploring the area and didn't think we would get to use it much. What I really loved about this hotel was the stunning views over the bay of naples, and the amount of terraces that the hotel had on offer. We ate overlooking the bay, the staff friendly and where possible seating you on a table close to the balcony. The bar is situated on another terrace, where you can oversee the twinkling lights across the bay, amazing! I loved the layout of the pools too. We had a late pick up and flight on check out, the receptionists were very helpful allowing us to store our luggage in a backroom safely so we could relax and enjoy our last afternoon in Sorrento. Hope to return one day!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Star943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are very pride to know that you loved your holiday with us.

Your kind words about our hotel location, the pools, the rooms and the staff have made us very happy and we realize that our work is appreciated by our customers.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

With our kids either doing their own thing or on organised activities, we found ourselves childless for a week - the first time in 22 years, so thought we would treat ourselves. We were not disappointed. From the start, we arrived late in the evening (as scheduled) and the lovely warm greeting at the check-in desk, whisking away our suitcases to the room and inviting us to freshen-up and then proceed to the dining room where they had kept a place open for us, was wonderful. The room was lovely - just as described, with beautiful views across the bay to Naples and Mnt Vesuvius. Very attentive staff, especially room maid service. We spent the week mainly sun-bathing by the pool complex, having travelled this way before and seen the Amalfi coast, Pompeii etc, although did do a very worthwhile half-day excursion up Mnt Vesuvius. Pool was lovely and the separate 5-pool complex was nice and gave options. Plenty of loungers, providing you are flexible where you sit, despite the hotel appearing full. We stayed half-board and weren't disappointed - lovely food at the terraced restaurant, with super views and a retractable canopy to keep the sun off and the very occasional shower. All in all a wonderful holiday and we would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We think worth paying the extra for a full Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Matthew,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We are glad that you were not disappointed from the very beginning and that our reception staff gave you such a nice impression. Thank you again also for praising the quality and variety of the meals, served on the restaurant’s beautiful terrace overlooking the town.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just had a week at the Capodimote, location on the hill side is superb, with views of the town below the Bay of Naples in front and Vesuvius in the distance across the bay.

Location is great, since you can walk into town without a hill climb. From the check-in with the very attentive front desk staff, all the staff you meet during our stay from the excellent pool side restaurant and the friendly main bar staff keen to make your stay the best they can.

One area perhaps they need to focus on is the breakfast, the view is great on the terrace, however very cramped with table very close, at busy times some selections run out, however I would suggest the hotel invest in equipment to help keep the meat, fish and cheese selection from a few bugs. A small thing which they will get sorted I guess.

If you fancy eating away from the hotel there is a abundance of locations 10 minutes walk.

Would recommend the Pompeii tour from the hotel, ask for the guide by the name of Nellio he is great.

If you need a pair of rooms try 926 & 927 as they have a lobby door so it can be turned into a mini suite.

Will go back one day.

Room Tip: If you need adjoining room try 926 and 927, they have an additional lobby door. which turns it into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we always give great consideration to the feedback of our customers, because they help us to improve our service.

We are very glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Thanks for the nice description of our hotel and its magnificent breathtaking views across the Bay of Naples, it is true that our position is one of the best in Sorrento, just a few steps from the center with spectacular views but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area perfect as a starting point for exploring Sorrento and our wonderful region.

Thank you again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent hotel in Sorrento. Beautiful views of the bay, town of Sorrento, and surrounding mountains, from the hotel restaurants, swimming pools, & throughout hotel. Multiple "gathering rooms" to hang-out during the day or night for coffee, games, drinks, or simply chill before retiring to the room. Superior hotel staff throughout the front desk, restaurants, pool, maid service, etc. Easy walking to downtown restaurants. Very up-scale, marble everywhere, extremely clean. Unique restaurants. Although less of a family oriented hotel, very accommodating with the pool layout, ping pong table, etc.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your room location and view. It's built across the face of a cliff with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you have had a lovely holiday and that you enjoyed our hotel.

The strategic location of our hotel is very popular with our customers, because, built into the side of a mountain, we are very close to the city center but at the same time we are located in a quiet and peaceful area where you can relax with all comforts , Wi-Fi, beautiful views, tennis table and great food and drinks.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again as soon as possible, we send our

Best regards,

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 12 day holiday at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in Sorrento. I would like to say what an amazing hotel, the views are to die for overlooking The Bay of Naples and it's location is just perfect about 5-10 min walk to the centre. There was a variety of different food for breakfast which was very nice. The staff where very helpful specially at reception. The pools looked really good cascading down from the top, lots of sun beds to choose from, overall fantastic hotel which I recommend to anyone visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor and for having shared it with the web community.

You have highlighted all our best points, our attention to the food, always fresh, healthy and freshly cooked, our staff, multilingual and always courteous, our rooms spacious and bright and finally our hotel close to the center but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible for another wonderful holiday here with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Kindest regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just got back from a week here, having stayed before on our honeymoon 11yrs ago, and it hasn't changed!! The hotel is stunning, set into the rocks a short walk from town (it looks like it's up a hill, don't worry, it's not at all and is about a five minute stroll into the town). I paid a little extra for (I think they were called) deluxe doubles that were described to have a partial sea view. We had our two children with us, and these were the perfect rooms! They were by themselves , next to
Each other. They had one main door, to both rooms, with their own doors to each room, so
We could shut the children in (don't worry, they are 17 and 10!!) their room and get some peace from them in ours!! You can however shut the main door and keep both bedroom doors open. The views from both balconies were amazing over the bay. I would thoroughly recommend these rooms if you have older children (714 and 712) .
The pools are stunning, 5 cascading levels with beautiful views over the bay, especially from the top ones. A waterfall goes off from top to bottom every so often, much to
The delight of the 10yr old! Balls and lilos etc are not allowed in the pool. The bottom
Pool has jacuzzi type jets that can go on and the little children love it in there.
It is a child friendly hotel, however even in the summer holidays there weren't that many children about, and most of them tended to stay by the very bottom pool - having five levels with a little one would be knackering, I think most parents probably pretended the other levels weren't there!!
The restaurant over looking the pool has great views, however after eating there for three lunches we decided to take lunch in Sorrento. The food was ok, but not great, and there seems to be a problem with the descriptions of food and what you get! My husband ordered a focaccia with stuff in, to be presented with a pizza (the waiter even said 'pizza sorrento' to be corrected by another saying 'no, focaccia'), the next day my son ordered pizza roll (admittedly we didn't have a clue what it was going to be like) and he got pitta bread with filling, and a salad that was nothing like as described! Maybe we just had bad luck! The breakfasts were lovely, lots of selection. My children loved the pancakes, but they only came out twice in the week, and the baked beans seemed to be every other day. The coffee is not great, if you like a coffee, my suggestion would be to take some sachets of Nescafé (or your preference!!) with you, as you can fill up pots with hot water to take to your table. There was no hot chocolate that I could see, so if your children like that maybe take some too. Lots of fresh fruit and pastries on offer, and cakes, who wants cake (Lemon meringue pie on our first day!) for breakfast I don't know, but it all looked lovely!
The hotel does seem to be predominantly English with a splattering of American and the odd Italian family.
We did the brochure trip to Capri on the boat (it was the one that is clipped in the brochure on a piece of paper) it was worth it to pay for ride round Capri, you then get a few hours in Capri itself before heading back with another few sights to see. There is an optional visit into the 'blue grotto' - HOWEVER, as happened to us, out of a boat of about 20 people, only two girls wanted to do the trip. This meant waiting in line on the boat bobbing on the sea for About 45 minutes whilst waiting for a little man In a row boat to collect our two girls, then take them off the the 2 min trip round the grotto, then bring them back, So we were bobbing around on the ocean for probably just over an hour (no shade), a couple of the tourists were sick overboard! The guy driving the boat said this was typical (we did it in the afternoon but it's changeable) and that if he takes you In the morning instead it can take 2hours or so!!!!! Needless to say the girls were not that popular!!
We went to Pompeii ourselves, cheaper than getting a tour. My advice is go early! We got to the train station at about 10ish, the trains go every half an hours so there was a wait, and it's hot!! It takes about half and hour forty minutes to get to Pompeii if I remember. Pompeii is right outside the station to the right, we had another 30minute queue to get in I guess. The 10yr old was free, we had to pay full price for our 17yr old as we didn't have any ID on us to say he was from the EU (guy said the EHIC card would be ok, I wouldn't fancy walking around with my passport). If we could prove he was under 18 he would have been free too, but it's only 11euros so not really a huge amount.
The staff at Capodimonte were all lovely. We booked the transfers
Too and from the hotel direct with them. It was 95 euros each way in a lovely Mercedes. I much preferred this than having to find a taxi and hen wonder how much they were conning me for at the other end!!
Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be coming back again.
Sorry if there's spelling mistakes, I'm on my phone and my fingers have now seized up!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kizzyfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic and detailed review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community

First of all we are very happy to have been your hotel for your honeymoon and for having hosted here, with your children, now, fills us with pride and happiness, we like so much to be part of the families’ memories.

We are very glad to hear that you had a great time with us and that you found our hotel perfect, for the swimming pools, the views, the staff, the position and of course for the rooms.

Our hotel is built on a side of the mountain a little bit higher than the Sorrento center and for this reason you can enjoy amazing views all over the Napoli bay, Mount Vesuvio and the Sorrento city. The location and its construction make unique the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, because we are just 10 minutes from the center but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area, a great hotel to enjoy a relaxing holiday in our wonderful swimming pools or a great starting point for exploring our beautiful region.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as soon as possible for another wonderful holiday!!

Kindest regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing